We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another amazing holiday at this excellent hotel”
Review of Silver Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Silver Beach Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I have just returned from another stay at this excellent hotel in an amazing location. It was our third visit to Mauritius and our second year running at Silver Beach. Everything is first class,location, amenities, food, service. The staff were all lovely and friendly and all very good at their jobs ( a true testament to training and organisation) food was buffet style intermingled with set menus some nights with full waiter service and there was always a fantastic choice. There was entertainment every night. The hotel is in a good location for visiting island locations ( it's well worth travelling on the local bus for the experience alone! ) Almost forgot to mention the good range of water sports available on site. We stayed in a sea view room which was well worth the extra money, sitting on the balcony watching the sun go down was a real experience.

Room Tip: High floor, sea view rooms are well worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (839)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 839 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

I wanted something special to celebrate our Ruby wedding anniversary, and found it in the Silver Beach. Flying from Manchester with Emirates involves two lengthy flights and a stopover in Dubai, however I found out that direct flights can be had from Heathrow (Air Mauritius) and Gatwick (British Airways), so this may be the better option next time we travel. The hotel has only 60 rooms, 30 sea view and 30 garden. Go for the sea view if possible, it's well worth it.
On arrival you are met with a cocktail, and not allowed to carry your cases from that moment. The rooms are adequate, and have a mini bar, telephone, TV, hair dryer, kettle and tea making facilities. Air con and room safe are standard. There is also a large shower room, and balcony, we had room 406.
The hotel is spotlessly clean, with the sheets and towels changed daily. If you need extra pillows just ask, they will be delivered as soon as. Breakfast and lunch are served buffet style, and afternoon snacks are also available. The evening meal is served buffet style three nights and a la carte for four nights. We were there over Easter and on Easter Sunday we were treated to a Gala meal of six courses. The food is a credit to the hotel and I have to say we enjoyed every single meal. Evening entertainment is also provided for a couple of hours, but it is only a small hotel so don't expect a Palladium type show, but entertaining nonetheless.
Sunbeds are provided with mattresses, and beach towels are also provided daily. There were always spare sunbeds so no need for the 7am rush to secure one. Not that I get up at that time anyway. Also complimentary are the pedaloes, kyaks, windsurfing and glass bottomed boat.
The staff obviously make this holiday what is it, as they cannot do enough for you. You are made to feel very special, and we did. Definitely 10 out of 10. Would love to return here. A little bit of paradise.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank dsricho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We travelled to Mauritius for the first time on the 1st May for 10 nights. We travelled with virgin on a direct BA flight from Gatwick. I am glad we took that option rather than a lengthy transfer in dubai.

The hotel is not lavish but spotlesslessly clean and the garden rooms are large and comfortable.

The food is fabulous and if you dont like something then the chef is happy to make other things for you.

We normally go in the big resort hotels and they lack personality. It was great here as everyone knew you and you got a very personal service from the bar staff and the waiting staff.

The weather was not great for 3 days whilst we were there so it would have been great to have some UK tv / films - this is definitely an area where the management can improve the facilities.
Normally we would venture out even if the weather is not good but it was torrential rain for full the full day so not fit to be out and about. There is no animation team or activities during the day, which is not a problem when the weather is good.

The evening entertainment was low key but there was something different every night.

It was great to see all the water activities for free - the glass boat, pedaloes and windsurfing.

All in all a fab holiday with wonderful staff. Will definitely come back

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NEtravellers15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Silver Beach is a small hotel (70 rooms) which is very comfortable with good sized rooms & bathroom, all kept spotlessly clean every day, all the staff, even the gardeners, work tirelessly to keep everything perfect. They are all extremely courteous and waiters are very well trained, the food is also excellent, I would think it was way above the 3 star standard they are set at, nothing too much trouble if you want something different at breakfast. Lovey cocktails and drinks on the verandahs of an evening and such a gorgeous view out to sea. We never had any problem with the age old grabbing of sunbeds at "silly O'clock" either.

Room Tip: Would recommend 1st or 2nd floor rooms as you can then leave your balcony doors open of an evening/n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DizzyDebs2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Positives: The food is excellent and way better than you would expect from a three star establishment, in fact have not had better when previously staying in 5 star hotels. The staff are the best we have encountered with nothing being too much trouble for them. They are a credit to the management and I am sure that is why people will keep on returning here

Improvements:
Better internet connection in the public areas. Would be great if we're in the room as well

TV - whilst you don't go on holiday to watch TV it is good to have something to watch when you go back to your room. There are only three channels and NONE in English. There should be satellite TV in the rooms with English channels/films. This is essential when you find yourself stuck in your room when the weather is too bad to go out - and we did have a few very bad days with none stop rain all day.

Sun beds/cushions in garden area and beach are old and create a poor impression and should be changed .





Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed at the Silver Sands Hotel for eleven nights in January 2014

The major let down for our holiday was the weather. I think we only had two complete days of sunshine the whole time we were there. Some part of the day was either cloudy or very heavy showers. One night the hotel was boarded up and we experienced a mini cyclone.

It was however very humid which meant you sweated a lot and despite the cloud you had to be careful, I got burnt one day lying out on a sun lounger under heavy cloud and without any sun in sight

The Hotel itself was isolated but had very friendly staff and excellent service. We stayed on the first floor in one of the garden rooms which was spacious and spotlessly clean. The food was very good and enjoyed the set waiter service three course meals in the evenings but I would have preferred to have had more buffet evenings giving greater choice.

The small private beach was spotless and although people were reserving spaces early morning there was always lounges with parasols available particularly in the garden area. We did have visits from hawkers on the beach but the security guards assured they were not obtrusive like in some other countries we have visited

To explore the Island I would recommend hiring a car and chauffeur at the hotel reception which is cheaper than the tour companies were offering and you have the freedom to travel and stop where you want

Would I visit the hotel again definitely yes, would I visit the country again, well maybe at a different time of year if the weather is better

I booked through Expedia who were superb and flew from Gatwick direct with BA without any stop over on route. I have had some iffy experiences flying BA in the past but the flights outbound and inbound were excellent

Room Tip: First Floor Garden Room Very Spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank DPJ16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Our stay at Silver Beach was lovely. The room was spacious with an enormous bed and good bathroom. The beach was amazing, white sand and clear waters excellent for snorkeling and always enough sun_loungers. Great food...very wide selection of dishes and attentive, smiling staff. Altogether a brilliant holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Julespants2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trou d'eau Douce
0.1 mi away
Friday Attitude
Friday Attitude
#2 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
864 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tropical Attitude
Tropical Attitude
#1 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
34 reviews
4.3 mi away
Laguna Beach Hotel & Spa
Laguna Beach Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Grande Riviere Sud Est
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#5 of 27 in Grand Baie
2,500 reviews
21.5 mi away
Pereybere Hotel & Spa
Pereybere Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Pereybere
569 reviews
21.8 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
3,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Beach Hotel

Address: Coastal Road, Trou d'eau Douce, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Flacq District > Trou d'eau Douce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Trou d'eau Douce
#4 Romantic Hotel in Trou d'eau Douce
Price Range: £106 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Sunspot Tours, Southall Travel, Agoda, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Silver Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Silver Beach
Silver Beach Mauritius
Silver Beach Hotel Mauritius/Trou D'eau Douce

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing