We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Experience”
Review of Silver Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Silver Beach Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This was our first time to Mauritius and Silver Beach Hotel which did not disappoint. For a 3* hotel we certainly received 5* service and always with a smile the staff here are fantastic and nothing is to much trouble. We stayed in a Garden room which was very spacious, the array of bird life and gecko's along with the beautiful flower s in the garden was just as spectacular has having a sea view room, we even managed to receive Wi-Fi in our room although I think this was more luck than intentional.
With a 4 course evening a la carte menu 4 times a week and a themed buffet 3 times a week, breakfast, lunch, afternoon snacks and cake & biscuits you certainly can't go hungry at this hotel. We also found the local beer very refreshing and both the Red & Rose wine very palatable, the cocktails are also worth trying.
There are some beautiful walks just around the corner on the beach with stunning views, it is also worth taking the local bus to the market and also Port Louis the round trip for two was £5 and an experience in itself.
We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (842)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 843 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed in Silver Beach Hotel between the 20th and the 26th of May. We arrived around evening via Dubai and it was a pretty strenuous flight. The front desk acknowledges the fact that you may be tired and do not bother you with too many formalities.
I would specially like to thank Rishi Preet Bundhun from the restaurant for being such an amazing host. He is well travelled and his around the world stories are nice to hear too. He went out of his way to ensure that my family and me (My parents and sister) were totally comfortable and ensured very tasty vegetarian meals as requested by us. Loved the variety. We also want to thank Kevin from the restaurant again for being the warmest gentleman around.
Jude the singer blew our breath away with his singing during our dinner almost everyday.
The live pianist and a few local artistes who performed blew us away too. Sanjeev and his team at the front desk went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. There are also countless staff ranging from the security staff (Veerana) and team and the housekeeping staff who maintain international levels of hygiene.
I would only recommend that the hotel makes better arrangements for self drive cars. We however found a self drive a few steps away at a souvenir shop opposite bougainvillea hotel. As we walk along the private beaches you tend to realize the effort Silver Beach hotel is making to keep their portion of the beach clean and of international standards.
We look forward to staying there again.

Aditya Kashyap
Bangalore,
India

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adityashankarkashyap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

I'm disappointed that the hotel has yet to acknowledge they were wrong. It's ridiculous that even after calling and having the hotel staff confirm a rate that I was charge a different rate for day 2 of my stay. Friends of ours who were staying the same duration were not charged 2 rates for each evening and they booked long after us. This is ridiculous. We booked very far in advance to avoid any error and will not be recommending this hotel. Stay at your own risk.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MRauen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Our third time at this hotel and cannot praise it enough, we just arrive and relax. Familiar staff and still excellent for cleanliness and service, nothing is too much trouble. Buffet style meals, breakfast and lunchtime with afternoon snacks. Evening meal is buffet but with three to four evenings a la carte, with superb service. The bar area is a friendly place to mix with all nationalities. The only down we found this year was that there did not seem to be the usual wide choice in buffet menu, although there is always a good choice to be made.This time we flew from Birmingham to Paris then direct to Mauritius, much better although the airport in Paris leaves a lot to be desired regarding staffing and the lack of help from them. A great place is Ile aux Aigrettes, well worth a visit, this island is being restored to its natural state, the giant tortoise here are brilliant,- take mosquito repellent with you for this, follow this with a glass bottom boat trip from Blue Bay to see the reef - wonderful, This can be booked from the hotel reception. We found this was much better than a visit to Pamplemousse gardens

Room Tip: We always choose a top floor room, usually the same one, with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kathandken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I have just returned from another stay at this excellent hotel in an amazing location. It was our third visit to Mauritius and our second year running at Silver Beach. Everything is first class,location, amenities, food, service. The staff were all lovely and friendly and all very good at their jobs ( a true testament to training and organisation) food was buffet style intermingled with set menus some nights with full waiter service and there was always a fantastic choice. There was entertainment every night. The hotel is in a good location for visiting island locations ( it's well worth travelling on the local bus for the experience alone! ) Almost forgot to mention the good range of water sports available on site. We stayed in a sea view room which was well worth the extra money, sitting on the balcony watching the sun go down was a real experience.

Room Tip: High floor, sea view rooms are well worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I wanted something special to celebrate our Ruby wedding anniversary, and found it in the Silver Beach. Flying from Manchester with Emirates involves two lengthy flights and a stopover in Dubai, however I found out that direct flights can be had from Heathrow (Air Mauritius) and Gatwick (British Airways), so this may be the better option next time we travel. The hotel has only 60 rooms, 30 sea view and 30 garden. Go for the sea view if possible, it's well worth it.
On arrival you are met with a cocktail, and not allowed to carry your cases from that moment. The rooms are adequate, and have a mini bar, telephone, TV, hair dryer, kettle and tea making facilities. Air con and room safe are standard. There is also a large shower room, and balcony, we had room 406.
The hotel is spotlessly clean, with the sheets and towels changed daily. If you need extra pillows just ask, they will be delivered as soon as. Breakfast and lunch are served buffet style, and afternoon snacks are also available. The evening meal is served buffet style three nights and a la carte for four nights. We were there over Easter and on Easter Sunday we were treated to a Gala meal of six courses. The food is a credit to the hotel and I have to say we enjoyed every single meal. Evening entertainment is also provided for a couple of hours, but it is only a small hotel so don't expect a Palladium type show, but entertaining nonetheless.
Sunbeds are provided with mattresses, and beach towels are also provided daily. There were always spare sunbeds so no need for the 7am rush to secure one. Not that I get up at that time anyway. Also complimentary are the pedaloes, kyaks, windsurfing and glass bottomed boat.
The staff obviously make this holiday what is it, as they cannot do enough for you. You are made to feel very special, and we did. Definitely 10 out of 10. Would love to return here. A little bit of paradise.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank dsricho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We travelled to Mauritius for the first time on the 1st May for 10 nights. We travelled with virgin on a direct BA flight from Gatwick. I am glad we took that option rather than a lengthy transfer in dubai.

The hotel is not lavish but spotlesslessly clean and the garden rooms are large and comfortable.

The food is fabulous and if you dont like something then the chef is happy to make other things for you.

We normally go in the big resort hotels and they lack personality. It was great here as everyone knew you and you got a very personal service from the bar staff and the waiting staff.

The weather was not great for 3 days whilst we were there so it would have been great to have some UK tv / films - this is definitely an area where the management can improve the facilities.
Normally we would venture out even if the weather is not good but it was torrential rain for full the full day so not fit to be out and about. There is no animation team or activities during the day, which is not a problem when the weather is good.

The evening entertainment was low key but there was something different every night.

It was great to see all the water activities for free - the glass boat, pedaloes and windsurfing.

All in all a fab holiday with wonderful staff. Will definitely come back

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NEtravellers15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trou d'eau Douce
0.4 mi away
Tropical Attitude
Tropical Attitude
#3 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
106 reviews
21.6 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#6 of 27 in Grand Baie
2,522 reviews
0.1 mi away
Friday Attitude
Friday Attitude
#1 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Laguna Beach Hotel & Spa
Laguna Beach Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Grande Riviere Sud Est
535 reviews
21.5 mi away
Pereybere Hotel & Spa
Pereybere Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Pereybere
586 reviews
21.8 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
3,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Beach Hotel

Address: Coastal Road, Trou d'eau Douce, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Flacq District > Trou d'eau Douce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Trou d'eau Douce
Price Range: £108 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Silver Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Silver Beach
Silver Beach Mauritius
Silver Beach Hotel Mauritius/Trou D'eau Douce

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing