We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Surcouf Hotel & Spa
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“awesome...”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

we had the best time here....the staff was very cordial and caring the food was delicious and the best thing abt the hotel was that it was right at the beach which made the whole experience wonderful.The rooms are quite comfortable and have a balcony for you to enjoy the early morning sunrise.Though the food was nice it wont be quite appreciated by indians,nonetheless we quite liked it.All in all its a total "worth for your money " kind of place to stay in.We hope to go back there again sometime soon....

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank payal_pahuja22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Icemist, General Manager at Le Surcouf Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear Mrs payal,

We thank you for your comments and glad that you have enjoyed your stay at Le Surcouf Hotel & Spa.

We look forward welcoming you once again at the resort.

Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    115
    54
    30
    32
See reviews for
71
166
15
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Czech Republic
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

- no services - nobody takes care of guests, nobody takes care of guests needs
- room - "mushrooms" in the room, door to bathroom did not work, doors out (2x) - did not work, they had to repair it
- spa - works max to 20:00 - not possible to visit it after trips (we did not want to stay inside during days)
- swiming pool - we did not tried it, looked not so clean
- floor cleaning and swimming pool cleaning - they did it during day - f.e. at 8:00 when guest went for brakfast
- official time for dinner - only up to 21:30, no choice, terrible food etc. etc. etc.
I love Mauritius. It is beautiful country with very friendly people. Therefore cannot recommend this hotel Le Surcouf, because it makes a poor showing to that country.

Room Tip: I cannot recommend this hotel to anyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Holina888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Trou d'eau Douce hotels

Delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Make my trip actually almost ruined my trip to Mauritius. I guess their business model is focused on single time customers only, because I will never recommend Make-my-trip to anyone.
The sales person pushed me to book Le Surcouf hotel & spa, gave us free 30-mins massage but to our surprise, there is no SPA there at all. I call it cheating. Why should the name be SPA when there is none? The hotel management lacks courtesy. Hotel beach is so dirty, hotel rooms have faulty a/cs, faulty lights, faulty door locks, & the worst of all, hotel guys are not even available to help or at the minimum show interest to listen to problems. I had cockroaches & a lizard in my room & no one bothered the complaint.
Another couple with us had terrible time when hotel cancelled their candle light dinner & did not even take a responsibility to inform about the cancellation. GM of hotel arrogantly denied to take a complaint.

Snorkeling was supposed to be a free activity, even printed on the hotel brochure but they were charging exorbitantly high for this activity. Boat house will close at 4:00pm when you really are back to hotel & wana enjoy.

Food was literally worst, except for breakfast when some omelette & fruits saved us.

Also to mention, rats & birds used to be a frequent visitors in the restaurant & kitchen.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank anks_ace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

The first point of attraction when we reached the resort was the long bed of algae on the hotel's private beach which was stinking badly. Surprisingly the hotel next to ours had absolutely clean beach. The room service was pathetic, the first word which every staff said was "NO"...There were only two people to attend the guests right from welcoming them to repairing the AC, refilling coffee/sugar.

The deception begins with name of the hotel itself the name is Le Surcouf Hotel & Spa but there was no Spa facility.The Manager Mr. Fazlullah was adamant that this information has been conveyed to the tour operators...

This list of disappointments would go on and on. Never the less I would like to summarize:
1. No water sports other than kayaking was free for the guests which are offered free by the other hotels.
2. They forgot to provide fruit skewer, bottle of wine as mentioned in the list of freebies.
3. The welcome gift was never given to us.
4. The candle dinner was badly messed up and there was neither an apology nor any effort from the management (including the manager Mr. Fazlullah).
5.The quality and taste of food was pathetic.
6. There is no restaurant at the hotel, once the kitchen closes you are left to starve.
7. The boat house at the hotel closes by 4.00 pm so you can not enjoy it as you would return from the day tour by 5.00 or 6.00 pm.

So, I would not recommend this hotel at all ....

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
13 Thank Abhi2636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

I had a wonderful stay at Le Surcouf. The villas are spacious and well maintained. The food is decent. And when you are there, contact Ravi, he could take you out for a very good Snorkelling trip at a very good prize. Enjoy. The only thing I missed in this place was a Spa, I was told that it was under renovation work, sadly :-(

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vikramtheone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Icemist, General Manager at Le Surcouf Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Vikram,

We thank you for your comments and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Le Surcouf Hotel & Spa.

We invite you to join our Facebook page and LIKE the page and SHARE your pictures that you had in our resort.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

I was in Mauritius on the 30th Oct 2012 with my wife on a honeymoon package and we stayed in this hotel. From the first day to the last day I was forever impress by their service and friendliness. The Manager Fazlullah Cassoomally contact # +230 7625080 greeted us as we entered the Hotel and it was really a warmth experience. When you mention that you are in a Honeymoon this hotel will provide you with a sparkling wine and a candle light dinner. The one thing i cannot forget is the service and the food. Every time we go for food its an unforgettable experience. We LOVE everything about the Hotel.

Thank you for making our honeymoon an unforgettable one.

Regards,
Jed

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jed807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Icemist, General Manager at Le Surcouf Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Jed,

We thank you for your comments and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Le Surcouf Hotel & Spa.

We invite you to join our Facebook page and LIKE the page and SHARE your pictures that you had in our resort.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi NCR
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

The absolute delight is the first thing that comes to your mind once you reach the hotel. The awesome view of the Waterfront, the peace, the serenity ..words fail to describe the place.

the Hotel staff along with the manager are always there to be at your service. Gorgeous rooms, great food, cool locality, and perfect settings for a great holiday.

Room Tip: Take a room on the Ground Floor with a Waterfront view !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank skjdreams2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Icemist, General Manager at Le Surcouf Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear SKJDREAMS2,

We thank you for your comments and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Le Surcouf Hotel & Spa.

We invite you to join our Facebook page and LIKE the page and SHARE your pictures that you had in our resort.

Kind regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trou d'eau Douce
20.5 mi away
Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Resort
Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Res...
#3 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
817 reviews
20.2 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
2,330 reviews
1.3 mi away
Friday Attitude
Friday Attitude
#2 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Emeraude Beach Attitude
Emeraude Beach Attitude
#9 of 12 in Belle Mare
1,210 reviews
20.2 mi away
Le Palmiste Resort & Spa
Le Palmiste Resort & Spa
#6 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
557 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Palmeraie Hotel
La Palmeraie Hotel
#5 of 12 in Belle Mare
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Surcouf Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Surcouf Hotel & Spa

Property: Le Surcouf Hotel & Spa
Address: Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Trou d'eau Douce, Mauritius 42214
Region: Mauritius > Flacq District > Trou d'eau Douce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Trou d'eau Douce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Surcouf Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description: A fully renovated picturesque, cottage-style 3-star hotel complex. Set in atropical garden on the beachfront and composed of 54 rooms, 1 suite, a bar, a spa and arestaurant with sea view around a swimming pool.Location: On the East coast of Mauritius not far from Ile aux Cerfs, 50 km from the capitalcity of Port- Louis. Situated only 40 km from the airport the transfer time is estimated only1½ hours drive from the airport.Accommodation: The hotel consists of 1 luxury suite and 54 rooms (27 on the ground floorand 27 on the first floor).• 1 luxury suite of 75m² with a large bedroom, an additional single bed and attachedbathroom with shower, 1 living room with sofa, a coffee corner and a large terrace overlookingthe beach. The suite is beautifully furnished with individual adjustable air conditioners, atelephone and a flat screen TV.• 29 classic rooms – 9 with twin beds (24 m²) and 19 with double beds (33m²). Six of theclassic rooms are interconnecting and can accommodate 4 adults and 2 teenagers agedbelow 15.• 15 superior rooms (38 m²) – which can accommodate 2 adults and 1 child aged below 12.• 10 deluxe rooms (54 m²) – ideal for a family of 2 adults and 2 teenagers aged below 15.Six of the deluxe rooms are interconnecting and can accommodate a maximum of 4 adultsand 2 teenagers aged below 15.All the rooms have either a personal terrace or balcony with sea view. They are beautifullyfurnished and equipped with individual air conditioners, bathroom with shower, telephoneand flat screen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Surcouf Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Surcouf Village Resort
Le Surcouf Hotel & Spa Mauritius/Trou D'eau Douce

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing