We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience at Le Surcouf”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Surcouf Hotel & Spa
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience at Le Surcouf”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Me and my wife had a great time in Mauritius in Feb 2014. We stayed for 6 nights in Le Surcouf and I would like to Thanks to all the staff for their hospitality and kindness. Some odds which we have to ignore at all places.

Coming to the rooms and resort area, its a very peaceful and lovely resort with most of the rooms beach facing. The rooms are big, nice, clean (can be compared to a more luxury resort).

As we both were veg so a little bit problem as not so much varieties were there but cant forget kind behavior of the chef when he prepared us veg curry immediately seeing we are not enjoying food one day.

Would like to visit again and recommend others also.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tush0206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    113
    53
    30
    30
See reviews for
69
165
15
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vacoas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Had a good time with my family there. All staffs were helpful beside the receptionist at the front desk who was very unhelpful and rude.

My family and I enjoyed our stay but the lady at the reception desk really disappointed me with the welcoming note. she even refused me to talk to the Manager.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zulfekar2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

From Family Bracika;Zoran,Daniele,Lana and Lara, we stayed in this Resort for 13 days,everyone was very kind to us starts from complete personel;housekeping ladies,waiters,very kindly and approchable manager. We really had a dream team around us,guys from maintence team were great they took us to a fishing trip,it was great. About food there is no discussion ,everyone can find something for their taste.We came to the island with great joy and staying there was wonderful but it was hard to leave very kind personel from our resort. Once more big thanks to everyone in the most beautiful resort on the most beautiful island in the world,hope to see you soon again. And of course we would like to send greetings to our taxi driver who had a patience for us during our whole stay. Greetings from snow-covered Croatia.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Dani D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2014

To anyone looking for a family holiday in Mauritius. We recommend LE SURCOUF HOTEL & SPA. Beautifully situated on the east coast with a lovely garden amidst masses of palm trees,and right on the magnificent blue ocean. The accommodation is excellent and reasonably priced, the food was good, and the Staff were wonderful. We had the most enjoyable stay at this little jewel of a hotel, and would gladly visit it again and again. From Paddy Lambert, Pietermaritzburg, South Africa.

Room Tip: Ground Floor Rooms - Direct Beach Front & Superb view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Le Surcouf Hotel & Spa had most of the attributes to make it a good hotel. It was small so manageable, nice setting, rooms with sea views and a general manager who seemed to know what he was doing most of the time. However, we spent two nights there and the service we received was borderline mediocre. Where to start!

Arrived there nearly two hours after check in time and the hotel was fully booked and had no rooms for us. Interesting, as we booked over a month before arrival and even got an email from the general manager acknowledging our booking. The receptionist at the front desk was very unhelpful but the general manager stepped in after an hour and offered us an apartment as a form of compensation.

It was a brand new apartment, never been used before. We should have known there would be teething problems but at £200 a night we thought all this would have been sorted out before. Many things did not work as they should in the apartment. It took over 30 minutes to get the keys sorted as there were four sets of doors and the staff could not figure out which key was for which door. The tv was not set up properly and did not work throughout the whole two nights we stayed there. The shower cubicle was nicely done but turned into a pool every time we had a shower. It took over two hours to drain every time. Not very hygienic when four people take couple of showers every day and have to stand in stagnant water. There was also no phone connection in the room and we had to make numerous trips to reception to get things sorted. In the end we did not bother complaining as it went on death ears. We asked several times to speak to the general manager but he was not available or so we were told. The tea and coffee facilities we were promised at the beginning of our stay never materialised. We have lost count of the number of times we have asked for things such as extra blankets for the kids (blankets were left at the hotel reception without our knowledge and we were told that we were supposed to pick it up ourselves), getting extra pillows (the receptionist told us that they did not have any for us. We had to made do with one pillow each), getting the tv sorted, getting the phone connected and getting tea and coffee facilities. The apartment was equipped with a brand new kitchen but we could not even boiled some water! The jacuzzi in front of the apartment was out of use throughout our whole stay.

The all inclusive board we booked did not represent what all inclusive actually means. All inclusive means that you have food every time you actually want but at this hotel it was only available at specific times such as at breakfast, lunch, tea (which was never on time) and dinner. We were there with two small children who were not always hungry at specific times. The bartender was so rude when we asked for couple of sandwiches for the kids. He kept saying that we were half board and even asked me to get my all inclusive voucher!

Many staff came across as slack or out of their depth when presented with a query. Our waiter was lovely but still expected us to fetch the highchair (which was hardly ever cleaned after each meal) ourselves. Our chambermaid was nice and tried her best to help out.

Food was ok but lacked variety. Remember that it is a £200 a night hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Hooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Trou d'eau Douce hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Le Surcouf has improved extremely. After the renovation, i beliebe it has just going ten million steps upward. I would recommend everyone to try this hotel, nice local feel and genuine staff. Clean and cosy as well. Cut short, it is worth it!! All the best.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ameeksha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We went on our Honeymoon and had a pleasant stay at this resort. The staff were very courteous - Rajesh and Ponan at the restaurant were very nice while serving the food and making conversations with us, Ricardo and Manisha at the reception were very friendly, the cleaning staff were also very polite and good at their work. The resort is very serene and one can go for a long walk along the beach; some water sports avenues are nearby in case one may want to. The resort gave us pedal boats and we spent pleasant hours in the lagoon. The dinner had good variety of non-veg food everyday; the breakfast spread was also good, but the breakfast menu was the same for the entire week; so breakfast will get boring after a couple of days.
The swimming pool is small but, nice enough. They had Table Tennis also which we played for some time, they might want to replace the old TT bats. The resort may want to add a fitness center.

Room Tip: Ground floor has direct access to the beach and better view of the ocean; ocean view from the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chandan_Sandhya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trou d'eau Douce
1.6 mi away
Tropical Attitude
Tropical Attitude
#2 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
1.3 mi away
Friday Attitude
Friday Attitude
#1 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
2.3 mi away
Emeraude Beach Attitude
Emeraude Beach Attitude
#9 of 12 in Belle Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,300 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Palmeraie Hotel
La Palmeraie Hotel
#5 of 12 in Belle Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
20.5 mi away
Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Resort
Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Res...
#3 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Surcouf Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Surcouf Hotel & Spa

Property: Le Surcouf Hotel & Spa
Address: Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Trou d'eau Douce, Mauritius 42214
Region: Mauritius > Flacq District > Trou d'eau Douce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Trou d'eau Douce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Surcouf Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description: A fully renovated picturesque, cottage-style 3-star hotel complex. Set in atropical garden on the beachfront and composed of 54 rooms, 1 suite, a bar, a spa and arestaurant with sea view around a swimming pool.Location: On the East coast of Mauritius not far from Ile aux Cerfs, 50 km from the capitalcity of Port- Louis. Situated only 40 km from the airport the transfer time is estimated only1½ hours drive from the airport.Accommodation: The hotel consists of 1 luxury suite and 54 rooms (27 on the ground floorand 27 on the first floor).• 1 luxury suite of 75m² with a large bedroom, an additional single bed and attachedbathroom with shower, 1 living room with sofa, a coffee corner and a large terrace overlookingthe beach. The suite is beautifully furnished with individual adjustable air conditioners, atelephone and a flat screen TV.• 29 classic rooms – 9 with twin beds (24 m²) and 19 with double beds (33m²). Six of theclassic rooms are interconnecting and can accommodate 4 adults and 2 teenagers agedbelow 15.• 15 superior rooms (38 m²) – which can accommodate 2 adults and 1 child aged below 12.• 10 deluxe rooms (54 m²) – ideal for a family of 2 adults and 2 teenagers aged below 15.Six of the deluxe rooms are interconnecting and can accommodate a maximum of 4 adultsand 2 teenagers aged below 15.All the rooms have either a personal terrace or balcony with sea view. They are beautifullyfurnished and equipped with individual air conditioners, bathroom with shower, telephoneand flat screen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Surcouf Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Surcouf Village Resort
Le Surcouf Hotel & Spa Mauritius/Trou D'eau Douce

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing