We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, great food and run by a super helpful man!”
Review of Dar Adrar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dar Adrar
Ranked #6 of 40 Imlil B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location, great food and run by a super helpful man!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This hotel was recommended by the rough guide and did not disappoint, after a tiring trek up toubkal it was exactly what we were after! The food was delicious and the room beautiful. Every little detail was taken care of, right down to the owner walking into town with us to sort a taxi. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haza617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    33
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
34
80
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tetouan, Morocco
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Our family group of nine, including three children, stayed here for two nights with a night in between on Jebel Toubkal. Everything about Dar Adrar exceeded our expectations. We all loved the novelty of mules carrying our luggage for us as we walked up to the guesthouse which is tucked into a spot on the trail with shade trees. All of the staff are gracious and friendly and made us feel right at home. We enjoyed delicious meals on the terrace while soaking up the gorgeous views. Our rooms were very clean and comfortable and especially welcoming when we returned from our Toubkal trek. We did our trek with Atlas Trek Shop, which is also owned by Mohamed Aztat. He was wonderful in helping us to arrange our entire trip, responding very quickly to my email inquiries. Without question we would stay here again, trusting Mohamed with both our trekking and lodging needs. We hope to return soon!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bzak7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil UK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights following 5 days trekking with Atlas Trek.
The room was spacious and the bed comfortable. There was plenty of hot water for showers.
The breakfast which was wonderful, was served on the terrace and the views of the mountains are spectacular. We also ate our evening meals here and they were excellent on both occasions.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AR-247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed two nights in Dar Adrar, before and after our trek up Toubkal.
The staff were very polite and helpful and the rooms clean and comfortable. The roof terrace and views across the mountain range were fantastic - what a setting for breakfast!
We'd definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesOC1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

This is my second time in Imlil but a first in this guesthouse. It is pretty easy to find the trek shop owned by the same guesthouse, just after the grand taxi drops you off, walk up the hill and it bends to the right. The shop is one of the last before the hill bends to the left. This should take no longer than 5 mins. If you are feeling energetic you can carry your backpacks up but it is quite a climb, alternatively the shop can call for the donkey to come down to take your luggage for you, surprisingly even with the luggage, the donkey was travelling faster than us- i almost felt we were holding her up!

The sitting room has a big wood burner, very welcoming after several hours of walking in the cold fog. Dinner i think was 3 courses, satisfactory, hot and filling. The views from the terrace on a clear day are simply beautiful and tranquil.

Our room was large and had a woodburner but we didnt use. The bathroom had openings at the top so you can hear everything from the bedroom but this is not unusual having travelled in Morocco quite a bit. On a cold night you may wish to use the extra blanket cover that is in the corner, we definitely had to use it just to get warm and cosy. Water was hot, though one of the guests commented they had cold water only. Not sure what the problem was.
All in all, a great stopover if travelling onward to Toubkal or if you wish to stay a few days. We only stayed one night as we had already planned our itinerary in advance.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Snugglywuggly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, uk
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed two nights at Dar Adrar on our two week trip across Morocco. It was one of the places we decided to save a bit of money and go for a nice, but more reasonably priced, hotel so we knew it wasn't going to be high-luxe.

We arrived in the early evening and after a bit of trouble working out where to get our driver to drop us, we phoned up to the dar to let them know we'd arrived and waited to be collected. 10 minutes later a man with a very happy looking donkey (not all working animal in Morocco look happy, but this one did) came around the corner. He strapped our luggage into two bags on the donkey's back and led us up a tiny footpath though the woods, up the hillside. Even with the donkey taking our luggage, it's quite a walk! I had to stop to catch my breath once, but it's very manageable: 10 steep minutes. But what a way to arrive at a hotel!

The best thing about Dar Adrar is the roof terrace, where you could sit for hours looking at the amazing views. Take binoculars! Obviously were were welcomed up there with some sweet mint tea. I think when it's warmer you can have meals out here too. We'd come from the desert that day, but on top of the hotel we could see snow - a pretty incredible juxtaposition.

In the room under the roof terrace we had our lovely breakfasts and a nice evening meal (we ate out at dar Imlil one night as well, but to be honest, the food was so similar and of equal quality, so there's probably no need to eat out!).

Our room was charming. It was quite basic but prettily decorated with red throws on the bed. The window had a view of lots of trees with a mountain in the background though it had netting over it to keep the mozzies out.

The bathroom is divided off with a wooden saloon door so not massively private but normal for Moroccan hotels. We had some issues with water (it was only hot, no cold) but we forgot to tell them at reception, I'm sure if we had they'd have fixed it.

During the day we wanted to go for a wander in the hills. It's very hard to do this from the village if you don't want a guide. It's not just a case of going past the guides around the car park - everyone you meet will want to have the conversation with you about how you need a guide and they don't take 'no' very easily. In the end we got a guide to take us up to the waterfall and then said we'd find our own way back. My tip would be to ask the hotel to set you on a path that doesn't go through the village then you can have a walk around on your own. It's easy enough to find the waterfall without help.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank londoner_lass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

On arrival we had our luggage loaded up onto the back of a mule. A short climb and we're at the Riad. Our room was simple but cosy with en-suite bathroom. The lounge area.was comfy with lovely views for relaxing after dark. The best area is the outside terrace we had breakfast and eve meals here! Simply breathtaking views.
Food simple but well done and plenty to eat. *Ahmed who is in charge of looking after the Riad is very friendly and couldn't be more helpful to us for our stay. Really felt sad to leave this place! Excellent value for money!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imlil
0.2 mi away
Dar Imlil
Dar Imlil
#3 of 6 in Imlil
188 reviews
8.3 mi away
Ouirgane Ecolodge
Ouirgane Ecolodge
#3 of 9 in Ouirgane
33 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Atlas Prestige
Riad Atlas Prestige
#2 of 40 in Imlil
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Atlas Toubkal
Riad Atlas Toubkal
#11 of 40 in Imlil
83 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Oussagou
Riad Oussagou
#3 of 40 in Imlil
180 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dar Tighoula
Dar Tighoula
#2 of 28 in Imlil
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Adrar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Adrar

Property: Dar Adrar
Address: Imlil 42152, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Imlil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Imlil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Adrar 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dar Adrar is a new small hotel that offer nice and clean accommodation in the center of Imlil.Hotel Dar Adrar has 8 ensuite rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dar Adrar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing