We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rural charm”
Review of Douar Samra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Douar Samra
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Imlil
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“rural charm”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed two nights and enjoyed it overall. The location is stunning and rural. The food was very nice. A few points, bring a torch and warm clothes, also take it easy - youre in Morocco...eg.when we arrived in car we were asked to pay a little boy to lock it in a garage, being tourists not used to these things we thought it was a bit odd and seemed strange as a welcome, especially as didn't have enough change to pay! We got comfortable with this sort of thing over the course of the stay and once we got to know staff, but would be good to make parking arrangements a bit clearer ☺til people acclimatise, and the same goes for service in general, Mohamed was helpful when asked to help with things but could be a bit brusque at times - actually hewas quite good fun when you just were more direct with him, getting us extra tea and putting the fire on- he is a busy man! We didnt see much of other staff. We enjoyed a short walk over to Kasbah toubkal by ourselves.

Room Tip: We slept in kouss, had a nice little terrace for meals
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alice c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    64
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
111
204
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This upmarket guesthouse has the benefit of a wonderful location and charming bedrooms. It is also remarkably close to Marrakech. While the service may be a bit 'manana' for some tastes, I would have no hesitation recommending Douar Samra.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Trevor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Hard to believe this place is only an hour or so from Marrakech. Travelled with the wife and our 10 year old son. The place was buzzing with couples, families and adventurers heading off to climb Toubkal. We did a more leisurely trek to a local waterfall, with a guide and a donkey. Great day out. The Douar itself is special. From the roaring fires in the rooms to the views and the great food with other guests we had a fantastic few days. So many places you stay are forgotten about the moment you leave them, this place will leave a lasting memory.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tum_Tum_Tree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineMarrakech, Owner at Douar Samra, responded to this review, 24 February 2015
Dear Rum_Tim_Tree,

It makes me happy to know that you had a great stay with us! Thank you for the wonderful compliments and for highly recommending our hotel, it’s always a pleasure to serve you and we hope to welcome you back again!

Warm regards,
Siham for Jacqueline Brandt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casablanca, Morocco
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2014

this is the best douar I have ever seen in my life ...douar samra is samply the best Featuring picturesque village Imlil as a wonderful place in the Atlas Mountains embellished landscapes Temptress...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jawad_jza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineMarrakech, Owner at Douar Samra, responded to this review, 24 February 2015
Dear jawad_jza,

Thank you for sharing your compliments of your recent stay. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable experience, and sincerely thank you for your recommendation.
We all look forward to serving you again!

Warm regards,
Siham for Jacqueline Brandt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

What a perfect little hideaway in the beautiful Atlas Mountains - from being picked up to the accomodation, to the hospitable Hadija, food, scenery & company - it was one of the best experiences I have ever had. Please book yourself into the Douar Samra if only to try for one night - you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: we had the treehouse booked which was spacious and warm plus had electricity but all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankie042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineMarrakech, Propriétaire at Douar Samra, responded to this review, 22 October 2014
Dear Mr. Frankie,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Douar samra and for taking the time to post a wonderful review of your recent stay. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Once again, thank you for your comments and for choosing to spend your time with us.

We looking forward to seeing you again.

Regards,

Siham for Jacqueline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

When we stayed in Douar Samra seven years ago for just one night, we vowed to return for longer. It was exactly as we remember, with the exception of the newly built treehouse. We stayed in Kouss, quite small, but with a terrace that's the envy of all the other guests. We could have had a room with electricity, but part of the charm of the Douar is returning to your room after a sumptuous dinner prepared by the excellent local cooks, and lighting candles in all the alcoves.

My husband and I love walking and booked three wonderful treks with Hassan, who was knowledgeable, patient and helpful, especially when it came to difficult terrain. On one of the three days, I had a hammam which was carried out by Mohammed's wife who scrubbed me with black olive soap, sluiced buckets of warm water over me and left me feeling completely relaxed. Definitely to be recommended.

Madame Jacqueline, whose vision it was to build Douar Samra, is a delightful and fascinating woman, who keeps herself to herself, but occasionally appears to make sure her guests are happy. The staff are welcoming and available to put anything right or simply to bring you a refreshing mint tea with tiny biscuits to nibble on.

Away from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech {do visit the lovely sister Riad Samsara too}, the Douar Samra offers a wonderful retreat and surrounded by glorious mountain views. Unmissable.

Room Tip: If electricity is a priority, make sure you book a room away from the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This was our (my girlfriend and myself) first stop on a 9 day trip in Morocco-Atlas Mtns, semi-desert and Marrakech. Little did we know that this was a perfect introduction to Morocco. We did two day hikes with guide (Mohammad), mules and hot prepared lunches on the mountains. We returned to Douar Samra to lie around on the patios and felt there were plenty of different spaces for privacy.
It was hot while we were there but it was definitely cooler in the mountains-we slept with our windows open. The staff were all friendly, helpful and smiling. We didn't realize it until later how unique it was to be able to watch the villagers go about their daily lives from the rooftop of the
The hotel is simple in an authentic way, with many open spaces and rooftop views down into the valley and of the mountains. The evening meals were some of the best we had in our entire trip.

Room Tip: Our room (Sdez) was separate from the main house with electricity but many other guests loved their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinfamily6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imlil
1.0 mi away
Dar Imlil
Dar Imlil
#3 of 6 in Imlil
188 reviews
6.8 mi away
Kasbah Tamadot
Kasbah Tamadot
#1 of 4 in Asni
784 reviews
17.2 mi away
Kasbah Bab Ourika
Kasbah Bab Ourika
#1 of 3 in Ourika
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Domaine de la Roseraie
Domaine de la Roseraie
#2 of 2 in Ouirgane
335 reviews
9.7 mi away
Domaine Malika
Domaine Malika
#1 of 2 in Ouirgane
503 reviews
1.0 mi away
Auberge Atlas Tichka
Auberge Atlas Tichka
#1 of 1 in Aroumd
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douar Samra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douar Samra

Property: Douar Samra
Address: Tamatert, Imlil, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Imlil
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Imlil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Douar Samra Hotel Imlil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing