We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in the Imlil Valley”
Review of Gite Atlas Mazik

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gite Atlas Mazik
Ranked #12 of 42 Imlil B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We loved staying with Ibrahim and his big family. Ibrahim and his son, Housein, were fantastic hosts. Always smiling. Their response to every request is, "It's no problem." Another son, Hamid, led us through the village to the start of a hike up to the pass and sent us on our way. You can request a family member as a guide or just go yourself as we did. The view from the pass was stunning. I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed staying here. For backpackers or anyone who wants to experience the lifestyle of a Berber mountain village, you can't go wrong here. If you want faux luxury trappings, best to stay in Marrakech at some fancy riad. But I'm so glad we made the trip here. The drive up the mountain at night was thrilling to say the least. Then you go by foot from the town to the nearby village, about a 20 minute walk. Bring a backpack, not a suitcase. Thank you so much, Ibrahim, for our wonderful stay. Meeting you and your family was one of the highlights of our trip.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2013

Was staying in this Little hotel After climbing in the toubkal Area. Ibrahim, the owner of the House, is a very grienend and good-hearted man, who helped me whereever possible and was Interested in my Adventures up there. The Family serves excellent food and the great tea - to which i am already addicted - and they have wireless LAN, so i could make some calls Home out of the Atlas Mountains.
Shoukran to Ibrahim and His Family, I really enjoyed staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ianmorocco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

When Ibrahim picked me up from central Imlil, I thought that maybe his hostel was 5 minutes away. 20 minutes later, after the road had turned into a little mountain pathway, a simple river crossing and a tour through the narrow lanes of Mazik (or M'zik), we arrived at the hostel.
If you're looking for luxury, this isn't the place (and this is reflected in the price) - but this is somewhere with fantastic views, simple comfortable rooms (as the temperature drops, Ibrahim gives you more and more blankets) and wonderful warm relationships with Ibrahim, his family, and other guests.
Also great vegetarian food! Ask for the omlette - the best thing I ate in all of Morocco.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phoenix F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

I stayed at this place for 2 weeks whilst training and travelling in Morocco. It is very nice with a great view, european toilet and very welcoming owners. I would recommend that people who stay here also order 3 meals as the food is brilliant. It is a traditional berber house in a small villae at the base of toubkal which was ideal for our base camp for climbing Toubkal.

Room Tip: they were all very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 367sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

Totally authentic, friendly and value for money.Set in an amazing area with limitless opportunities for trekking in the beautiful atlas mountains.A very beautiful part of the world, one of the few places left on earth where things should be as they are...cheap,simple,beautiful,friendly.The berber hospitality and friendliness is legendary and i would reccomend this place to anyone...ive spend many months taking groups there and know the area well and will continue to return and be amazed.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wayne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank mg1641977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Casa tradicional, familia muy acogedora, buen trato, comida deliciosa y vistas inmejorables
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ulyses1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Imlil hotels
1.4 mi away
Douar Samra
Douar Samra
#1 of 6 in Imlil
477 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Atlas Toubkal
Riad Atlas Toubkal
#10 of 42 in Imlil
87 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gite Tizi Mizik
Gite Tizi Mizik
#19 of 42 in Imlil
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Dar Agelzime
Dar Agelzime
#3 of 3 in Aroumd
1 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Soleil Imlil
Hotel Soleil Imlil
#1 of 3 in Aroumd
35 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dar Imlil
Dar Imlil
#3 of 6 in Imlil
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gite Atlas Mazik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gite Atlas Mazik

Address: Douar Mazik Imlil asni, Imlil 42152, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Imlil
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Imlil
Price Range: £8 - £15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gite Atlas Mazik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing