We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treat”

Trekking in Morocco - Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$220.00*
and up
Mount Toubkal: 2-Day Climb from Marrakech
Ranked #5 of 30 Outdoor Activities in Imlil
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are specialists in trekking and climbing in Atlas Mountains, with over 20 years experience of organising a wide variety of trips for clients from all over the world.Atlas Mountains and sahara are a unique and very special part of Morocco. I will be very happy to share my expertise with you to plan your dream trip,
Reviewed 14 June 2013

It was a great adventure. We got to see how the villagers's life in close up. We had tea and home-made lunch in their houses. I must say it is one of the best Tagine's I ever had out of Marrakech! We've also seen how they make the traditional bread and basically, how the berber villagers live. Unlike Marrakech, the locals in the village are very polite, friendly and welcoming. You can tell that these people are sincere and are not asking for anything else in return.

Lahecn, our tour guide , is a really great guy. It was a good 8km walk and he showed us through the treks of hills the villages and the beautiful scenery. We came across shephards and herds of sheep and goats in the mountain and also visited two berber families, which are good breaks to have mint teas, bread and lunch.
THe price we pay absolutely include everything, drinks, snacks, lunch, and tea.

Date of experience: June 2013
Thank neja s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"day trip"
in 41 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 12 reviews
"atlas mountains"
in 61 reviews
"berber village"
in 13 reviews
"delicious lunch"
in 10 reviews
"mint tea"
in 13 reviews
"tagine"
in 11 reviews
"no pressure to buy"
in 3 reviews
"via email"
in 8 reviews
"guest house"
in 9 reviews
"argan oil"
in 5 reviews
"camel ride"
in 8 reviews
"three course meal"
in 2 reviews
"visiting marrakech"
in 4 reviews
"bread"
in 7 reviews
"quick reply"
in 2 reviews
"traditional moroccan food"
in 2 reviews
Filter

200 - 204 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2013

We went with our 7 year old son and we had a fantastic time! Our son did the trip on top of a mule and he loved it. We had a guide and a local was accompanying the mule. They were both very child friendly, very attentive and great company during the trip. The food at the bereber family was outstanding!!! The best meal in marrakesh... And we tried quite a few of the top restaurants in town! Overall it was excellent value for money. Guide went out of his way buying pastries and popcorn for our son. We took with us a bunch of pens and children were delighted. As advised by other reviews, we also brought a box of chocolate for the family. Now i regret not having taken some little cars or smallish toys from my son for the children of the family.... Organizers take care of everything, tea stops , bottled water etc. Just bring very solid walking shoes because the walking path is not exactly a boulevard...

Date of experience: June 2013
Thank ANDER E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We did a three day trip with trekkingatlasmountains at the begining of june with Ahmed and Ebrahim quite a few ups and downs of the atlas mountains, we coped! Visiting the berber families and seeing their life and work was a unique experience- this trip is really for those who want more from their holidays. I cant close without mentioning the food, WONDERFUL! If you enjoy Moroccan quisine I promise you that the home cooked food on this trip is truly the best. Thank you for everything. I hope I remember this for a long time to come.

Date of experience: June 2013
Thank Dav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

I would highly recommend this great day out with the lovely guide Ibrahim. It's a unique experience, although does involve a fair amount of walking (we did the moderate excursion). Not to worry though, they have a mule to carry the bags and that can provide your legs with a brief rest!
The families you meet along the way are lovely, and provide the most amazing mid-morning snack and meal. A must for anyone staying in Marrakech and looking for a day trip into the mountains to discover the Berber villages!

Date of experience: June 2013
Thank nkoo h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2013

A big thank you to Ebrahim especially for taking on such a special trek through the Berber hills above wirgan. We had a wonderful day. The scenery was amazing. Great to be able to see the real life of the charming Berber people. Highly recommend. Only an hours drive from Marrakech.

Date of experience: June 2013
Thank jon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trekking in Morocco - Day Tours also viewed

Imlil, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Imlil, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Imlil, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Imlil, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Trekking in Morocco - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing