We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent family hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bazaruto Island
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“An excellent family hotel”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed for 4 nights with the whole family at Bazaruto Island resort. It is a magical place. We went to Bazaruto at the end of our safari holidays to relax. We had three villas which all have direct access to the beach. The interior is very nice although maybe a little bit on the dark side as there are so many trees in front of the balcony. Thank God we were not to far away from the reception and from the beach restaurant as it can be quite a walk from one end to the other. The restaurants were very good, the choice of food excellent and very varied. I liked that every night we had dinner at a different location. The Spa is amazing on top of the hill with amazing views. The two pools are really nice, one is for family and the other is child free. The beach is beautiful and there are lots of water sports available. What we liked most was the surfing on the sand dunes. That was so much fun. The hotel staff is extremely friendly and helpful and always smiling. A real treat. What a nice ending of our holidays in Africa.

Room Tip: Don't have a room to far away from reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amaya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto S, General Manager at Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Amaya A
Warm greetings from sunny Bazaruto. Thank you for TripAdvisor review, we are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful break after your travels. We appreciate your comments on the trees in front of the villas and have since begun clearing some openings providing more light and more beautiful views of the ocean.
It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the food, the chef will be very happy. Moving the dinners between our 3 dining venues brings variety during your stay so that you get to experience all that we are able to offer.
We love to hear that you enjoyed our activities especially the duneboarding which is a very popular choice. I will be sure to pass your kind words on to our staff.
Please do not hesitate to contact me personally should you wish to return to Bazaruto.
Kind regards,
Roberto Simone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    76
    25
    16
    2
See reviews for
137
227
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We spend a glorious week @ Anantara. Was treated as royalty. Couldn't have asked for a better place to spend week with kids and friends. So many activities to choose from and well presented. Mozambique has the friendliest people we have encountered on any holiday trip. We will be back! You can trust them with your holiday memories.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto S, General Manager at Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear George G
We wish to thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you had the time to enjoy our wide range of activities and I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our staff.
We look forward to your return
Kind regards,
Roberto Simone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Our stay at Anatara Bazaruto (formerly Indigo bay) over exceeded our expectations. The whole experience, from the amiable and friendly meet and greet at the airport, the interesting short drive (only about 5 minutes) to our boat, the 45 minute boat trip to the island over and the warmest welcome over at the resort. The accommodation lacked nothing. A large comfortable bed, a spacious lounge area, a private terrace, and a skip to the beach. Private, secluded, spacious and good quality surprises like the 3 different fragrances of bath salts supplied next to the sunk-in bath, with a view made in heaven. You're able to fall asleep to the sound of the water lapping at the shore and then wake up early to watch a variety of birdlife lounging under your grass umbrella. The SPA was also stunning, situated at the top of the hill with a dramatic view towards the mainland. The food at the restaurant was top quality, with an a la carte being offered at lunch from the restaurant deck, to a full buffet in the evening featuring the obligatory seafood and grilled meat. The service was almost over the top good. Sometimes a little too much, if I were forced to criticize... but on the other hand, there was a lovely sense that the staff were really trying to make our stay wonderful. If you're looking for a romantic getaway for 2, or if you have kids, this is the ultimate destination. It has everything you could want in terms of a top graded resort, and yet manages to retain that special African feeling that is genuine and real and unpretentious. I will be recommending Anatara Bazaruto to everyone I know and will return one day soon.

Room Tip: Rooms on the beach are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Imelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto S, General Manager at Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Imelina
Warm greetings from sunny Bazaruto. We wish to thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed the boat transfer experience with the indigenous welcome. We are spoiled by having some amazing nature right on our doorstep providing very unique experiences like the birdlife you enjoyed so much. Our Anantara spa certainly has some magnificent views and great experiences and we love to hear that guests have enjoyed their time spent there.
The staff at Anantara Bazaruto are working continuously to provide their best service, we are lucky to have very kind-natured associates working in the hotel.
We look forward to your return and I am available at all times if you require any assistance
Warm regards
Roberto Simone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a 5 day break at this resort!
I will deal with the negative first.
The negative- Nothing
The positive- Whatever I say about this place will be an understatement.
We flew to Vilanculos from Johannesburg and from Vilanculos to Bazaruto on a light aircraft. Whoever feels apprehensive about this sort of flight, don't. It is one of the most magnificent trips I have ever done. We arrived at the resorts landing strip to a hearty welcome.
From the minute we arrived we were made to feel welcome. We were shown to our villa which was stunning. Truly nothing was too much effort for any staff member at this resort. The GM Roberto is hands on and the client services manager Conrad will go out of his way to assist you in anyway he possibly can. The staff are all amazing helpful and smiling. Not one irritation.
Then the food- it is fresh and magnificent! With many options. All the staff were great. Roger our waiter was amazing. We stuck to the fresh sea food! Wow!
My kids did sand boarding and the activities staff Zambezi and the rest were awesome! I cannot possibly tell you anything bad about this resort! Everyone was knowledgeable capable and extremely efficient. We went to Paradise Island for the day and that excursion was also fantastic and so wonderfully handled! It was a very relaxing 5 day break and I would recommend it to anyone.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank 312578Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto S, General Manager at Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear 312578Helen
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort and for your kind words. The flight across to the island really is beautiful and a great start to a relaxing holiday in our piece of paradise. We love to hear that guests have enjoyed our food as well as the activities we have on offer. Zambezi and Conrad will be pleased to hear their personal mention as am I.
It would be a pleasure to have you and your family stay with us again and do not hesitate to contact me personally should you require any assistance.
Warm regards,
Roberto Simone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was our second visit, the previous being in 2007. We are a family of 6 and had an unforgettable visit. It started with a boat ride from Vilancoulous which took an hour. We were met with a traditional musical welcome and genuine warmth from he most excellent Maitre D' - Roger. Roger looks after everything. He is ably supported by the magnificent local staffers. The activities staff are also magificent - special thanks to Alex, Lorenco who know where the fish lie, to Zambezi, Alberto, and Juno who help everyone get up on the wakeboard and to Nikki who runs the Scuba centre and is an excellent teacher. The kitchen offered great variety and top, top quality food - all day. The rooms have been refurbed and there is a lovely high quality ethnic feel to the accommodation. The whole thing reeks of 5 star. It was all so relaxed. The Spa was also top standard.

We had one additional advantage - the staff set up a big screen in the bar at the beach so all the guests could watch world cup football. That was terrific and allowed all the guests to integrate easily if they wanted to socialise a bit.

I could rabbit on and on - well done to the people of Bazarutto - top job.

Room Tip: 101 - 109 to be close to the best end of the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conor-K-Ire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto S, General Manager at Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Cono-K-Ire
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our resort, it was our pleasure to host yourself and your family on your second trip to our island. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed the boat ride from Vilanculos, our goal in this is to make it more of an experience rather than just a means of getting here. I will pass your kind words on to Roger as well as Alex, Lourenco, Zambezi, Alberto and Juma.
We do hope that you will be back again to visit us at Anantara Bazaruto and please do not hesitate to contact me directly for any future assistance.
Kind regards,
Roberto Simone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful week at the anantara - incredibly beautiful scenery (including a spa in the st idyllic setting imaginable), utterly amazingly food and the most lovely, warm and accommodating staff possible (seek out rui for the best cocktails, Conrad & Sergio for great chat & local knowledge). If you're there on honeymoon, the private meal on the beach is well worth doing - insanely good food and very romantic, the trip to see the dilapidated hotel on a neighbouring island is also well worth the visit. We were there very much in off season (1 of only 3 couples), which was awesome and v luxurious, and the only negative comment I could make is that the general manager and his wife at times felt like the fourth couple there - sunbathing and drinking from the bar, but showing no desire to talk to the (very few) other guests, which was a shame. However this does not detract from what has been the best week ever at a truly incredible hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claire s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROBERTO S, General Manager at Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Claire s
Warm greetings from sunny Bazaruto Island!
First of all we wish to thank you for sharing your recent stay experience on TripAdvisor.
We read with pleasure that you have enjoyed our hotel facilities and activities as well as our food offerings.
On a personal note I wish to apologize to have given the impression not to have engaged more with you as I was on my off day and my wife was visiting me for vacation, which certainly is not an excuse.
In any case it would be a pleasure to be able to welcome you back one day and do not hesitate to contact me personally in case of any further comment you wish to share.
Sincere regards
Roberto Simone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We have just returned from our Honeymoon in Mozambique, ending with a 6 night stay at Anantara, Bazaruto Island... We had such a wonderful experience with all the very very friendly smiley staff, Eliza, Sergio, James, Nikki, Store ( his name in English!) to name but a few... they made our stay so easy and could not be more helpful making us feel extremely special.
Would recommend anyone looking to relax with sun, sand and sea.. with fantastic gourmet food, the Karan Beef and seafood curry exceptional.
The Spa, not being a Spa person, was even for me a wonderful experience... we had a couples lotions and potions for hair, face and body, steamed ( sounds like something you would do with vegetables... but this was for us!!) then rinsed off all inside a beautifully designed room... who could ask for more??
The sand dune boarding was amazing fun... and the views awesome... we have so many great photos... will be back... Lindsay and Neil

Room Tip: We had a lovely room... well more a small apartment 118... overlooking the sea and took 30 seconds t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindz l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROBERTO S, General Manager at Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Lindsay and Neil

Sunny greetings from Bazaruto! Thank you for having shared your recent stay experience on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your special Honeymoon in our resort.
We love to know that you enjoyed our Anantara Spa as well as some of our offered activites which you could enjoy like Dune Boarding. We constantly try to increase our offerings and as well our variety in Food and Beverage.
It would be a true pleasure to have you back one day and do not hesitate to personally contact me in case you are planning your next trip!
Warm regards
Roberto Simone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bazaruto Island
19.1 mi away
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
#1 of 9 in Vilanculos
207 reviews
19.5 mi away
Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts
19.5 mi away
Hotel Dona Ana
Hotel Dona Ana
#4 of 9 in Vilanculos
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Pestana Bazaruto Lodge
Pestana Bazaruto Lodge
#2 of 2 in Bazaruto Island
144 reviews
9.2 mi away
Azura Benguerra Island
Azura Benguerra Island
#1 of 2 in Benguerra Island
417 reviews
9.8 mi away
andBeyond Benguerra Island
andBeyond Benguerra Island
#2 of 2 in Benguerra Island
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort

Property: Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort
Address: Inhambane Province, Mozambique (Formerly Indigo Bay Island Resort and Spa)
Region: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Bazaruto Archipelago > Bazaruto Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bazaruto Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jovago.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indigo Bay Island Hotel Bazaruto Island
Indigo Bay Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing