We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Azura... amazing Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Azura Benguerra Island
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
422 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Amazing Azura... amazing Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Have just spent 7 amazing days on this magnificent resort. Stunning surroundings and amazing staff. Everything you would want on your first visit to Mozambique. Every second night a surprise dinner and the food on the whole is amazing!!

Went out fishing and caught and amazing fish which the chef cooked to perfection. I'm sure the entire resort eat well that night.

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing and if you are travelling with friend I would recommend the large villas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colette A, Manager at Azura Benguerra Island, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Grant T

Thank you so much for the time taken to write this review.

It was super meeting you and hearing of all the wonderful places you have traveled. Remember you can always come and relax with us on the island after your next Southern Africa trip.

Kind Regards

Colette Adams
Operations Manager
Azura Benguerra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    33
    15
    9
    4
See reviews for
56
288
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We spent 6 days on Benguerra Island and the location is absolutely stunning-crystal clear warm waters, empty beaches and relaxed beachfront villas complete with your own butler service. The helicopter flight to the hotel is breathtaking. The Presidential Villa offers complete privacy. The boat excursion to the neighbouring island was well worth doing-dolphins, sand dunes and a picnic all set up in adavance of you getting there. Only downside would be the overall standard of the cuisine which was perhpas not to the standard you would expect. Overall a once in a lifetime experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EBlack22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

We have stayed 5 nights in this beautiful hotel and found it to be one of our best vacations. The island itself with its white beaches and turquoise water is breathtaking. The service is superb and skewed toward one thing- to make your stay easier, more comfortable and enjoyable. The excursions: island drive, island hob and Shala island were the best and one should not miss them: Snorkling, Dune climbing, picnic on the white beach with delicious wines and sea food are part of the fun.
Each villa is well equiped, has full privacy and is by the beach. We enjoyed dinners on the beach, in the wine cellar and also the dining room, with great food...
We will come back!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nonush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colette A, Manager at Azura Benguerra Island, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Nonush

Thank you so much for this great review and for the activity recommendations for our future guests.
One of the best compliments you could pay us is to return to our shores. We love welcoming guests back! Next time we could take you for a picnic and snorkel excursion to gorgeous Paradise Island – I know you will enjoy this little gem of an island.
See you soon!

Kind Regards
Colette Adams
Azura Retreat
Benguerra Island
Province Inhambane
Mozambique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

We have spent 5 days at Azura Retreats with 3 families and our 5 kids.
One of the best holidays we have ever had. Our kids loved every moment of it. The helicopter flight, the excursions on the Island where we saw turtles and the village, the sunset boat trips and fishing and swimming or snorkelling near deserted wonderful small Islands. The wonderful villas on the beach a from where you can watch the Dolphins passing by in the morning A real Paradise , hard to find a destination like this anywere in the world.
We were taken care of by Lino and his staff who served us fantastic fresh food and took care of all our wishes in a lovely way.
We strongly recommend Azura retreats and would love to come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colette A, Manager at Azura Benguerra Island, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Azura Benguerra.

The island is a delight for children of all ages indeed! We are glad that you enjoyed precious family time with us.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future for more fun with your children or perhaps a romantic getaway next time.

Warm Regards

Colette Adams
Operations Manager
Benguerra Island
Bazaruto Archipelago
Mozambique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

My wife and I spent a few days at Azura Benguerra towards the end of our honeymoon and loved it. Benguerra is a lush tropical island and Azura is located on a beautiful beach. Our room was fantastic - very spacious and comfortable and beautifully appointed. We loved all the activities we did: the massages were excellent, the island drive really interesting, the dhow sunset cruise beautiful and the island-hop (which consisted of guided snorkelling, climbing a sand dune and then a picnic on the nothern tip of the island at a remote beach) was amazing.
However, what really sets Azura apart is the service. Everyone was extremly polite and helpful and especially Castro, our butler-host, made our stay truly special with his attention to detail, creativity, abundant good humour and a genuine desire to make every day even better than the previous.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank andreaki200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colette A, Manager at Azura Benguerra Island, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Greetings from the white sandy beaches of Benguerra Island

Thank you for your time and for this lovely review.

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope that the memories of your honeymoon will be something that you think about with a smile for years to come.

Castro sends you a big friendly hello!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future - 5 year anniversary perhaps?

All the best,

Colette Adams
Operations Manager
Azura Benguerra
Bazaruto Archipelago
Mozambique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

The fabulous location, serenity and service make Azura incredibly special. It's a soothing place. The sea and stars surround you. We also headed out in a boat to see the reef and had the world's best picnic on a beach. All the staff are helpful and made every interaction a joy. We also really enjoyed visiting the school and soccer Azura supports on the island to promote the island community. We left utterly relaxed, awaiting a chance to return and feeling a good sense of connection to a most incredible part of Mozambique.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil_holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colette A, Manager at Azura Benguerra Island, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Sunny Greetings from Mozambique

Thank you for taking the time to review Azura Benguerra.

It’s wonderful that you enjoyed and experienced the magic of this beautiful island as much as we do.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our white sandy beaches in the near future or perhaps to gorgeous Quilalea Private Island.

Until we meet again!

Kind Regards

Colette Adams
Operations Manager
Azura Benguerra Island
Bazaruto Archipelago
Mozambique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New york
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

We began our honeymoon at azura and couldn't have asked for a better experience. From the moment we exited the helicopter which brought us to the island, we were greeted by the most helpful, attentive, and genuinely happy staff. The service, food, and resort accommodations were top class. The island hop tour is a must as you will dine on a private island, snorkel where you will see the most colorful fish and coral reef, and climb the most beautiful sand dunes. The local villagers who live on the island are some of the happiest people we have met in the world always smiling and saying hello. All of the staff from managers like faizel, jayson, and collette to our hosts Paulino and proper to Paulo who drove the boat and Barbara the massage therapist were the nicest individuals and a main contributor to the joy we had on the island. We would highly recommend this resort to anybody looking to relax and be pampered.
Stephen and Julie fox

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sfoxny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colette A, Manager at Azura Benguerra Island, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Dear Julie and Stephen

Thank you for your review and your kind words.

Enjoy the rest of your honeymoon in Southern Africa. We trust you will have many beautiful memories to take home with you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our properties in the near future!

Sunny Island Regards

Colette Adams
Operations Manager
Azura Benguerra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benguerra Island
11.3 mi away
Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts
19.3 mi away
Dugong Beach Lodge
Dugong Beach Lodge
#4 of 7 in Vilanculos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
11.1 mi away
Casa Cabana Beach
Casa Cabana Beach
#2 of 7 in Vilanculos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Pestana Bazaruto Lodge
Pestana Bazaruto Lodge
#2 of 2 in Bazaruto Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
11.1 mi away
Hotel Dona Ana
Hotel Dona Ana
#3 of 7 in Vilanculos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
9.2 mi away
Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort
Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Bazaruto Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azura Benguerra Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azura Benguerra Island

Property: Azura Benguerra Island
Address: Benguerra Island | Bazaruto Archipelago, Inhambane Province 1304, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Bazaruto Archipelago > Benguerra Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Benguerra Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Azura Benguerra Island 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Azura Benguerra, was built entirely by hand in partnership with the local community, it has just 20 villas, each sporting a personal infinity swimming pool, and spectacular beachside location, Azura offers an enchanting seaside escape. Spend sun-drenched days fishing, snorkelling or diving in protected reefs; watch the migrating whales and dolphins that ply these waters. Or relax on the beach and indulge in African spa treatments while a Mozambican Butler-host looks after your every need. The island's local people make for fascinating cultural encounters, and the starry night sky is magnificent to behold. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Azura Benguerra Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azura Hotel Benguerra Island
Azura Benguerra Island Mozambique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing