We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Horizon Baobab
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Mbour
Certificate of Excellence
Paris
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel on the beach”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I was there for a vacation and i really loved this place. You can stay there and dont need to even go out. The food is good, the staff is friendly and there is a lot of entertainment going on. i would definitely go there if i travel again to senegal

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    197
    35
    11
    11
See reviews for
141
206
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Positives:
A lovely setting, with very solicitious, friendly staff and delicious, plentiful food. Beautiful, well-tended gardens. The beach frontage is kept clean and free of vendors, unlike other hotels along the coast. There is a relatively quiet swimming pool, bar and beach restaurant, away from the main pool and restaurant area. Thank goodness for that (see below)! At night, it is very quiet on site (the bars close at 23.00hrs) and the sound insulation in the rooms is very effective. Air conditioning is good and the rooms and possibly the entire site seem to be treated for insects. We did not see any mosquitoes there, nor any other insects apart from one that was turning circles on the terrace and the occasional fly on the beach.
The nature reserve behind the hotel is home to many species of sea and estuarine birds, as well as a jackal (spotted just once) and many rare and not-so-rare smaller birds in the scrubland and neighbouring gardens. From the beach beside the hotel, it was possible to watch ospreys, pink-backed pelicans and long-tailed cormorants fishing - that kept us occupied for hours, although this is a public beach you do have to cope with local people trying to sell you boat rides, souvenirs etc. There were not many birds on site, except the large colony of yellow-billed kites living in the hotel's trees and a few sparrows. Might be related to the insecticide.
It's important to take trips out of the hotel, in order to see more of the country. Just one word of caution - don't expect 'Le Lac Rose' to be pink - it's only pink for a short period during heavy rain and you don't want to go to Senegal in the rainy season. We recommend at least seeing the fishing port at Kayar and a boat-trip through the mangroves (for birdlife).
'Comme ci, comme ca' or 'iffy':
The hotel and surrounding area is really only appreciated if you speak French - hardly anybody speaks English on site, as far as we could tell, and very few English people go to Senegal, full stop. Fortunately, we could get by in French so were able to drive a bargain in the local village and in the markets and we could make our wishes known in the hotel itself.
The hotel manager is very helpful, and this is reflected in the entire staff..... except.....
There are two Hoby 15 catamarans, but you can only take them out if one of the staff (a 'moniteur' or monitor) comes too. This weighs the cat' down, making it difficult to get up to speed, three-up. When you get out on the sea, however, you can appreciate why he has to come along, because there are fishing nets and pots laid out just offshore and these are often invisible until you get to them. Unfortunately, the man who normally accompanies you is not only pretty heavy but also decidedly grumpy and he really spoils the experience. He doesn't appear to enjoy sailing. It put us off going out more than a couple of times, whereas we had planned to sail most days. Indeed, not many people used the cats or any other water sports equipment, and this surely was no coincidence. Although there was no safety boat, the bouyancy aids were in good order, and the cats themselves were not too bad (sheets a bit worn).
Negatives:
We stayed there outside school holidays - just a few young children, so it should have been quiet. But no! The 'equipe d'aminations' (entertainments team) were young people who shouted down the microphone, encouraging people (in French, of course) to do loud quizzes, stupid dances with actions, enjoy their food (while we were trying to sit peacefully and eat it). At the start, it was just laughable and a bit irritating, but after a week, it became very annoying and spoilt our time at the hotel. Sometimes, you could hear them shouting down the microphone from the very far end of the hotel grounds, particularly when there was a new influx of French visitors. It simply isn't necessary to wind people up into a frenzy the entire time, expecially at meal-times. Why not play some relaxing music while we enjoy our meal? They urgently need to do something about this.
In summary:
If they do something about the grumpy sailing 'moniteur' and the loud 'equipe d'animations', they will have a fantastic hotel. As it was, we were pleased to be leaving after two weeks and would have been happy to have come home earlier.

Room Tip: If you ask for a twin room, you will get one in the two- or three-storey block so you may get the pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This resort is wonderful, beautiful gardens, and amazing beach and very nice swimming pools (perhaps a bit cold) and an excellent restaurant. Perfect for this kind of holiday, just a few hours flight from Europe.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morrisback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This hotel is great. Beautiful gardens, excellent accommodation. The hotel staff is very friendly, but speak mostly French. Excellent cuisine - French rather than Senegalese or African. This is really not lose weight - desserts are just great. The beach in front of the net, but the Atlantic is colder and the waves are a little water.

Directly next to the hotel is a beautiful lagoon with flocks of water birds. It is definitely worth a visit. Boating is 10 € for about 1.5 hours. The hotel has several tours - Dakar, Bandia, Mbour, Pink Lake, the last stage of the Paris-Dakar Rally ... With local guides but you travel cheaply. We traveled with the "Magnific" - we saved about 30%.

In winter there is a lovely holiday, would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: New bungalows near the large pool is spacious and quiet. We had 39 to 16 and we were very satisfied
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The hotel was everything that you would want for all inclusive, fabulous food, good wine, excellent service and rooms were more than adequate.
However this is a French resort and very little English is spoken, we were for 10 days the only English couple on site not a problem for us but some may find this difficult.
Lack of umbrellas around the pool could be problem if you like to sit in shade, we found ourselves putting towels on sun beds first thing in the morning to ensure some shade, however there was always someone earlier than us!!
Although visa are not required until May 1st 2014, we did have a problem at passport control at Dakar, so it is worth getting visas to avoid arguments.
Be prepared for delays and total mayhem at Dakar as they are not geared up for the amount of people travelling from there.
Saying all this we had a brilliant holiday in a fabulous location.

Room Tip: Go for sea views or beach room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hradec Kralove, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
93 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Something is overpriced, but if You have all inclusive, You are in the good served world of french services. With a ground of french language You can here to be very satisfied with all. Good place for trips to Dakar, Mbour, Bandia Reserve or other destinations in Senegal. Friendly people and now, they start slowly speak english and czech, because from time to time are many Czech guests here and they need own specially services (private trips!).
Visit in this resort with very nice sunsets over Atlantic ocean and with long drink in the hand is good experience from visit of "black" Africa!

Room Tip: Better is to choose the room between other bungalows or on higher place - mosquitos never sleeps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
188 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Little bit overpriced, that's I think it as average. Fine, various and tasty food. Friendly, but slowly working, staff, especially in the bars. Sometimes during the day lack of tap water. Diet Coke not included in all inclusive, wth?? Nice gardens, clean beach, boring animations (for non-french people). But I recomend it for great nature, good people, nice beaches. Yaeh, front desk, sometimes close to terrible.

Room Tip: Ask for suitas for maximum comfort or, for quiet, but little bit far, rooms close to quiet pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank izret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mbour
6.5 mi away
Hotel Neptune
Hotel Neptune
#2 of 24 in Mbour
569 reviews
6.5 mi away
Royam Hotel
Royam Hotel
#4 of 24 in Mbour
433 reviews
5.8 mi away
Le Saly Hotel
Le Saly Hotel
#9 of 24 in Mbour
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hotel Keparanga
Hotel Keparanga
#10 of 24 in Mbour
80 reviews
12.7 mi away
Le Warang Hotel
Le Warang Hotel
#18 of 24 in Mbour
93 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Coeur Senegal
Hotel Coeur Senegal
#2 of 4 in Somone
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Horizon Baobab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Horizon Baobab

Property: Royal Horizon Baobab
Address: Village De La Somone Bp 81, Mbour, Senegal (Formerly Royal Decameron Baobab)
Region: Senegal > Thies Region > La Petite Cote > Mbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mbour
#1 Spa Hotel in Mbour
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mbour
#2 Family Hotel in Mbour
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Horizon Baobab 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Horizon Baobab reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Baobab Hotel Saly
Royal Horizon Baobab Senegal/Mbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing