We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cerf Revisited”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cerf Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cerf Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cerf Island
Kent UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Cerf Revisited”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

My wife and I went to Cerf in 2007 and enjoyed it so much that we promised ourselves a revisit, and this we have just completed. You always worry that a return will not live up to the first visit, but we need not have been concerned, it was wonderful. Since our previous visit 12 new lodges have been added and the original 12 refurbished, and they are excellent, spacious, well laid out, comfortable and we especially love the outdoor bathroom with the large jacuzzi bath. The lodges are set in tropical forest and the views from the spacious well furnished veranda were terrific. There is now a wonderful new pool, extended beach area and the new restaurant and seating area done to a very high standard. Service was very good, staff friendly and the food well cooked and presented. A truly relaxing chill-out experience, highly recommended.
We now look forward to a third visit!

Room Tip: Try to book Orkid with its sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanillaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGiorgio S, Directeur général at Cerf Island Resort, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Dear Vanillaman,

Thank you for your kind review following your second visit at Cerf Island Resort.

We are very happy you have enjoyed the new resort's facilities and thank you for describing them so well to your fellow travellers.

Your review was shared with my team and they were well pleased to hear all the compliments you have made regarding the resort, the food and the service.

We are looking to welcoming you soon for your third visit!

Best regards,
P.Secchi, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    77
    25
    26
    19
See reviews for
27
238
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Seychelles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

We had stayed at the resort for 2 Days,it was so very dissapointed.First at the arrival at the jetty the girl was so nice,but overall not enough information on the hotel & the guy was in a hurry of explaining everything cause he had to take the boat.The room was quite dissapointing the bathroom was dirty with leaves all around the place and there was dust everywhere on the furniture.Should be better to refresh the room before giving it to a guest.Restaurant Service was a bit slow & the quality of the food during dinner was very poor & on our table there was no salt & pepper to use in our food to bring it to our taste.The starter was cold & the salad did not have any dressing.For breakfast the service was very poor no welcoming & We had mixed up with our order,we ask for hot chocolate instead they gave us cold one.The day on our departure nobody came to pick up our Luggage to the reception & to the boat so we had to carry it all the way down by ourselves.Overall the stay was very unplesant.A little words of advice I think that the staff should be more attentive to tiny details if you want the resort to be a prospect one in the future

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nathalie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGiorgio S, Directeur général at Cerf Island Resort, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Dear Nathalie,

Thank you for your review.
As we pride ourselves in meeting and exceeding our guests' expectations, I was both surprised and disappointed to read that you were not completely satisfied with your hotel stay.

The quality of our cuisine, service, accommodation and environment are generally praised by our guests; I note your comments and have shared them with the senior team to identify where we might be able to improve. I can guarantee you that your experience does not reflect our usual high standards and personalised service we provide and I can only apologise for the shortfall in service you have experienced.

Once again, thank you for your review and I hope your experience does not prevent you from visiting us in the near future at Cerf Island Resort.

Kind regards,
P.Secchi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Seychelles
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

If you are planning to come to Seychelles having a Day visit with cerf Island resort is a must :) . A nice package for a very reasonable price, can say the best offer around, a 10-15 mins boat ride (up n down)+ welcome drink+ free net + 3 course lunch+ pool+ any water sport equipment(kayak+couple paddlers) for 500-650 SCR = 50$ +-... And the food was extremely super... This is a nice marketing plan by them, but don't think its more published. As Tips i would suggest to bring snorkeling equipment and go on a kayak to far end.. had a visit to the helii pad as well, and could see from there the other islands Round Island, St.Anne Island and Long Island. suggestive to go on a less tide day for good snorkeling experience.. found three or four star fish around...

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prabhath W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

stayed for 9 days on Cerf Island and can recommend it for people who are short on time and do not like long transfers in their vacations. The hotel is a romantic hideway with beautiful rooms, featuring a large terrace and a outdoor bathroom. The food is excellent and this is one of the only places on the Seychelles where you get real value for money. The beach is unfortunatly rather small but the hotel has free kayaks and paddle boats to reach the beaches on the other side of the island (and those are very pretty). Good and unusual thing is the fact that you can jump into town whenever you like by hotel shuttle boat, so you wont feel deserted at any time.

Room Tip: book the sea view room with terrace instead of the garden...you will enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Michaela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

We arrived for our honeymoon to find their were renovating the place. They tried to put us into a "suite" one level below what we booked right next to where the renovations were taking place. It was extremely messy and a sight for sore eyes. The service is extermelylack luster and the food is quite bland. After some arguments they did move us into another "suite" away from the noise but it was not what we booked and anticipated. After much nagging they also refunded some of our fees - but this is not the point, it was our honeymoon! This place is in it for themselves - they are not out to create a good experience. Rather pick one of the other places in Seychelles. (It is in a lovely location - just a pity of their apporach to clients.)

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KHinSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMondon, General Manager at Cerf Island Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Dear KHinSA,

May I take this opportunity to thank you for yr recent review and we are indeed extremely sorry that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. It cannot be denied that we were operating at high occupancy levels and that the construction works were ongoing. Despite our endeavours to relocate you to another villa together with the 30% rate discount on offer it is obvious that your vacation plans were already spoiled and this is indeed most regretful. We feel that the comments regarding the food and service delivery are not fully justified as we have received nothing but praise from 95% of all our guests both during this difficult period and to date, recently receiving a Certificate of Excellence from Tripadvisor in May 2011. All recent tripadvisor comments clearly highlight this fact and this is a testament to our overall service ethic and attention to customer needs. Once again I would like to convey our sincere apologies, it is not only very unfortunate but also very difficult to provide optimum comfort levels while at the same time renovating the property. We regret any inconvenience this may have caused you and look forward to an opportunity to welcome you once again to our shores.With kind regards,
Francis K H Mondon MIH - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luzern
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2011

Quiet yet very cosy resort with just 12 bungalows (soon +12) : No cars on Cerf Island. Most of the guests friendly, no glitzy people. Under new management: Very helpful and friendly staff. Very nice and spacious bungalows (one with a perfect sea-view). Rooms service: Perfect, with cleaning/ towel change also in the evening etc.. No insects in the interior (very few outside) Very clean.
Resort's beach is small but right next to the resort beautiful beaches along the whole island which can be reached on foot or with the resort's own kayaks or pedalos.
Not as many corals and fish as Maldives though.
Food was excellent: Always choice of 3 main courses; "amuse-bouche", various starters and dessert included. Good breakfast choice.
Money/value very good for Seychelles. Spa treatments quite expensive though

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Airman49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2011

We have been at cerf island resort for our honey moon. The service has been awful, the personnel was completly uninterested in our good stay, creating a cold air. The only positive note is about the habitations, simply beautifull...unfortunately you have to climb a hill to reach them!!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ricciolo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cerf Island
5.0 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
4.5 mi away
AVANI Seychelles Barbarons Resort & Spa
19.9 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Labriz Resort & Spa
Hilton Seychelles Labriz Resort ...
#1 of 1 in Silhouette Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Constance Ephelia
Constance Ephelia
#6 of 36 in Mahe Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,289 reviews
4.4 mi away
Savoy Resort & Spa
Savoy Resort & Spa
#2 of 7 in Beau Vallon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
6.0 mi away
MAIA Luxury Resort & Spa
MAIA Luxury Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Anse Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cerf Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerf Island Resort

Property: Cerf Island Resort
Address: PO Box 1071, Mahe, Cerf Island, Seychelles (Formerly Cerf Island Marine Park Resort)
Region: Seychelles > Cerf Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cerf Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cerf Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the entrance of the Sainte Anne National Marine Park, The Cerf Island Resort offers 24 intimate and luxurious villas, within a naturally elegant settings which is exclusive to this boutique hotel resort.. The resort boasts of fine dining restaurant, two infinity swimming pools, pool bars and beach side dining, secluded full service beach, relaxing lounges,Tennis court, helipad and luxurious nature spa - thus offering a truly authentic and sumptuous Creole experience. The alluring emptiness of the white sand beaches offer a personal oasis in nature's tropical playground. Relax and listen to the sound of the breeze in the trees and the gentle waves on the beach as you sip cocktails at the Bar. The infinity edge Pool and Lounge, offer the perfect relaxation. The marine park waters around the Island are a diving dreamland of abundant tropical sea-life. Watersports provide the intrepid with the ideal way to explore the island. Stroll amongst tropical vegetation to the marine reserve viewpoint to experience the benign mix of flora and fauna. Cerf Island Resort is the location for a truly memorable holiday in one of the most pristine natural environments on the planet... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cerf Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerf Island Hotel Cerf Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing