We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Resort - Honeymooners”
Review of Cerf Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cerf Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cerf Island
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Resort - Honeymooners”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We enjoyed our honeymoon on this lovely resort. The staff are great and the service levels and response to any issue outstanding! We stayed in Friya Passon. Passion Flower the highest Villa next to the Helli Pad and when we were first taken up to it thought there is no way we can walk this day in day out!. Down was fine but up... we did it once...But the golf buggies are available anytime and we were taken up to our villa each time without a problem and got taken down when my wife wanted to wear heals for dinner! The Villa is beautiful and massive and the spa bath amazing and outdoor shower such a treat shower in the rain unique!
The resort is beautiful the view from our villa outstading and it was quite private and much better than having a villa with a garden (no point) the restaurant and food is of excellent quality and varied. Chef is superb. We put on 10lbs in a week! Service sometimes a little slow but that does not matter as no rush. But not when Jessy or Jullieta are on they were absolutely first class and attentive and so socialible and sometimes too quick!!
Julie is also a star and sorted a few issues we had very professionally and effectively. Management team we couldnt speak more highly of and big thank you to Giorgio to
Trips to Moyenne and Mahe worthwhile, Take a pedallo out and explore the island lovely little beaches. Hire a car on the mainland (50 euro per day) via creolle travel and explore its a gem of an island so much to see take a whole day and tour. West coast particularly and the drive, views and beaches totally breathtaking. Only 8 - 10 people at the resort when we were there so more staff than residents so very quiet and ideal for us and honeymooning, Snorkelling a little dissapointing expected it to be clearer and more colourful but sun was not out properly and cloudy on a number of days, best fish and baby squid seen by the jetty. Overhaul you pay a lot to be here but you do get a wonderful resort and are very well looked after, great location, top quality food and service. Many thanks - If only we could do it all again tomorrow!!

Room Tip: Have a balcony room and not a garden room and the higher the better if you have a hillside villa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob1832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGiorgio S, General Manager at Cerf Island Resort, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Dear Rob 1832,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
We are glad you have enjoyed your holiday in the Seychelles and your stay at Cerf Island Resort.
You positive comments have been shared with the rest of the Team and everybody is happy that they had the change to contribute in making your holiday unforgettable.
We wish you many more happy holiday and we hope we will have the chance to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely

Piergiorgio Secchi
General Manager
Cerf Island Resort
Seychelles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    77
    26
    26
    19
See reviews for
27
242
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

My partner, our eight year old son and I stayed at Cerf for 5 nights in July. We had a truly amazing stay. Our villa was Bwa Nwanr, the Tortoise villa, which composed of two rooms with a bathroom in each, one of them had a jacuzzi in it. All the rooms and bathrooms were tastefully decorated.
The hotel itself had all you could wish for - two swimming pools, a beautiful beach, a restaurant and a bar area by reception which was our favourite area to sit and enjoy a drink after dinner. The food in the restaurant was fantastic.
The hotel is very secluded being on a separate island but at the same time it is only a 10 minute boat ride from Mahe so if you wanted you can explore Mahe and what it's got to offer. There are some very beautiful beaches on Mahe. The new shopping centre on Eden Island was our favourite.
Everyone at the resort was extremely helpful. Special thanks to Sandrine from us who made our stay as smooth as it was.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nad2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGiorgio S, General Manager at Cerf Island Resort, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Dear Nad2202,
On behalf of all the Cerf Island Team I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review and share your positive experience with the rest of the world.
We are very glad you and your family have enjoyed your holiday in Seychelles, your review has been shared with the rest of team and everybody is very grateful, we are very passionate about hospitality and your positive comments are very rewarding.
We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again soon in the meantime we wish you many more happy holidays.
Best regards

Piergiorgio Secchi
General Manager
Cerf Island Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We arrived in the Seychelles first, our luggage some hours later. This had nothing to do with the resort, this was due to our transfer. However the staff at the resort were second to none in keeping us updated, and when our luggage did arrive, it was greeted by staff and 2 grateful guests with near celebrations. The pick up from the airport upon arrival was efficient, the boat ride from Mahe to the Cerf Islands was a great experience, 2 young man ensured safe boarding and disembarking! Once at the resort the staff had already been advised our luggage had been delayed. Sandria escorted us to the reception area that overlooks the Indian Ocean, there she explained the layout of the Resort, times breakfast, lunch, dinner etc. We had the option to be driven by Club Car to the helipad, which we did. I would recommend as you will see a panoramic view of the beautiful picturesque Seychelles. Then we went to our Villa. 4 poster queen size bed. Which looks out on to a veranda, which views the Ocean, and the trees. The bathroom consists of a huge bath, shower and toilet, the bathroom is roofless. There is plenty of clothing space in the big wardrobes and there is a safe, TV, DVD player. There is a small library to borrow DVDs. Voltage is 220v. On the resort is the reception, dinning, 2 pools, beautiful sandy beach. The Villas are placed up the hill. You would need to be fairly fit to walk up, but you can ask for the Club car to take you up and down from your Villa. There are trips you can take to other islands we did the Moyenne Island visit, a British report brought this Island and brought in the giant tortoise which inhabit the Island. Well worth a visit, but you will need to be fit to trek, it's very hilly. Also a boat will take you to the Island there is no dock you have to get off into the Ocean and obviously the same going back, be warned if you have a camera or valuables you won't want to lose them! Food is fabulous, al a carte. My favorite waitress is Juliette, she makes you feel special, shows an interest in how you are enjoying your stay. Beware of the birds, who will want to join you for breakfast! During dinner there is a reprieve (they're asleep!). Due to the Cerf being an island there is a constant breeze which is lovely. Oh the spa massage, wonderful this was complimentary! I personally highly recommend this tranquil and peaceful place to come and recharge, relax and have fun.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OIT Hotels

Helpful?
Thank dwbeulah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGiorgio S, General Manager at Cerf Island Resort, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Member,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
There is nothing worse than arrive at your holiday destination without your beloved luggage, luckily on this occasion the retrieve was quiet fast and you had plenty of time to enjoy your well deserved holiday.
We are glad you have enjoyed your time at the resort as well as your accommodation, your dining experience and all our services and facilities.
Is good you mention the possibility to visit the nearby islands, many visitors prefer to visit only the most famous islands of Praslin and La Digue, which undoubtedly are indeed amazing, but the marine park of St. Anne, with the island of Moyenne and the wonderful lagoon, are capable to offer amazing views and unforgettable emotions.
The hilly resort is the perfect occasion to get fit, after the abundant meals we offer, as well as the canoes and pedal boats, but as you said golf cars are available through out the day, at the end our guest are on holiday and we want them to relax as much as they can.
Overall we are very thank full that you had a good time with us, your positive comments about out resort and Staff have been shared with the rest of the team and everybody is very pleased. We hope we will have the change to welcoming back again soon.

Sincerely
Piergiorgio Secchi
General Manager
Cerf Island Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

What can I say, we dropped on this holiday through Voyage Prive, it is the most peaceful, tranquil, island, just off the main island of Mahe, so with the choice of quiet life on Cerf Island, or more activity on the main island of Mahe, what a fantastic choice, a very short boat ride to this exclusive island, with friendly staff, wonderful food, glorious accommodation, what more can you want out of a relaxing holiday. Scuba diving was sorted for us, through the hotel, and staff knew of this when we arrived, couldn't help us enough, snorkelling and kayaking (free of charge) was fabulous, worth checking out on Internet.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroleAnnek57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGiorgio S, General Manager at Cerf Island Resort, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear CaroleAnnek57,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
We are very glad you have enjoyed your stay at the resort and we are happy you have shared your positive experience with the rest of the travelers.
We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome here again soon in the meantime we wish many more happy holiday in the future.

Kind regards
Piergiorgio Secchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

From start to finish our holiday was special. Got out of the airport were met by taxi and boat and since we arrive early morning, we were prepared to wait on the beach for our villa to be ready, however due to there being only 6 other guests our villa was prepared early. The villa itself was beautiful (we stayed in the hillside Fler Payanke this is the closest villa to the facilities and perfect if you were like me - pregnant and out of breath the whole time!). The half open bathroom was such a novelty and we had a wonderful view of the sea from our veranda where we lounged, read books and had our tea!
The staff were always happy, proactive and ready to help. We stayed half board so had breakfast and dinner included. Unlike a lot of resorts we've been to, all meals are a la carte but this was perfect as you really could not eat more than the 4 courses at dinner and the ample breakfast of your choice. We had light lunch a couple of times but mainly enjoyed the local fruit platters.
At one point we were the only couple left but the resort pace kept going and the staff made sure we had a romantic dinner by the beach at one point and the other times, the chef came out personally at breakfast to check what food we would like for dinner. All food the chef cooked was brilliantly executed. The best dishes were of course Creole and we asked for the seafood and fish options when possible.
The half board doesn't include drinks, but we found it was hot and humid, so mainly drank water. The water at the hotel is bottled and sold, but prices are not too bad. Generally you will find that the whole of the Seychelles treats water as a precious resource so even in supermarkets, be prepared to pay a couple of pounds for a 1 ltr bottle.
We split the time between staying on the beach, at the infinity pool (either of the two is wonderful), kayaking around the island (this is great for all ages as the waters around the Marine Park are all shallow), did some snorkelling and took the resort transfer across to the Mahe island a few days in a row. We hired a small car and literally criss-crossed the island seeing a bit each day. If you get itchy feet like us, doing this is a great option.
The managers were fab also. They came and talked to us and basically treated us like one of the family, gave advice and generally were on hand if we had questions. They even wrote a lovely personalised letter at the end to thank us for our stay and saw us off all the way to our return boat at the jetty.
No kids under 7 allowed, so it was a beautiful place to roam around, be surrounded by nature and the odd tropical rain storm, get to know your friendly resident gekko and generally breathe in fresh air!

Room Tip: If your fitness levels are low, then request for a lower villa as the ones towards the top require w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sabsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGiorgio S, General Manager at Cerf Island Resort, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear sabsUK,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
We are happy you enjoyed your stay at Cerf Island Resort, your compliments have been shared with the rest of the Team, it has been a pleasure having you with us during your holiday in the Seychelles.
We hope we will have the chance to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards

Piergiorgio & Sandrine
Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands, England
Level Contributor
246 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We found a good value holiday to Cerf Island and thought we would give it a try. We flew with Qatar airways, pretty good, on time, no real stop over time, less than one hour. Our package was to include a taxi transfer and boat transfer supplied by the hotel, unfortunately ater travelling for 20 hours the taxi was nowhere to be found. So a rep from Creole Travel pursuaded one of their taxi drivers to take us the 10 minutes journey to Eden Marina. He was not best pleased, and drove like a maniac, which was not a great start to holidaying in Seychelles. The boat transfer was painless, on a 9 metre boat for 10 minutes. The greeting was a little subdued, and the check in took 35 minutes which was ridiculous as we were the only people checking in and they knew we were coming!
The resort is very peaceful, no cars but golf carts to transport you about if required. It is a very steep resort, so you would need to be mobile.
The villa of which there are 24, was large and airy with a 30 ft balcony - this was fantastic. We were in a hillside and a perfect position. You could see the sea through the trees, no one over looked us,(which can't be said for them all.) an oudoor shower, hich was wonderful and as the resort was extremely quiet the whole 11 days we were there, just perfect for relaxing.
The food was not as good as we had expected (see previous reviews on TA) which considering the largest number of people in the resort at any time was 12, really should have been much better. The chefs occasionally came out to talk to you and on the last 2 mornings (there were 4 guests) we could almost choose our menu, which was good.
The sea is shallow for quite a distance from the larger of the two beaches and we saw eagle rays every day. They enjoy leaping out of the water, which was fantastic to see. The two infinity pools were nice but very small, so no serious swimming there.
The staff are what make this establishment - they are pleasant, helpful and almost without exception smiling.
The mossies on the beach late afternoon, and on the balcony were a pest, the hotel supplied citronella candles but this didn't really deter them. The bed has a mosquito net but this does have holes to thread over the posts of the bed, so not really too effective.
The newish managers (a couple we think) are very good, approachable and friendly. They really could do with using this quiet time to train their staff a little more and also apply a little TLC to some of the areas around the lobby etc. Staff were sanding down and re-staining the decking around the larger of the two pools on our last two days, which was needed, but was a little noisy.
We popped into Mahe using the hotel boat - (there is a charge if you use it when the staff do or on your own, except for 830am and 430pm) one day, it was very hot, noisy and worth a couple of hours visit but really no longer. The market is an eye opener, UK environmental health officers would have a fit!
Part of our package was an evening on the beach with dinner - this was delayed a number of nights due to the weather, but was worth the wait. Delightful, the stars were out, the beach had been cleared and set up with candles, citronellas, a fire was lit and the table laid - lovely!
After contacting our travel agent, the return trip was faultless, even if it was 5.30am!
The weather was lovely, some rain, usually over night, a little cloudy but when the sun was out it was very hot, so be warned.
Wifi would be appreciated, free of charge in the rooms, not just in reception - a number of guests complained about this.
There was a very young russian couple, who married on the larger beach. The detail that went into this ceremony was lovely, if a little sad that they were on their own, no family or friends. They invited us down to the beach to share in the cake, which was a lovely touch. They looked extremely pleased with how it all went.
We have returned to chilly, snowy UK but have overall enjoyed our first visit to Seychelles.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cftjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGiorgio S, General Manager at Cerf Island Resort, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear cftjw,

Thank you for your nice review and for taking the time to share your positive experience with the other travellers.
We are glad that you have enjoyed your time at the resort and we hope you will have good memories of the Seychelles for many years to come.
We have well noted your comments and let me assure you that we are constantly working in order to improve our services and facilities, all our guests comments are very valuable and useful for us and your suggestion have already been taken on board.
If I may, I would like to clarify a couple of points you mentioned on your post.
The land airport transfer to the jetty was not organized simply because, unlike the boat transfer which is compulsory, it needs to be requested at the time of booking, and this was not done by your travel agent.
Check in time is 2pm and the procedure itself takes no more than 10 minutes, we are happy we have managed to provide you with a free early check in only 35 minutes after you reached the hotel.
We take this opportunity to thank you once again for choosing to spend your holiday at Cerf Island and we hope we will have the chance to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards
Piergiorgio Secchi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seychelles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

I was gifted 3 days honeymoon at cerf after 3 days on silhouette. I am myself a local. Cerf Resort was a quiet place, excellent if you are after a stress free holiday. The staff mostly seychellois were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Our villa was clean and lovely, food was quite delicious. Their common pool was clean, beach area also clean i believe daily. They offer free snorkelling equipments and kayak...We particularly enjoyed the jacuzzi in the bathroom after a day in the sun. Two ladies at the spa did a lovely massage for us. we took the honeymoon package. next day we went for a 30 mins neck/shoulder and back massage. unfortunately couldnt do it at same time cause it seemed they had only one therapist from then on. that will be a disadvantage if couple wants to take massage together...but from a business point of view i understand why...but nevertheless after leaving that 30 min massage we both felt really rejuvenated and stress free.good spa therapist!

only sad thing for me, was i lost my watch gifted to me by my husband. I remember leaving removing and left it in the room on the first day, and didnt touch it after...but we changed room due to aircon issues, and completely forgot about it till 2 days later..sadly it wasnt found.. But i wont go around blaming, i should have been more careful...

BUT WE LOVED CERF AND HIGHLY RECOMMENDED IT. WE WILL DEFINITELY GO THERE AGAIN!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonjour2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGiorgio S, General Manager at Cerf Island Resort, responded to this review, 6 December 2012
Dear bonjour2004,
We thank you for your kind review and we are very happy you have enjoyed your gifted 3 days honeymoon at Cerf Island Resort.
I am sure that your arrival at the resort by helicopter added a special touch to your stay as well as the private romantic sunset cruise and the dinner on the beach.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards
Piergiorgio Secchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cerf Island
5.0 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
4.5 mi away
AVANI Seychelles Barbarons Resort & Spa
19.9 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Labriz Resort & Spa
Hilton Seychelles Labriz Resort ...
#1 of 1 in Silhouette Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Constance Ephelia
Constance Ephelia
#7 of 35 in Mahe Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,334 reviews
4.4 mi away
Savoy Resort & Spa
Savoy Resort & Spa
#2 of 7 in Beau Vallon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
6.0 mi away
MAIA Luxury Resort & Spa
MAIA Luxury Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Anse Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cerf Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerf Island Resort

Property: Cerf Island Resort
Address: PO Box 1071, Mahe, Cerf Island, Seychelles (Formerly Cerf Island Marine Park Resort)
Region: Seychelles > Cerf Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cerf Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cerf Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the entrance of the Sainte Anne National Marine Park, The Cerf Island Resort offers 24 intimate and luxurious villas, within a naturally elegant settings which is exclusive to this boutique hotel resort.. The resort boasts of fine dining restaurant, two infinity swimming pools, pool bars and beach side dining, secluded full service beach, relaxing lounges,Tennis court, helipad and luxurious nature spa - thus offering a truly authentic and sumptuous Creole experience. The alluring emptiness of the white sand beaches offer a personal oasis in nature's tropical playground. Relax and listen to the sound of the breeze in the trees and the gentle waves on the beach as you sip cocktails at the Bar. The infinity edge Pool and Lounge, offer the perfect relaxation. The marine park waters around the Island are a diving dreamland of abundant tropical sea-life. Watersports provide the intrepid with the ideal way to explore the island. Stroll amongst tropical vegetation to the marine reserve viewpoint to experience the benign mix of flora and fauna. Cerf Island Resort is the location for a truly memorable holiday in one of the most pristine natural environments on the planet... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cerf Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerf Island Hotel Cerf Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing