We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Seychelles
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Baie Lazare
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Honeymoon!”
Reviewed 28 June 2012

The Four Seasons on Mahe Island exceeded all our expectations. The location is stunning, the views absolutely amazing, the accommodations couldn't have been more lovely. We were so impressed with the service and general experience at the resort. I have to admit I was a bit stressed out after planning a wedding for nearly a year and so when we arrived to our villa and saw that it was a little too close to our neighbors for comfort I called the front desk and they kindly responded to my request to move to a more private villa the next morning. When we arrived at that 2nd villa and were relaxing by the pool I panicked when I heard some rather loud construction noises coming from a villa below us. Not wanting to make another complaint but desperately needing complete silence and relaxation I called a 2nd time to the front desk to ask about the noise and they responded by stopping the construction all together for the remaining 4 days we were there! Pretty amazing. All the staff in general were wonderful, we had a private dinner one night on the beach and we got to talking to our server about local cuisine and having grown up there had a lot to share. The next day he delivered several hand-written recipes for local Seychellois cuisine for us to take home! Just an example of how everyone at the resort really goes out of their way to make for a wonderful experience. We had debated about staying here or the Banyan Tree and after a boat trip around the island we were 100% sure we’d made the right choice as the beach is truly the most beautiful. Can’t recommend it highly enough!

Room Tip: The hilltop villas are a bit further from the beach/restaurant but a lot more private. The views are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex_Porteous, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Seychelles, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Natalie M,

Thank you so much for leaving your feedback on TripAdvisor. I'm sorry to see that you weren't quite happy with the location of the villa to begin with, but I'm glad to see that the Front Office team did such a great job in finding a great solution.

I hope you have been trying lots of the Creole recipes at home after receiving your recipe cards!

Thank you for the lovely recommendation. We'd love to welcome you back to the Resort in the future so you can enjoy the beach again. Perhaps for a second honeymoon! I'm so pleased that we were able to create some lovely memories for you on your most treasured vacation.

With warm personal regards,
Alex Porteous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    824
    139
    39
    14
    13
See reviews for
242
616
18
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

It has taken me a while to get around to writing this review of the Four seasons Seychelles but it was such a stunning property that made such an impression that i can therefore remember it like we were there yesterday.

The hotel is a good 30 minute drive from the airport. You can either take a local taxi or one of the resorts BMW's. There is a large price difference and i although the drivers of the resort cars are considerate and you get water and welcome amenities etc i think the local taxis offer better value for money if you don't care about what you get. As it was we took the resorts BMW in both directions and enjoyed the experience. Our driver gave us so much information about the island that it was like having our own guide!

Arriving in the resort is initially not particularly impressive as you are on a little road totally overhanging with jungle vegetation and you can't really see anything, therefore when you get out of the car at the reception and walk through to the desk the view is really breathtaking. They have done the right thing and moved the welcome reception to there instead of keeping it up at the welcome lodge. From reception you are able to get a perspective on where everythng is as the resort is spread out around the bay and up/down the hill around you. From there you are then whisked to your villa by buggy.

The villas are all incredible. The garden villas are closest to the beach,restaurants and pool areas as they are at the bottom of the hillside. They have no view and are surrounded by jungle vegetation. The interiors though, size and facilities are exactly the same as the others. The ocean villas are slightly higher up and afford you wonderful ocean views. we stayed in one of these and would definitely choose one of those again. some are more private than others. the hilltop villas are at the top of the hillside and have totally stunning views over all of the resort below and out to the ocean. if you want total privacy i would choose these. there are also enormous residences for those travelling with big families or in groups. they are based upon the same design idea as the villlas but are just so much larger.

The spa is at the top of the resort and is really spacious with a super stylish and natural design. The treatments are excellent - i would definitely recommend the jet lag recovery treatment when you arrive and the sun soother before you depart.

There are 3 restaurants; the sushi bar which served excellent sushi and sashimi and has a special sushi night also; the main restaurant where you go for breakfast with an amazing choice of food and is open for dinner. they host special evenings such as Indian, Asian,Italian etc. Kanel down by the pool does pool side lunches and delicious creole/asian/african dinners. This had a real beach/pool vibe and we spent alot of time eating down there. The food and beverages are expensive as you would expect in a 5* resort but not unreasonably so (like in the Maldives for example!).

The beach is stunning and safe to swim in most of the time. There are loads of non motorised water sport activities available and a great beach team to help you out. We had quite rough sea conditions when we were there but that made the boogie and body boarding great fun! Not so great for little kids though when it is like that as it gets deep quite quickly and there is a big break. They do have a pool for kids behind the beach by the kids club and the main pool as loads of space for kids too. I can imagine in the school holidays the whole place is teeming with them! it definitely appeared that this was the best resort and beach on Mahe and we drove, swam and cycled the length and breadth of the island.

I would urge everyone to hire a car and get out of the resort. They drive on the left like in the UK. The roads are narrow but the speed limit is slow and parking is easy. You can visit Victoria, the capital, in a couple of hours as it is interesting but there is not loads to see. Definitely take the mountain road to the team plantations and the mission ruins. The scenery up there in the rain forest is amazing.

We loved the Seychelles and the Four Seasons and will definitely return to experience more.

Room Tip: ocean view villas offer the best value for money with fabulous views and a reasonable amount of priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex_Porteous, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Seychelles, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Exosphere01,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. Some really great tips of things to do and see on the island (Victoria, Mission Lodge) and in the resort (body boarding, Jet Lag recovery treatment at the Spa, our Japanese night at ZEZ restaurant). You should come and work with our Concierge!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort very soon.

With warm personal regards,
Alex Porteous
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We spent a week here for our 25th wedding in June. One of the best resorts i have stayed at ever ! The unique location provides you with total Privacy,stunning views and luxurious accomodation. The staff are so polite and they cannot do enough for you that you are treated like royalty. They have some very nice touches like leaving you special food treats in your room each evening. The beach is absolutely stunning and was voted the best in the Seychelles. The water is lovely and warm and there are many water sports you can do. The restaurants are all very good and breakfast location is just stunning. We also had various Spa treatments which were excellent. If you time the Spa treatments at around Sunset time, you will have an incredible view as the Spa is located at the Highest perch of the resort. The Golf Buggies were great fun and they arrive at your room within minutes to take you to wherever you need as you cannot walk there if you are on a villa which is on a higher level. I would highly recommend the Sunset Dinner on the beach and the trip to Praslin and La Digue (although it is a 6am start to catch the ferry!). The resort could do with some evening entertainment but other than that a truely wonderful place.

Room Tip: Although more expensive, go for the Ocean View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dipak_Mistry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex_Porteous, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Seychelles, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Dipak_Mistry,

Thank you for your lovely review. I'm so glad you enjoyed the small touches like the daily local amenities in your room. Great to hear you enjoyed a beach dinner too - such a wonderful experience down on our beautiful beach in the evening.

Thanks also for the feedback about entertainment. We are looking at our evening programme, so will keep this in mind.

I hope you will come back to stay again soon.

With warm personal regards,
Alex Porteous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

I felt like Robinson Crusoe in a luxury setting! The resort is located in what i discovered to be the most beautiful part of Mahe. A secluded cove with the best beach and snorkeling we could find, both on Mahe and Praslin. Tree house setting which made for total privacy and a feeling of connection to the lush rainforest. Everything on the website is real, no exaggeration.

The Four Seasons magic is definitely present. My only slightly negative comment would be that you can't expect the local women working there to apply the same sense of customer service as the expat staff. I've lived in island settings before, and I truly believe that no matter what Four Seasons or any other resort try and do, you can't change the somewhat reserved and at times slow pace of island women... The local male employees were wonderful, i think because the men in such cultures are allowed to be quite open and talkative.

A special thanks to Leon and Robin from recreation, Junia from breakfast, Selwyn and Laurice from reception and all of the very efficient and friendly buggy drivers. You all made this a wonderful stay.

The resort has fantastic watersports facilities, great gym, spa looked amazing, but we didn't feel like going, too relaxed already!

We were a little annoyed at being told the main restaurant was formal for dinner. Expecting an island and hot setting, we only took casual clothing and felt uncomfortable being told we may not be allowed to eat there. We were allowed in on exception, however I haven't found any pre-warning of this in my reservation notes, or certainly nothing big enough to have seen. I would say this should be changed, as no-one wants to be 'bounced' from one of the only restaurants because they came to a tropical resort without formal attire or at a minimum feel under-dressed when allowed to enter.

We will definitely be back and would not think of trying any other resort on our next visit.
thanks!

Room Tip: Ocean View Villa's as high up on the mountain as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTraveller915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Seychelles, responded to this review, 14 July 2012
Dear WorldTraveller915,

Thank you for leaving your review. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to those members of the team you have highlighted.

Regarding your comments about dress codes. In ZEZ restaurant, our dress code isn't formal, but rather "smart casual." Beachwear is not permitted, and we ask that men are attired in long trousers and shirts with sleeves. This is to reflect the more refined dining experience at dinner in that particular outlet. Kannel is even less "dressy," with relaxed smart casual wear but again, beach wear is not permitted. I understand your disappointment at not knowing this before arriving at the Resort, so we have taken this on board and are going to include it on the Reservation Confirmation in future. Thank you for helping us address this.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful shores of Petite Anse in the future. As you said, there aren't many places that can live up to the photography online, but agree with you that the real thing is even better!

With warm personal regards,
Alex Porteous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We spent 8 days here and had a beautiful hilltop villa with fabulous views of the Petite Anse bay. We loved the beach, which had wonderful rolling waves that we never tired of. The snorkelling just off the beach is great, with lots of different varieties of tropical fish. To my great delight I spotted an eagle ray on one of our snorkelling trips, which allowed us to swim closer to get a great view . Quite magical and a definite highlight of my trip!
We loved the food at all the restaurants and also enjoyed the Creole and Japenese buffet, which they put on one night each week. The bar snacks at the pool are also fantastic.
Our only difficulty was a group of noisy fruit bats that decided to congregate around our villa but this was quickly resolved by moving villas (to one with an even better view). We celebrated our 32nd wedding anniversary here and enjoyed champagne (on the house - thanks Four Seasons) after a wonderful relaxing massage at the delightful spa.
We would definitely return to this resort as it has a great location, great staff, exceptional food, the service is of a high standard and a fabulous spa. What more do you need?

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Seychelles, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear Jay_GLeeds,

Thank you for your glowing review. Sorry about the bats - they get a bit lively in the trees during mango and breadfruit season, but I'm glad the team could resolve the issue quickly for you.

Thank you for choosing us for your wedding anniversary stay and congratulations again on 32 years! I'm glad that you were able to enjoy a couple's massage and we could treat you to champagne to celebrate.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Seychelles in the future. We'll keep the champagne on ice!

With warm personal regards,
Alex Porteous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Superb place to take children to, lovely aspect with buggies to shuttle you across and up and down the mountain, excellent kids club and watersports equipment, have their own googles and snorkels, canoes etc. nestled in a bay that is great for snorkelling, if you more adventurous, diving etc, the PR manager and chef was amazing, food was superb! we had a beach barbeque one night and really a must DO!! i would without hesitation recommend this hotel. its slightly different to everything else out there..WILL definitely go back.

Room Tip: if you have kids then suggest book the villas at the bottom of the mountain and close to the restaur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ndoroman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Seychelles, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear ndoroman,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I will pass your comments onto the team. I'm so pleased that you and your family had a wonderful time on your holiday. It's really a great place for families: grown-up enough for mum and dad to have a great time, while the kids let off steam in the Kids' Club, get to know the Giant Tortoises and play on the sand.

So glad you manage to squeeze in a beach barbeque too. Such a great way to round off your stay. Great recommendation!

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon to our little piece of paradise!

With warm personal regards,
Alex Porteous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We had a beautiful hilltop villa with stunning views of the ocean and surroundings. In the evenings we loved watching the fruit bats eating mangoes and flying around in the forest! The service was good enough, overkill as you arrive or leave, but the buggy drivers were all excellent. The room or villa was really outstanding! Spacious, stunning bathroom with outside shower that we used all the time! The rim flow pool at the villa was superb! Only criticism on housekeeping would be that they kept on forgetting to put new covers on the loungers outside and also to replace milk everyday for making our own coffee in room! The beach must be one of the best ones in the world and the nice touch of the hotel to keep on offering jugs of cold ice water and fresh fruit while on the beach was special! The sushi restaurant was quite good, tempura excellent, sashimi too small and maybe overall a bit understaffed! The other two restaurants were a bit disappointing though! The curio shop can be so much more!!! Please avoid rubbish made in China and stick to locally made products!!!!!!! Also buying things in a dark little hole is not fun!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 312659Coco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Seychelles, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear 312659Coco,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. We always look back on them for reference as we strive to constantly raise our game.

I'm so pleased to hear that you loved the villa, pool, and the fantastic fruitbats! I'm sorry to hear about the lounger covers and lack of milk. I will pass on the feedback and make sure this service is improved.

Our beach is such an amazing asset, and I'm glad we could improve on it's natural beauty with our refreshing amenities! We are working on our sushi offering in ZEZ Lounge, as it started as an add-on to our offering in the Restaurant, but has really taken off. It's so popular that sometimes our Sushi Chef can get busy with this made-to-order service, but I hope you could enjoy a Sake Cocktail and enjoy the atmosphere. As for the shop, we are working with the vendor to improve the stock and environment. It is a little small, but we have plans to improve the whole retail experience soon, so hopefully it will improve before your next trip back to Seychelles!

We hope to see you back at the Resort again very soon.
With warm personal regards,
Alex Porteous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baie Lazare
11.5 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
2.9 mi away
Banyan Tree Seychelles
10.1 mi away
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Kempinski Seychelles Resort
8.0 mi away
Constance Ephelia
Constance Ephelia
#6 of 35 in Mahe Island
3,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Seychelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Seychelles

Property: Four Seasons Resort Seychelles
Address: Petite Anse | P.O. Box 1397, Baie Lazare, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Region: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Baie Lazare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Baie Lazare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Seychelles 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Seychelles’ best kept secret – a tropical amphitheatre of treetop villas circling the idyllic white smile of Mahé’s Petite Anse bay. Descend down lushly forested paths to the secluded powder-sand beach or rise to the dramatic heights of the contemporary spa, cantilevered off the hillside with views that stretch forever. The villa interiors are inspired by rustic Seychellois and French colonial style. Simple, whitewashed timber slat walls allow our carefully curated collection of objets d’art to sing. The verandah, day bed pavilion, and infinity plunge pool set off unencumbered views of tropical greenery, the white sand enclosed in the bay, and the azure waters of the Indian Ocean. With only 67 villas and suites raised on stilts amongst mango, jackfruit and cinnamon trees on a 180-hectare site nestled in the natural amphitheatre of Petite Anse, the resort is a haven of untouched nature and peaceful isolation. From castaway days to vibrant Creole nights, bask in the cultural and culinary essences of the Seychelles infused with legendary Four Seasons care.Treehouse villas have their own private infinity pool cleverly integrated into vast wooden terraces, indoor and outdoor showers and large ocean-view baths. Journey to wellness at the hilltop spa where yoga and invigorating treatments await. Relaxation next to the white powder sands and azure waters is taken to the next level by a beach service tailored to make your time in the warm Seychelles climate as comfortable as possible, while recreation activities bring fun and adventure to those looking to try something new. "Kids for All Seasons" will keep young guests entertained, allowing parents to spend private moments together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Holiday Gems, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Prestigia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Seychelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Seychelles
Four Seasons Resort Seychelles Hotel Baie Lazare
Four Seasons Seychelles
Four Seasons Baie Lazare
Four Seasons Resort Seychelles Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing