We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, glamorous and exclusive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Seychelles
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Baie Lazare
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Beautiful, glamorous and exclusive”
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We spent 5 nights at the Four Seasons at the end of our honeymoon. The first part of our trip was spent on a safari, so we welcomed an end in the Seychelles. This hotel was the perfect place to enjoy the beautiful beach, a stunning villa and the quietness of an almost untouched part of Mahe island.

You probably read it in other reviews: the views are breathtaking, the service is amazing (never heard that many answers involving the word “Certainly!”), the villas are spotless and the food is great. We absolutely loved it.

I booked a massage around sunset time one night, so my husband and I could enjoy a great sundowner at the top of the resort. The massage, though rather pricey, was very relaxing and done in a fabulous room.

Only because I think there is always room for improvement, here are a couple ideas to enhance even more the experience.

-It would have been nice for the manager at the beach to explain to us right from the start, what was available in terms of equipment for snorkeling, canoeing, etc. On our second day, we realized that we could borrow gear, but we had lost one day at the beach not using it (we sat on the other side and had not noticed the gear stand). I am saying that especially because the beach manager did come to welcome us on our first morning at the beach, so I think it would be no problem adding some useful information to his speech. Given that the coral is right there in the bay, the snorkeling is easily accessible and is an absolute highlight for anyone who is a fan, so why not underline it to customers.

-We tried the creole buffet that was served at the restaurant one night. It was good but way too expensive – something like 80-90 euros per person. Not worth it. There are good restaurants outside the resort where you can eat truly delicious food for half the price (e.g. Chez Plume). You can ask the concierge to arrange a cab to and from the restaurant for about 30$ if I remember well.

Foodwise, we also ate at Saffron (Banyan Tree) one night; food was amazing, specializing in asian dishes, again more on the expensive side, but worth it given the great views you can enjoy while sipping a drink and the quality of food. However, Anse soleil café was a disappointment.

On the good side, the breakfast at the hotel was the very best we have ever had in any hotel/resort we visited. Variety, quality, freshness and refinement were astonishing. Croissants, in particular, were amazingly well done, which is quite rare in beach resorts.

Our 5 days at FS were a chic and perfect end to our honeymoon.

Room Tip: Hilltop villas are awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mnonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex_Porteous, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Seychelles, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Dear mnonthego,

Thank you so much for your review and feedback. We really appreciate the time to pass on your critique. It is very important that we get every guest right, and also to recognise our special occasion guests like you and your wife.

Thank you for the feedback on our Creole Buffet. This particular evening boasts a plentiful buffet, plus live local music and dancers, which we feel justifies the slightly higher pricetag. Some great restaurant recommendations in your review, all offering something a little different for our guests who want to try something outside of the Four Seasons.

Again, my thanks for your comments about the beach orientation. Please be assured that we have taken this on board, as this should be a standard part of your arrival at the beach.

We hope that your will join us again for a stay in beautiful Petite Anse. We'll save you some of the best croissants!

With warm personal regards,
Alex Porteous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    822
    139
    39
    14
    14
See reviews for
242
617
18
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North West England
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Having had excellent experiences at other Four Seasons resorts in the past it seemed a natural choice to book this resort as we completed our Indian Ocean travels. We weren't disappointed. The resort has a stunning design with villas of various sizes dotted around the craggy precipices and overlooking what is reputed to be one of the top ten beaches in the world. We had a garden villa as did our teenage daughter. Had we not been hit by massive surcharges for the fact that she was having a villa to herself we would have upgraded to a hilltop villa with a view of the beach. This was no matter though as the villas are spacious, very comfortable and boast their own larger than average plunge pool and decked areas.
The staff, from housekeeping right to the top, are excellent. They take the trouble to remember your name and are charm personified. Pat, one of the buggy boys, arranged for us to view the sunset from the roof of the spa (which incidentally is amazing). This was a particularly special evening for us as, unbeknown to him, my other half was celebrating an important birthday. We owe Pat special gratitude for this.
There were plenty of children in the resort, from babies to teens, and this meant that our daughter felt at ease. The children's facilities looked very good. The children can even go and pet the giant tortoises who are kept at the resort.
I agree with other reviews about the price of food and drink although this was not as high as in the Maldives.
We had very good meals and would particularly recommend the Kaneel Restaurant which has a mix of Creole, Asian and international meals.
One small criticism is that, given the size of the resort, two restaurants are probably insufficient. They do offer buffet nights for variety but at between 60 and 80 euros per head you would have to eat a lot of food to get your money's worth. The Creole buffet with local music and dancing was very well done though.
You can go out. There are some local restaurants just a short taxi ride away. We would recommend Chez Julien, which is very close, for slipper lobster and fried calamari. We didn't fancy the fried bat though!
All in all we had a great time. The Seychelles are stunning and there is plenty to see and do. Please wear strong insect repellent if you are out and about. We were bitten to pieces at the Botanical Gardens!

Room Tip: If you are booking a hilltop room make sure that it really is one with a view. Some of them were not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woldtraveller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex_Porteous, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Seychelles, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Dear woldtraveller7,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review of the Resort. I will share your kind praise with the whole team here. I'm so glad that your daughter was entertained throughout her stay too. What a treat having her own villa!

To address your comments regarding the two restaurants, as you mentioned, we have theme nights throughout the week, and also beach dinners and private dining experiences in-villa which can be arranged. During our busiest periods of Christmas and Easter we also open a pop-up restaurant called Steak Shack, which is hugely popular. The resort is only 3 1/.2 years old and we are looking at the possibility of a third permanent restaurant in the future but, as I'm sure you will understand, these things can take time and careful planning to get just right.

In the meantime I hope that we can welcome you back for another stay soon. We have plenty of new pop-up concepts in the pipeline, so stay tuned!

With warm personal regards,
Alex Porteous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

The prices here are absolutely eye watering but the Four Seasons Seychelles is essentially perfect.

The room was brilliant. It was spacious, spotlessly clean, fantastic bed, huge bathroom (with oversized stone bath), private pool and two balconies.

The beach is great. The sea is perfect.

In short, if you want the perfect hotel, this is it.

The downsides are it is hugely expensive and to that extent it is questionable whether it is worth the expense. There are better value hotels on the island (eg the Hilton in Beau Vallon). The restaurant similarly is hugely expensive for what it is.

However, if you want perfection and money is no object, this is the hotel for you.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank E3juniorbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex_Porteous, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Seychelles, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Dear E3juniorbear,

Thank you the kind words about the resort in your review. I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We source the best quality ingredients and our highly-trained culinary team put together fantastic menus, but this means that we have to price our products accordingly. We hope you found your time in the restaurants, enjoying the variety of delights on offer.

We hope you will return to the Seychelles again, to enjoy our little piece of paradise.

With warm personal regards,
Alex Porteous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellinzona, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We stayed one week in this resort at the end of our honeymoon. The location is magnificent on the turquoise petite anse beach, one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. The resort is set within the tropical forest to give you the feeling of a real full immersion in nature. Sunsets are splendid and you can see birds and fruit bats flying all around. Every villa is completely secluded to ensure absolute privacy, with its own infinity edge pool (enjoy the sunset while taking a refreshing bath!) and patio including an outdoor shower. The accommodations are luxurious and classy. The breakfast buffet at ZEZ restaurant is gorgeous and service very friendly. The internal transport with golf buggies works very good and drivers are always friendly. We had our dinners mostly at the Kannel restaurant (near the beach): the cuisine is asian and creole oriented and was always delicious and portions were abundant. The wine list is not bad too.
Now the negative points:
- The internet connection is free of charge only in the lobby and library areas. You have to pay 10 EUR per day to have a connection in your room... we find this really disappointing for such a luxurious resort. When you pay so much for your stay, an internet connection should always be free of charge!
- Even for a 5-star resort, the prices of beverage and food are way too high. Fortunately we were on half board, because otherwise a dinner would cost approx 250 EUR (without wine!). 9 EUR for a bottle of water and 7 EUR for a local beer are really out of our understanding. Snack bar at the beach: 23 EUR for a sandwich?! Is that a joke?

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davide1978CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex_Porteous, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Seychelles, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Dear Davide1978CH,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We value the feedback as much as our potential and future guests.

I'm so glad you enjoyed the setting and service at the resort. We are very lucky to be in such a beautiful part of the world. It really is our own little piece of paradise.

I'm sorry you found the prices to be high. We want to ensure that our guests are getting good value for money, as we aim to provide the very best food and beverage on the island. We feel that our prices reflect the excellent products we have sourced and prepared for you; served in the beautiful setting of our restaurants, giving a truly unique dining experience.

If you have any more specific feedback I would love to hear from you. Please feel free to drop me an email to Alex.Porteous@fourseasons.com

With warm personal regards,
Alex Porteous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
178 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

I recently visited the Seychelles which had been nearly 30 years in my dreams. I saved it for my 50th birthday. First I visited the Raffles Praslin Seychelles (please see amazing review just posted) for 3 nights then transferred to Mahe to the Four Seasons. Well, it had been many years since I first stayed at the Four Seaons (10 to be exact when I celebrated my 40th birthday at the relatively new Four Seasons Sultanahmet). The Four Seasons has changed and not for the better. While the Four Seasons Seychelles location is exquisite and the architectural layout is stunning, the staff are ROBOTIC. We were greeted upon arrival by a 20 something staffer who seemed to have memorized a script in dealing with our registration. Then our driver was too busy on his blue tooth communications with hotel management. It was like checking in at the mass-market Marriott only the Four Seasons is about $2000 a night. Unlike the Raffles, we had no private butler. We were on our own. The Concierge was efficient before we arrived having booked many of our day trips. And he was there part-time to be sure our day trips went well. He did smile and was accommodating.

The beach is exquisite and provided welcome time in the sun and fun. The best restaurant is at pool side. The manager is a young French guy named Rod who is accommodating, friendly and nice. He is also an inspiring leader as his staff are the best at the resort. The staff in the pool side restaurant actually smile (when asked), engage and act somewhat less formal. However, the main restaurant ZEZ is a fiasco. The food is mediocre. The prices are absurd (nearly $200 per person for a mass buffet like you would get at the Sheraton). The service is poor and scant. You have to usually go and seek servers. And no one smiles or engages.

The bungalow was bigger and more luxurious than the Raffles but it didn't have to be. The Raffles bungalow was cozy. The Four Seasons bungalow was formal like out of Architectural Digest and scary to mess up. Yes, there was a private pool which was bigger than Raffles but again didn't have to be. And yes, the sunken tub was bigger and more luxurious (marble) but again didn't have to be. But the Four Seasons bungalow did NOT have a view except of the jungle. The best part of the room was the soft bed and pillows as well as Pratesi-like sheets. The spa services were excellent especially the massage.

Would I stay at the Four Seasons Seychelles again? No, it's not worth it. I would go back to Raffles Praslin. Would I stay at any Four Seasons again? No. There are too many other properties that try harder with non-robotic staff and better value.

Room Tip: Don't pick the 300 bungalow series as you have NO view unless you want to be in the jungle and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarcoPro2050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex_Porteous, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Seychelles, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Dear Marco P,

I'm sorry to hear that your experience at our resort was not up to your expectations. We pride ourselves on our warm, relaxed service, which sets us apart from the kind of service you would find in, for example, a city hotel. I am surprised to hear that you found the service stuffy, as this is not a feedback I have ever encountered, so I can only apologise that you felt this.

From your description of the view of the jungle from your room, I believe you booked a Garden-view Villa, which has a view of our gardens and the wetland area. This is our basic villa category, and the one we have fewest of. If you are someone who prefers to see the ocean, then I would have recommended an Ocean View or Hilltop Ocean view villa, where you can get fantastic view of the Indian Ocean. The advantages of each of our villa categories are detailed on our website, and should be advised by your travel agent if you booked through one.

We do not offer a butler service in the villa, as we have a 24-hour buggy service and a fantastic in-villa dining service, and our guests mostly enjoy spending private time in the villa, but we do offer a butler service for our guests staying in suites and private residences.

Our villas are as your described, with spacious living and sleeping areas, and a sunken bath overlooking the large infinity-view plunge pool, plus an outside shower, whilst the interiors are warm and relaxed. The large majority of our guests love the space and privacy which this gives, but I understand that it may not be to your taste if you prefer something a little more "bijou."

I do have to correct your comment on pricing, so as not to mislead anyone reading your review. Our most expensive buffet at ZEZ restaurant costs 75euros++, which is around 97USD at the current exchange rate. Perhaps you meant 200USD for two, but I just wanted to clarify. The themed buffet evenings take place twice a week, on different days, in each restaurant, so guests who enjoy buffets can enjoy them, whilst other guests who prefer to order a la carte can also do so.

Thank you for your compliments on our beautiful beach and the service at Kannel restaurant. Please be assured that we pass on all feedback from TripAdvisor to the whole team here, as we strive for excellence across the board.

With warm personal regards,
Alex Porteous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
istanbul
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We have stayed in Four Seasons in Seychelles . A miracle stay. Amazing hotel condition/decoration, white sand beach and perfect staffing! 100% quality service!

Hill-top villas are great to stay with amazing view.. I strongly suggest. Buggy service! They are the keys of the FS! ;)

Just a kind reminder that the restaurants menu selection should be improved since the in-hotel dining is a "to do"... But the food was excellent as well.

Rate ? definitely worth it...

Hope to be back to FS... Thanks for everything!..

Room Tip: Hill-top villas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Axisist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex_Porteous, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Seychelles, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
Dear Axisist,

Thank you so much for your great review . To see you give 100% for our service is a wonderful thing, and I will share this fantastic feedback with the team here.

Thank you for the feedback regarding our restaurants. We are constantly growing and improving, and our new Director of Food and Beverage and Executive Chef are working on some fantastic innovations to take the restaurants at our beautiful resort to the next level. If you have any specific feedback that could help us in our quest then please do drop me an email to Alex.Porteous@fourseasons.com. We'd love to hear from you.

I hope you can join us again in the future so we can create some more magical experiences for you here in Petite Anse.

With warm personal regards,
Alex Porteous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2012

we did have great time in this hotel. The bed room was large with a fantastic view of ocean. the private swimming pool was large and clean. We enjoyed all the facilities they offered us. The staff were very friendly and nice. The breakfast was good and we got a lot of choices for our food.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex_Porteous, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Seychelles, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
Dear Anna C,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our resort on TripAdvisor. We know that our potential and future guests love to read first-hand experiences from our guests, and we love to share feedback with the staff, and to implement improvements as we strive for excellence in everything we do.

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope you will be able to join us again for another stay in our beautiful Seychelles.

With warm personal regards,
Alex Porteous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baie Lazare
11.5 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
2.9 mi away
Banyan Tree Seychelles
10.1 mi away
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Kempinski Seychelles Resort
8.0 mi away
Constance Ephelia
Constance Ephelia
#6 of 35 in Mahe Island
3,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Seychelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Seychelles

Property: Four Seasons Resort Seychelles
Address: Petite Anse | P.O. Box 1397, Baie Lazare, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Region: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Baie Lazare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Baie Lazare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Seychelles 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Seychelles’ best kept secret – a tropical amphitheatre of treetop villas circling the idyllic white smile of Mahé’s Petite Anse bay. Descend down lushly forested paths to the secluded powder-sand beach or rise to the dramatic heights of the contemporary spa, cantilevered off the hillside with views that stretch forever. The villa interiors are inspired by rustic Seychellois and French colonial style. Simple, whitewashed timber slat walls allow our carefully curated collection of objets d’art to sing. The verandah, day bed pavilion, and infinity plunge pool set off unencumbered views of tropical greenery, the white sand enclosed in the bay, and the azure waters of the Indian Ocean. With only 67 villas and suites raised on stilts amongst mango, jackfruit and cinnamon trees on a 180-hectare site nestled in the natural amphitheatre of Petite Anse, the resort is a haven of untouched nature and peaceful isolation. From castaway days to vibrant Creole nights, bask in the cultural and culinary essences of the Seychelles infused with legendary Four Seasons care.Treehouse villas have their own private infinity pool cleverly integrated into vast wooden terraces, indoor and outdoor showers and large ocean-view baths. Journey to wellness at the hilltop spa where yoga and invigorating treatments await. Relaxation next to the white powder sands and azure waters is taken to the next level by a beach service tailored to make your time in the warm Seychelles climate as comfortable as possible, while recreation activities bring fun and adventure to those looking to try something new. "Kids for All Seasons" will keep young guests entertained, allowing parents to spend private moments together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Priceline, Expedia, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Seychelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Seychelles
Four Seasons Resort Seychelles Hotel Baie Lazare
Four Seasons Seychelles
Four Seasons Baie Lazare
Four Seasons Resort Seychelles Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing