We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Firing on all cylinders”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Seychelles
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Baie Lazare
Certificate of Excellence
Kuwait City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Firing on all cylinders”
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We spent a week at the FS at the end of July and left greatly impressed with the entire FS Seychelles team.
The property is drop-dead gorgeous and the beach lives up to its many accolades which can be seen elsewhere on here.
At that time of year, the climate couldn't have been any more delightful as well.
The restaurants were good all the time and on a number of occasions quite spectacular. Room service is very, very good.
I'd like to focus on the service because it is in this area that the resort is truly outstanding.
From the initial arrival to departure, the staff was thoughtful, attentive, friendly, well-informed and helpful. They earned very high marks for the exceptional job they did on the execution aspect of delivering true five star service.
Although, the resort's raison d'être is clearly honeymoons, staff were extremely welcoming and indulgent of our kids (6 & 9) and the resort is actually a great place for families. But, of course, its setting and natural advantages are best suited for the starting of families, as opposed to accomodating them - good as it is in that mission.
Overall, when one considers the splendor of the setting and the vision that was followed to develop the property, there is very little to be improved upon - to sit for dinner on the restaurant veranda around sunset and sip wine while gentle breezes stir the trees and fruit bats glide past will give you everything you need out of an evening.
Granted, it can't be done on a shoestring, but it is a very lovely experience.

Room Tip: The ocean views are spectacular and extend your enjoyment as the higher vantage point prolongs the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sparkpsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex_Porteous, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Seychelles, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
Dear sparkpsu,

Thank you for your wonderful comments about our beach, in-villa dining service and restaurants, arrival and departure and kids' facilities.

You feedback is very important to us, so thank you for taking the time to inform our future guests. I will pass on your comments to the team and congratulate them on a job well done.

We look forward to welcoming your back soon.

With warm personal regards,
Alex Porteous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    852
    143
    40
    14
    13
See reviews for
253
631
18
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

we stayed here for the 3rd time, and every time was wonderful, the rooms are beautiful, service is very friendly, beach is amazing- one of the best I ever saw,food is very good, Kids club is very well organised and the kids have a lot of fun there, spa has amazing views and the service and treatments are wonderful. But last time we celebrated our "silver wedding" together with some friends and the staff of the hotel was very professional in organising our party, in respecting all our requests . We had an amazing party on the beach with unforgettable moments and I would like to thank the whole Fourseason team for this memorable experience. We will never forget this holiday and the celebration was even better than our first wedding. Thank you!!!! we will come back!!!
P.S. Please try to improve the internet connection for people that have to work is frustrating how long they need to send and receive e mails.

Room Tip: book a hilltop villa to have a nice view over the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meda_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex_Porteous, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Seychelles, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
Dear Meda_C,

Thank you so much for your charming review of the resort. We feel very privileged that you chose to spend your 25th wedding anniversary with us, and I'm so glad that you and your guests had a great time celebrating such a special event here. We go out of our way to create wonderful experiences, so it's heartwarming to see how much you loved it.

In terms of your concerns regarding the internet speed, the island has just recently received a fibre-optic link, connecting us to mainland Africa. This has improved the connection speed enormously, but we understand that this is not up to the high speed that many of our guests are used to at home. We are a small nation in the middle of the Indian Ocean, so our connection is perfect for email and streaming short videos, but if you wish to send or download very large files or stream large media content, then it will take longer than you are used to. We are working with our local suppliers, and currently have the fastest, reliable connection, but we are always looking to improve as soon as the technologies allow.

Thank you again for your review and feedback. We really appreciate it!

The team and I very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With warm personal regards,
Alex Porteous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My husband and I along with our 2 children aged 7 and 3, spent 8 nights at this hotel (29 September until 6 October 2012). The setting is magnificent - one of the most beautiful beaches ever! The rooms are spread out on the hills above the beach and you generally need to call the hotel golf buggies to take you around. Fun for the kids but got a bit tiresome to be honest. The rooms are large and well appointed. The room we had was great for a family with 2 small children as it had 2 massive beds and plenty of cupboard space. The bath while nice to look at, took forever to fill and was difficult to get in and out of. Not perfect with children. The kids got their own toiletry packs (including gender appropriate toothbrushes and toothpaste) little gowns and slippers, t shirts and gifts. They felt very special!
The room also had an unprotected pool right outside the bathroom which would pose a problem for children who are not water safe. The kids club was amazing - great staff, activities and facilities. Best of all the kids could have their dinner there while we ate at the poolside restaurant within calling distance. Very convenient. All in all a nice experience.and one I would most definitely repeat when my husband needs a total break.

Room Tip: If travelling with kids choose a garden villa - you can walk from the pool and kids club area when t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh-Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex_Porteous, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Seychelles, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Dear Leigh-Anne C,

Thank you so much for your review of the Resort. I wanted to reply personally and address some of your concerns.

As you mentioned in the Tips section, we would advise those who do not want to utilise our fabulous buggy service to opt for a Garden-View Villa, which gives the option to access most places on foot. You also mentioned that the pool is not child-safe for little ones who aren't water safe, which is true. We have pool fencing which we can install in villas with young children to ensure that they can safely enjoy the villa. I'm sorry that this was not offered to you, as it should happen automatically if we have the ages of the children prior to your arrival.

I'm so glad the children enjoyed their treats and that you and your family could have a great break. I look forward to welcoming you back to Seychelles very soon.

With warm personal regards,
Alex Porteous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We spent 5 nights at the Four Seasons at the end of our honeymoon. The first part of our trip was spent on a safari, so we welcomed an end in the Seychelles. This hotel was the perfect place to enjoy the beautiful beach, a stunning villa and the quietness of an almost untouched part of Mahe island.

You probably read it in other reviews: the views are breathtaking, the service is amazing (never heard that many answers involving the word “Certainly!”), the villas are spotless and the food is great. We absolutely loved it.

I booked a massage around sunset time one night, so my husband and I could enjoy a great sundowner at the top of the resort. The massage, though rather pricey, was very relaxing and done in a fabulous room.

Only because I think there is always room for improvement, here are a couple ideas to enhance even more the experience.

-It would have been nice for the manager at the beach to explain to us right from the start, what was available in terms of equipment for snorkeling, canoeing, etc. On our second day, we realized that we could borrow gear, but we had lost one day at the beach not using it (we sat on the other side and had not noticed the gear stand). I am saying that especially because the beach manager did come to welcome us on our first morning at the beach, so I think it would be no problem adding some useful information to his speech. Given that the coral is right there in the bay, the snorkeling is easily accessible and is an absolute highlight for anyone who is a fan, so why not underline it to customers.

-We tried the creole buffet that was served at the restaurant one night. It was good but way too expensive – something like 80-90 euros per person. Not worth it. There are good restaurants outside the resort where you can eat truly delicious food for half the price (e.g. Chez Plume). You can ask the concierge to arrange a cab to and from the restaurant for about 30$ if I remember well.

Foodwise, we also ate at Saffron (Banyan Tree) one night; food was amazing, specializing in asian dishes, again more on the expensive side, but worth it given the great views you can enjoy while sipping a drink and the quality of food. However, Anse soleil café was a disappointment.

On the good side, the breakfast at the hotel was the very best we have ever had in any hotel/resort we visited. Variety, quality, freshness and refinement were astonishing. Croissants, in particular, were amazingly well done, which is quite rare in beach resorts.

Our 5 days at FS were a chic and perfect end to our honeymoon.

Room Tip: Hilltop villas are awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mnonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex_Porteous, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Seychelles, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Dear mnonthego,

Thank you so much for your review and feedback. We really appreciate the time to pass on your critique. It is very important that we get every guest right, and also to recognise our special occasion guests like you and your wife.

Thank you for the feedback on our Creole Buffet. This particular evening boasts a plentiful buffet, plus live local music and dancers, which we feel justifies the slightly higher pricetag. Some great restaurant recommendations in your review, all offering something a little different for our guests who want to try something outside of the Four Seasons.

Again, my thanks for your comments about the beach orientation. Please be assured that we have taken this on board, as this should be a standard part of your arrival at the beach.

We hope that your will join us again for a stay in beautiful Petite Anse. We'll save you some of the best croissants!

With warm personal regards,
Alex Porteous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West England
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Having had excellent experiences at other Four Seasons resorts in the past it seemed a natural choice to book this resort as we completed our Indian Ocean travels. We weren't disappointed. The resort has a stunning design with villas of various sizes dotted around the craggy precipices and overlooking what is reputed to be one of the top ten beaches in the world. We had a garden villa as did our teenage daughter. Had we not been hit by massive surcharges for the fact that she was having a villa to herself we would have upgraded to a hilltop villa with a view of the beach. This was no matter though as the villas are spacious, very comfortable and boast their own larger than average plunge pool and decked areas.
The staff, from housekeeping right to the top, are excellent. They take the trouble to remember your name and are charm personified. Pat, one of the buggy boys, arranged for us to view the sunset from the roof of the spa (which incidentally is amazing). This was a particularly special evening for us as, unbeknown to him, my other half was celebrating an important birthday. We owe Pat special gratitude for this.
There were plenty of children in the resort, from babies to teens, and this meant that our daughter felt at ease. The children's facilities looked very good. The children can even go and pet the giant tortoises who are kept at the resort.
I agree with other reviews about the price of food and drink although this was not as high as in the Maldives.
We had very good meals and would particularly recommend the Kaneel Restaurant which has a mix of Creole, Asian and international meals.
One small criticism is that, given the size of the resort, two restaurants are probably insufficient. They do offer buffet nights for variety but at between 60 and 80 euros per head you would have to eat a lot of food to get your money's worth. The Creole buffet with local music and dancing was very well done though.
You can go out. There are some local restaurants just a short taxi ride away. We would recommend Chez Julien, which is very close, for slipper lobster and fried calamari. We didn't fancy the fried bat though!
All in all we had a great time. The Seychelles are stunning and there is plenty to see and do. Please wear strong insect repellent if you are out and about. We were bitten to pieces at the Botanical Gardens!

Room Tip: If you are booking a hilltop room make sure that it really is one with a view. Some of them were not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woldtraveller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex_Porteous, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Seychelles, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Dear woldtraveller7,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review of the Resort. I will share your kind praise with the whole team here. I'm so glad that your daughter was entertained throughout her stay too. What a treat having her own villa!

To address your comments regarding the two restaurants, as you mentioned, we have theme nights throughout the week, and also beach dinners and private dining experiences in-villa which can be arranged. During our busiest periods of Christmas and Easter we also open a pop-up restaurant called Steak Shack, which is hugely popular. The resort is only 3 1/.2 years old and we are looking at the possibility of a third permanent restaurant in the future but, as I'm sure you will understand, these things can take time and careful planning to get just right.

In the meantime I hope that we can welcome you back for another stay soon. We have plenty of new pop-up concepts in the pipeline, so stay tuned!

With warm personal regards,
Alex Porteous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

The prices here are absolutely eye watering but the Four Seasons Seychelles is essentially perfect.

The room was brilliant. It was spacious, spotlessly clean, fantastic bed, huge bathroom (with oversized stone bath), private pool and two balconies.

The beach is great. The sea is perfect.

In short, if you want the perfect hotel, this is it.

The downsides are it is hugely expensive and to that extent it is questionable whether it is worth the expense. There are better value hotels on the island (eg the Hilton in Beau Vallon). The restaurant similarly is hugely expensive for what it is.

However, if you want perfection and money is no object, this is the hotel for you.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank E3juniorbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex_Porteous, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Seychelles, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Dear E3juniorbear,

Thank you the kind words about the resort in your review. I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We source the best quality ingredients and our highly-trained culinary team put together fantastic menus, but this means that we have to price our products accordingly. We hope you found your time in the restaurants, enjoying the variety of delights on offer.

We hope you will return to the Seychelles again, to enjoy our little piece of paradise.

With warm personal regards,
Alex Porteous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellinzona, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We stayed one week in this resort at the end of our honeymoon. The location is magnificent on the turquoise petite anse beach, one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. The resort is set within the tropical forest to give you the feeling of a real full immersion in nature. Sunsets are splendid and you can see birds and fruit bats flying all around. Every villa is completely secluded to ensure absolute privacy, with its own infinity edge pool (enjoy the sunset while taking a refreshing bath!) and patio including an outdoor shower. The accommodations are luxurious and classy. The breakfast buffet at ZEZ restaurant is gorgeous and service very friendly. The internal transport with golf buggies works very good and drivers are always friendly. We had our dinners mostly at the Kannel restaurant (near the beach): the cuisine is asian and creole oriented and was always delicious and portions were abundant. The wine list is not bad too.
Now the negative points:
- The internet connection is free of charge only in the lobby and library areas. You have to pay 10 EUR per day to have a connection in your room... we find this really disappointing for such a luxurious resort. When you pay so much for your stay, an internet connection should always be free of charge!
- Even for a 5-star resort, the prices of beverage and food are way too high. Fortunately we were on half board, because otherwise a dinner would cost approx 250 EUR (without wine!). 9 EUR for a bottle of water and 7 EUR for a local beer are really out of our understanding. Snack bar at the beach: 23 EUR for a sandwich?! Is that a joke?

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davide1978CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex_Porteous, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Seychelles, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Dear Davide1978CH,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We value the feedback as much as our potential and future guests.

I'm so glad you enjoyed the setting and service at the resort. We are very lucky to be in such a beautiful part of the world. It really is our own little piece of paradise.

I'm sorry you found the prices to be high. We want to ensure that our guests are getting good value for money, as we aim to provide the very best food and beverage on the island. We feel that our prices reflect the excellent products we have sourced and prepared for you; served in the beautiful setting of our restaurants, giving a truly unique dining experience.

If you have any more specific feedback I would love to hear from you. Please feel free to drop me an email to Alex.Porteous@fourseasons.com

With warm personal regards,
Alex Porteous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baie Lazare
11.5 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
2.9 mi away
Banyan Tree Seychelles
10.1 mi away
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Kempinski Seychelles Resort
24.3 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Labriz Resort & Spa
Hilton Seychelles Labriz Resort ...
#1 of 1 in Silhouette Island
2,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Seychelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Seychelles

Property: Four Seasons Resort Seychelles
Address: Petite Anse | P.O. Box 1397, Baie Lazare, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Region: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Baie Lazare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Baie Lazare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Seychelles 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Seychelles’ best kept secret – a tropical amphitheatre of treetop villas circling the idyllic white smile of Mahé’s Petite Anse bay. Descend down lushly forested paths to the secluded powder-sand beach or rise to the dramatic heights of the contemporary spa, cantilevered off the hillside with views that stretch forever. The villa interiors are inspired by rustic Seychellois and French colonial style. Simple, whitewashed timber slat walls allow our carefully curated collection of objets d’art to sing. The verandah, day bed pavilion, and infinity plunge pool set off unencumbered views of tropical greenery, the white sand enclosed in the bay, and the azure waters of the Indian Ocean. With only 67 villas and suites raised on stilts amongst mango, jackfruit and cinnamon trees on a 180-hectare site nestled in the natural amphitheatre of Petite Anse, the resort is a haven of untouched nature and peaceful isolation. From castaway days to vibrant Creole nights, bask in the cultural and culinary essences of the Seychelles infused with legendary Four Seasons care.Treehouse villas have their own private infinity pool cleverly integrated into vast wooden terraces, indoor and outdoor showers and large ocean-view baths. Journey to wellness at the hilltop spa where yoga and invigorating treatments await. Relaxation next to the white powder sands and azure waters is taken to the next level by a beach service tailored to make your time in the warm Seychelles climate as comfortable as possible, while recreation activities bring fun and adventure to those looking to try something new. "Kids for All Seasons" will keep young guests entertained, allowing parents to spend private moments together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Prestigia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Seychelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Seychelles Hotel Baie Lazare
4 Seasons Resort Seychelles
Four Seasons Seychelles
Four Seasons Baie Lazare
Four Seasons Resort Seychelles Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing