We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Beach Area on Mahe”
Review of Maison Soleil

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Maison Soleil
Ranked #1 of 2 Baie Lazare B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Stayed for 5 nights during October.
Qatar airways lost our luggage and fortunately Andrew was very accomodating and prepared our room so we could check in after our early morning arrival and helped us out with everything we needed including shorts for my husband.

The accommodation was lovely and within walking distance to all the great beaches in the area. We hired a car to visit other parts of the island including Victoria and also to pick up some groceries from the bigger supermarket. We went to both local restaurants and can definitly say Marias Rock Cafe was the better quality and service however Cafe Anse Solieil had the better view.

We used the facilities of the Four Seasons hotel which has one of the nicest beaches I have ever seen although the sea wasn't as warm as I thought it might be for the Indian ocean it was cristal clear. We experienced rain every day but when the sun came out it was hot!

Andrew is a great host with endless Knowledge and information about the islands and Ruby made our booking seamless.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HerRubyship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seygee, Owner at Maison Soleil, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2012

Hi there
thanks for the very kind review you wrote for Maison Soleil.
Its always a pleasure to help out, especially when the unexpected arrises! Lost Luggage is so annoying and stressful, but it does happen! Fortunately you need very little clothes here, so packing a swimsuit, shorts, top and underwear in your carry-on is well recommended! I do have a supply of lotions and mosquito repelants on hand to pass out in case of emergencies like this....and the pack of spare clothes you left; they have already been loaned out when someone else arrived with no luggage!!!

It is good that this experience did not spoil your enjoyment of your break in Seychelles..and thanks again for choosing Maison Soleil
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2011

Our Seychelles experience would have been very different if we hadn't come to Maison Soleil first (although I'm not really sure why it's listed as specialty lodging here; it's a self-catering guesthouse, like so many others on the islands). Andrew's effusive hospitality and extensive local knowledge and boundless enthusiasm for what he does really transformed what would have been a nice time into a memorable getaway that will be hard to beat. Internet booking was easy and efficient (thanks Ruby!), which isn't exactly the norm with most small independent self catering places around here. If you're not worried about being in the thick of Victoria (which I don't know why you would be if you're a tourist) the location is a comfy hillside nook, walkable to both Anse Soleil and Petite Soleil (well, downhill is no problem anyway). If you have a car, it's an easy drive to Anse Intendance. If not, it's nice to just stick around here. Either way, you'll feel truly welcome.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HotelCalifornians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seygee, Owner at Maison Soleil, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2012

Thanks Guys for your kind words!
You were very fortunate to stay with me at the begining and end of your holiday, so you could benefit from a few local tips!
Ruby and the rest of the team were pleased to meet you too and help make your holiday so memorable... good luck with your photography....
and Sandra says 'Hi and come back soon!!!'
regards Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We were booked into the Citronella room for 2 last nights in Seychelles, having spent 6 days on Praslin.

Andrew picked us up from Victoria Quay, and gave us a warm welcome. As we hadn't eaten dinner yet, he recommended Maria's Rock Cafe, and we ended up dining there all together. Was a great evening and as Andrew is a friend of Maria's, we got to know the fabulous host more.

The Citronella room is outside of the main house, next to Andrews art studio. It is a nicely decorated, cosy room, with its own little outside area (open air shower included). The location of Maison Soleil is a 10-15 minute walk down the hill to Anse Soleil, a beautiful spot to swim, watch the sunset, and have dinner at Chez Julien.

All in all, I would definitely recommend Maison Soleil to fellow travellers!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyMaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We stayed in April for a few days at the end of our Seychelles trip (have just remembered how sad I was that we had to leave!). Andrew really did give us the warmest welcome - we stayed in the Vanilla suite which was wonderfully spacious and charmingly decorated. Had all practical requirements - even a washing machine. Loved to lounge on the balcony in the evenings watching the bats swooping overhead and geckos skittling back on forth. Andrew leaves his guests to themselves but is more than happy to offer tips on where to go and help out with any queries.

The location is near to beautiful Anse Soleil beach and the tasty offerings of the cafe of the same name. Careful if you walk down there - the walk up is somewhat more difficult (I had to do part of it backwards!). Also nearbye is quirky Maria's hot rock cafeteria if you fancy a fun meal. You will as others have stated need a car to explore rest of island.

Thank you Andrew and also wonderful Ruby who sorted out our booking, a huge huge help!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clownfishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Great room and easy to see why people often come back!
Andrew and Betty are the best and Ruby is very warm and full of info
book with her now!!! The decor is very nice and the location is near the beach
and more. It is like being in a movie with nature as the star! Keep doing a good job and thanks again. Jaymes Duke Ballard*

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaymes Duke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seygee, Owner at Maison Soleil, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2011

Dear Jaymes,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at Masion Soleil Seychelles.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us whilst on a recent holiday in paradise. Thanks for your positive comments about our team, and yes, both Ruby and Betty are wonderful, I could not do this without them. I will surely pass on your comments to them. We seem to attract very interesting, well-travelled, and pleasant clients, so thanks for adding yourself to this list!

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Masion Soleil in the near future.


Yours sincerely,
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

An very cozy and pleasant self-catering accomodation in a wild nature location that is trully extraordinary. We stayed at the Vanilla Suite for 3 nights. The suite is large, wonderfully decorated and very functional. A complete welcome pack was included. The veranda of Vanilla Suite, an observatory in nature. Be warned thought that this is more of a zoom in nature, not a sea view or great vistas. Situated just a turn off the secondary road to Anse Soleil, the house is only 5 minutes (by car) to this fantastic beach. Maison Soleil makes a perfect base to explore Southwest Mahe by car. There are numerous dining options nearby. The owner, Andrew Gee is a lovely guy and an attentive yet discreet host (he lives in the adjacent house), and for us this really makes a difference when choosing a self-catering option. His artistic and nature spirit is fully reflected in Maison Soleil's location, interior design and decoration. Having been in Seychelles 4 times, we can say that this is certainly one of the best self-catering places available.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AntanCy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seygee, Owner at Maison Soleil, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2011

Dear AntanCy,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at Masion Soleil Seychelles.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us whilst on a recent holiday in paradise. I would like to thank you for your very kind words regarding our guest house, it’s decor, and location.
Thank you also for your kind word about my team and myself, we all work hard to make your stay as memorable as possible, and it is nice to know that it is worthwhile.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor recommending our self-catering apartments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Masion Soleil in the near future.


Yours sincerely,
Andrew
(0wner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Very recommended. In particular - VANILLA SUITE is at 4-5 stars. We slept in VANILLA SUITE 8 days. It is the climate. Neighborhood a home is modest. But the night calm and quiet. From the terrace you can watch the bats in the day. Must necessarily have rented a car. Car gives the opportunity to see all the beautiful beaches on the island. Restaurants wpobliżu few kilometers. Too far to go on foot.
Andrew is very helpful and a good host the guest house.
We thank him for his help in rozwizaniu our problem with sunken keys of our car.
Rarely in the Seychelles can spotkć so kind people like Andrew.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bogdan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baie Lazare
4.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa
11.2 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Kempinski Seychelles Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Glacis Heights Villa
Glacis Heights Villa
#2 of 3 in Glacis
49 reviews
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Seychelles
12.6 mi away
Carana Hilltop Villa
Carana Hilltop Villa
#5 of 50 in Mahe Island
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Soleil

Address: Anse Soleil Road, Baie Lazare, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Baie Lazare
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Baie Lazare
Price Range: £80 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maison Soleil offers 3 stylish apartments in a tropical garden setting, with fabulous beaches nearby, Anse Soleil, Petite Anse & Anse Government. It is located in the quieter southern end of Mahe Island. Cinnamon Suite downstairs for couples. Vanilla Suite, upstairs large room with sitting area for 2 or 3 persons. Jasmine Family Suite downstairs with 2 en-suite bedrooms. All have own private veranda, kitchen and air-con. Owned by local artist and designer ANDREW GEE, whose gallery is next door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Maison Soleil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Soleil Seychelles/Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing