We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“interesting food experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Maria's Rock Cafe

Maria's Rock Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
170 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“interesting food experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stumbled upon this restaurant en-route to Baie Lazare. The decor at this restaurant is very interesting with nice solid wooden benches and tables, and pirate theme decorations. We tried the mixed meat on hot stone, it was not cheap and the portion was quite small. The bill was in the form of a Seychelles postcard which was a nice touch.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Free D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    196
    50
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“unique dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Having to prepare your food yourself (you only get raw mea/fish butter and hot stones) is making it funny, interesting and worth trying!
I personally didn't enjoy it that much though, as I was affraid to burn my meat and it was cold until I started to eat :D:D

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Natalia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
122 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“An experience not to be missed!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

My family visited Maria's twice on our recent stay in Mahe. Once for an afternoon drink and again for an evening meal. On our first visit we felt like a nuisance. Had our drinks, booked a table for an evening meal and left. When we went back for dinner two days later we were greeted by a surly, miserable looking woman who quite frankly scared me! She asked if she could help us and when I said that we had booked she showed us to a table. The concept of cooking you own meal is ok but not something you would want to do every day. We ate our dinner surrounded by starving cats loking for a free meal. When others complained the owner just shooeed them away...of course they came back within seconds.Not a very good experience. No ambience. Could do with a good clean, happy staff, different seats(you sit in wooden seats that slope backwards, very uncomfortable) and a bit of music. Although we booked the place was no where near full. An experience to say the least!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Digue Island, Seychelles
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“my wonder place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

the food is incredible and i have been there even more than seven times...and i keep on going there especially for lunch is perfect.....

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank shania simone c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“unusual cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed at Kempinski hotel. Been to this cafe 3 times during our 1 week stay there. Is very close to the hotel. You cook fresh fish and shrimps yourself on stone plate. Normally when you start to cook it some local cats appears, they seem pretty hungry as they were running around our table and eating everything you drop for them (like shrimps skin or heads,,,) In general the opinion of the place is nice and can be good option to eat out there .

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maria's Rock Cafe also viewed

Mahe Island, Seychelles
 
Victoria, Mahe Island
Baie Lazare, Mahe Island
 

Been to Maria's Rock Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing