We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Start for our honeymoon, except for....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kempinski Seychelles Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Baie Lazare
Certificate of Excellence
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Start for our honeymoon, except for....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

Our experience in the Kempinski was overall excellent.

However, we had to wait several hours at the reception to get into our room. There was no possibility for early check in resort, as we reached the hotel at 8:00AM and were told that we will have to wait till 2PM to check in. We were exhausted, and we just stayed at the reception for several hours after a long trip, Eventually we were taken to our room at around 11AM. Since most of the flights arrive to Mahe early morning, and early check-in option should be provided.

The team at the reception was very professional, nice and helpful with information about the city.
the rooms were amazing, comfortable and clean with direct access to the beach.
We were served a cake with Orange juice in our room + free massage at the spa for me and my wife as a honeymoon gift

The breakfast buffet was very good with good variations.

Room Tip: Get a ground floor room if you like direct access to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahmed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Ahmed,

Congratulation! The Kempinski Seychelles Resort Team Members and I wish you and your wife all the very best in your married life. We are happy that you have chosen our property for your honeymoon.

Our resort is totally committed to exceed the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, which is why it is so rewarding to receive feedback like yours. We are glad that you enjoyed the of the room .The small issues which you have mentioned have already been addressed this with our Management Team to see how we can improved in the future.

I have already passed your goo compliment to the Team Members, to how a professional, yet personal service can make such a difference to our guest expectation.

We hope that you had able to experience the true magic of the island and take home with you to Saudi Arabia, so many happy memories.

With our festive Season’s greeting for a prospers New Year 2014.

Jean-Marc Michel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    752
    355
    127
    47
    22
See reviews for
280
757
37
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

Stayed at the hotel from 28th Nov - 2nd Dec. First visit for us to seychelles.
Welcome to seychelles was organised by Maison's travel, which seem to be large there, airport pick up was smooth and the drive to the hotel was scenic (approx. 30 mins from the airport). On arrival we were greeted by Alexander who was warm and introduced the hotel and facilities well, was nice to offer an upgrade to us well. Stayed in the 'beach view' room which is adequately sized for a couple with a nice balcony and ocean view.

Location - not one of the most convenient as there are not local eateries and joints in close proximity, renting a car is advisable. The beach is nice although Four Seasons has a better beach (we visited that hotel during the stay).

Service : was disappointing considering it being a Kempinski brand. Small things such as 'no cappuccino' included in buffet breakfast. Mangoes on display and when asked if we could get them cut, we were told that this would be chargeable. The cafe restaurant service is poor where we had ordered an ice - cream during our last lunch, and after 20 mins we were told that the flavour is't available. Front office staff needs to communicate the correct inclusions to the guest on check in as well. Govind from F&B was hospitable.

Overall facilities : are good, has decent number of F&B offerings, beach bar is nice, rooms are good although wifi in rooms is very slow, at least in our room where we were staying.

Will I stay here the next time I am in seychelles : not too sure.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anshuman P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Anshuman,

Thank you for taking time in posting your valuable and kind comments on Tripadvisor of your recent stay at our Resort.

We hope that during your time with us, you had experience the true magic of the island of Paradise and were able to return home with many happy memories. We are pleased to read that our Team Members had made you feel at home, with the professional yet friendly service especially Alexander and Govind. I have personally shared your nice comments with them.

However, it is with our sincere regret to learn of your disappointment with various aspects of your stay. The issues which you have mentioned have already been addressed this with our Management Team to prevent these from happening to our future guests.

Thank you once again for staying with us. We hope these few incidents you experienced do not damage your overall perception of our brand and we do hope you will honor us with a return visit to our property.

Wishing you a prosper New Year 2014!

Jean-Marc Michel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

If you like quiet Hotel to chill put enjoy the beach with perfect waters and delicious food, this is the place for you. This was our first stay in Kempinski hotels and boy we were in for a treat! The moment you enter the serpentine road which leads to the main grounds - it is as if a veil is slowly being raised and you instantly fall in love with it.
That said it was very worthy of the price we paid for this luxury 5* property. Staff was every bit working hard to make sure out stay was comfortable. Buffet breakfast and the setting of the restaurant is awesome , you are looking at green covered hills on one side and crashing waves on the beach on the other. Can it get any better, I guess not !
We got a room near to the main building on the ground floor and had views of the ocean/beach. We could open the doors and walk for 100 feet and end up on the white sand beach with blue and turquoise waters.
Kids eat free policy - Make sure when you call in you make it clear that the food is for a kid and they even do room service for free for kids.
One thing which we did not like was way over priced Buffet dinner for about Euro 65 plus there are no decent restaurants near the Hotel. We had to drive every time for about 10 minutes to get to a nearest restaurant . Renting a car is a must if you living on this side of the island.
Another things which we missed is there was nothing to do in this property - you could lay down not he beach , drink bear , eat food and that is it. It would be nice to add few fun things for adult entertainment like a mini golf etc. On the other hand, I think they have two courts and a billiards table.

Room Tip: Stay closer to lobby and take ground floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gl0betr0ttersIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Valuable Guest ,

I would like to express my personal gratitude for your kind comments and the time you have taken to share them on TripAdvisior.

At Kempinski Seychelles Resort, our mission is to deliver warm personal service to our guests, make them feel home away from home and create an experience that they will never forget. What makes us special is a combination of both – what we bring to the world and what we bring to every single guest who visits our resort.

Therefore it is a great pleasure and extremely rewarding to receive positive and encouraging remarks about our services and facilities such as yours. We are delighted to learn that we exceeded your expectations, that you enjoyed your time with us and your compliments are the greatest encouragement for us to keep up to our high service standard!

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to Kempinski Seychelles Resort.

With our festive Season’s greeting for a prospers New Year 2014.

Jean-Marc Michel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Kempinski Seychelles Resort at the end of November 2013 and everything was absolutely stunning. Great staff, good food, splendid location (one of the bet beaches on Mahé Island), excellent service...
I would definitely recommend going out in the bay for a kayak surf trip. Great fun!

We will come back...

Just to mention a few points for improvement: Slow internet connection in the rooms and small quantities of free of charge water every night.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravellerG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear SchorschiGeGe,

It’s our great honor to receive such a wonderful feedback from you, in regards your stay at the Kempinski Seychelles Resort.
Thank you so much for your compliments and for your high recommendation. We are so glad to hear that you had a great time and we made your stay memorable. We truly enjoyed taking care of you and your wife.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back with us in the near future.

With our Festive Season’s Greeting for a prospers New Year 2014.

Jean-Marc Michel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

I don't know what a resort is, but the Kempinski at Baie Lazare is on a huge and impressive footprint and has nearly all the facilities you'd expect for a beach 5-star hotel. On arrival the gatehouse is impressive and leads down a long private drive to the hotel complex. The buildings themselves are a bit 'grey', I am not sure if that is a UNESCO requirement, as they do sort of blend in with the environment and are not that noticeable from the beach or water front.

We stayed in a delux beach view room. It was immaculately clean, spacious, with a small but adequate lounge area with sofa's and TV. There was an outside (the room being ground floor) seating and sunbathing area. The latter on grass with two sunbeds.

The beach area is expansive, although only a handful of sunbeds are actually overlooking the beach, the majority are somewhat regimented behind these between the beach and ubiquitous but very nice infinity pool. As the hotel footprint was huge, there were plenty of sun beds just off the beach, although the view of the beach was slightly restricted because of low level mango (I assume) bushes which fronted the property. To be honest, again I assume a UNESCO requirement, but it didn't matter unless you were a sun worshiper and wanted to be in full sun all day (which you could in plenty of quiet locations on along the beach front).

The food was good, although the hotel could do with a third dinner restaurant, one a la carte, and one buffet is not sufficient for a 5-star hotel. Especially the case on Mahe which is a bit of a culinary desert when it comes to fine dining. The a la carte restaurant, L'Indochine, is excellent. We dined there four nights, the food is varied and very well presented and cooked. The Sommelier, a young South African is knowledgeable and very professional. The beach bar, Windsong is a good beach bar with very friendly professional staff, especially a young Indian (Shekar) who is one of the best beach bar staff we have every met. Last thoughts on food, the breakfast was excellent, Linda the egg station chef cooked the best poached eggs I have ever eaten in a hotel.

I have read many reviews about the cost at the Kempinski, one thing which we thought was very good was that the cost on the menu's throughout the hotel is the price you pay, inclusive of tax and service. At all other bars and restaurants we ate at whilst in the Seychelles they added 10% service then 15% VAT. The prices at the Kempinski are therefore very good value for comparable 5-star hotels on the islands. As a very rough guide we paid approximately £9 for the top G&T, and around £35-£40 for nice bottles of South African wine.

I notice Jean-Marc Michel responds to all reviews. Jean-Marc, my wife and I met you on a dive boat with your two sons on the 24 Nov. We think the Kempinski at Baie Lazare is an excellent beach resort hotel, one which grows on you as the days go by. Our only thoughts in terms of continual improvement are better towels in the rooms, they were thin and a few had seen better days, and think about a third dinner restaurant. Overall would we stay at this hotel again, a definite YES.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank foxyfoxholes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Valuable guest,

Warm greetings and thank you for having chosen Kempinski Seychelles Resort for your holiday. We also thank you for having taken the time to share your positive and highly recommendation review about us.
Our devoutness is to provide the highest quality service level beyond our guest expectation, and it is a real pleasure to learn that our Team Members had been able to exceed your expectation. We are especially delighted that you had been impressed with comfort of our room, our service, food & beverage offer and , selection of wines. I have taken the liberty to pass on these compliments to the entire Team Members, especially, Shekar, Linda and our Sommelier Lindo. They were overjoying to learn that their work had been so appreciated.
Thank you for your kind thoughts in terms of continual improvement of our resort. I truly appreciate it as this we will help us to keep up our continuous efforts to maintain our Kempinski standards.
We strongly believe that you environment should be preserve for the future generation, that is why we take externally good care of our mother nature around our resort. Our aim is to ensure that all our guest experience the true magic of the Island Paradise at the Kempinski Seychelles Resort.

Thank you once again for taking time to share us your comments.

I look forward to welcoming both of you back in a not too distant future, to our resort.
With on Festive Season’s greeting for a prospers New Year 2014 with many satisfaction.

Jean-Marc Michel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

The resort had a luxurious feel about it. It covered a large area with nice gardens and had a beach front location. The room was comfortable and spacious. The restaurant was good. The first night we had a seafood theme and the BBQ seafood was nice and fresh. The second night was BBQ meat. There were a few big tortoises kept in the resort, be careful not to feed them with your fingers because they were surprisingly lightning fast. One could do some low-key snorkeling at the beach and I saw a few fish, seaweed and sea cucumbers. Snorkeling gears were provided for free. There was a free morning shuttle to the Capitol Dodoma or one could join a free guided walk around the resort area. The weather was hot and humid and there was no air conditioning in the restaurant, so prepared to sweat, a lot. As for the price, I noticed that in the local shops and supermarket the goods were generally twice the price compared with Australia, so you know what to expect in a 5 star resort.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

When we reached Mahe, it was raining and after listening to weather report, I was scared that our trip was ruined. The only consoling factor was that we were staying at Kempinski. We were received well at the lobby and everyone was so friendly. The room was beautiful and clean. We got a cake and champagne as welcome gift. There is so much to do on the resort itself, it has a beautiful beach. In fact they rent kayaks, snorkeling equipment and thus, you don't need to spend extra money on that. The thing I loved most about the hotel was their STAFF. They always greeted us smilingly and were very helpful. In fact, we were in the island and found one of their staff members at the store. He helped us so much even off his duty hours. It was highly appreciable. I would recommend this amazing hospitality experience to everyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrHarleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baie Lazare
11.8 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
2.4 mi away
Banyan Tree Seychelles
Banyan Tree Seychelles
#1 of 2 in Takamaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
5.2 mi away
AVANI Seychelles Barbarons Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa
8.5 mi away
Constance Ephelia
Constance Ephelia
#6 of 35 in Mahe Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Seychelles Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Seychelles Resort

Property: Kempinski Seychelles Resort
Address: Baie Lazare | P.O. Box 1356 Victoria, Baie Lazare, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Region: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Baie Lazare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Baie Lazare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Seychelles Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the famous Baie Lazare, in the exclusive south-end of Mahé Island, Kempinski Seychelles Resort offers guests round-the-clock expertise, dedication and unmatched Creole hospitality in dazzling surroundings of untouched, natural beauty. This beachfront paradise, nestled in a secluded bay at the foothills of a magnificent mountain range, offers a private haven for romantics at heart, an activity-packed family getaway or the perfect destination for corporate gatherings and events. Just 30 minutes from the Seychelles International Airport, the resort is ideally situated for day trips and excursions, yet offers much in the way of exclusivity and privacy for those looking to get off the tourist track. From small, home comforts to spacious luxury and bespoke banqueting and wedding packages, the Kempinski Seychelles Resort is an ideal location for those seeking a world-class island getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Holiday Gems, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kempinski Seychelles Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Seychelles Resort Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing