We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only had lunch there, but it was excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kempinski Seychelles Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Baie Lazare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We had lunch at the Kempinski Seychelles Resort during our tour of the Seychelles. We ate in Café Lazare, and had the finest steak of our whole trip. It was so tender that a knife was almost not needed.

We didn't see a room, as the hotel was fully booked. Please note that Chinese New Year draws big crowds in the Seychelles. I did notice a huge pool table in the lobby area.

I would like to spend more time at this hotel on a future trip.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Hedo-goer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Hedo,

On behalf of all the Team Members of Kempinski Seychelles Resort, I would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you.

I am glad that you had an excellent culinary experience with us and rest assures that I have shared your positive comment to the whole of F&B Team.

Thank you very much for sharing this experience with others and I do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you in the near future.

With the warmest regards from the Seychelles,

Jean-Marc Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

655 - 661 of 1,548 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

We spent here 5 days in February without kids as a short „winter getaway“ and enjoyed out stay at the Kempinski immensely. It is quite expensive and there a still some minor flaws, but offers a great location and super staff – we would come back!

Location:
The bay is gorgeous and kayak trips are great. Also kayak surfing (taking the kayak into the surf) proved to be great fun! A drawback is that it is difficult to swim in the bay due to corals – at low tide impossible and even at high tide you have to be careful and better wear swim shoes! The Baie Lazare area is rather laid back and quiet compared to the more busy Beauvallon area.

Food:
Price level is high, but the Seychelles are an expensive holiday destination anyway. We found the Windsong Bar (Beach restaurant) reasonably priced during the day and had almost expected the prices to be higher. For dinner you have 2 options which are definitely high-priced. But you can find many possibilities to eat outside of the resort if you take a taxi or have your own rental car (which we would recommend!), such as „Chez Plume“, „Anchor Restaurant“, „Marias Rock Cafe“…

Strenghts:
• Staff – especially, reception, guest services & spa – are super service-oriented and helpful - well done!
• General location; gardens and properties very well maintained, spectacular surroundings
• Although hotel occupancy was high during our stay, it never seemed „crowded“ as premises are quite spread out
• Nice mixed clientele without any nationality being too „dominant“ (Swiss, German, French, British, American, Korean, Baltic States etc…)
• Diving school on premises. For boat dives they pool with guests from other hotels (Maia, Four Seasons etc.), but the Dutch-run diving school made a good impression

Weaknesses:
• Construction: the room doors are very light and not at all soundproof. If you neighbor closes his door, it echoes through your room. And it is difficult to close the doors without making noise. There should be some kind of rubber joints added to the door frames. If you seek utter privacy opt for a resort with single bungalows.
• Room Service: every room has dehumidifier devices, which turn off automatically when full. We had to empty it ourselves every day, although this should have been done by the room service. And: refrigerator did not work. Apparently it had not been properly checked before giving us the room.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MunichVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to read that you had a wonderful time in the resort in February and appreciated your compliments about our Resort, as well as the friendliness and helpfulness of our Team Members. Your comments are surely an encouragement for all of us to keep delivering highest service to our guest.

We welcome the constructive criticisms in regards of the issue that you had brought to our attention. We will try the best to have some alternative, especially in regards of the dehumidifier devices.
I do hope to welcome you and your family, especially the children will return to Seychelles in the near future and I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Kempinski Seychelles Resort.

Warmest regards from Seychelles,

Jean-Marc Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We came back recently from Seychelles and we chose Kempinski Resort for the great tips we meet. It was even better than we expected!
Not only the beauty of the resort environment, the nice room and the excelent breakfast and restaurants...I can recollect our great travel thanks to the great activities we did with Pepe, the Recreation Manager, and his attentive and funny team. Snorkeling on the nearby coral reef in that beach, trekking in the jungle discovering wild cinnamon and vanilla, catching the waves with the kayak...In this space Seychelles is not only a place to lie down in the hammock, but you can also do it and enjoy the weather and the paradisiac nature!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rocio V V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Rocio,

Allow us to express our gratefulness for selecting Kempinski Seychelles Resort to celebrate your vacation, and for sharing the impressions of your recent stay with us.

We greatly appreciate all of your kind words and are thrilled to know that you had such an amazing time at our resort and we had exceed your expectation. Your kind comments regarding our excellent breakfast buffet, the coziness of the room and the various recreation activities are encouraging. It is certainly our intention to ensure you are well cared and that our service standards exceed your expectations.

Your kind comments had surely motivated the Team Members to continue to meet and exceed the expectations that our guest wait from us.

We thank you for your loyalty and your five start rating of our resort and we looking forward to welcome you back to Kempinski Seychelles Resort in the near future.

With sunny regards from the Seychelles,

Jean-Marc Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We arrived yesterday from our vacation in Seychelles and can't be more delighted with our stay at the Kempinski Seychelles Resort. From the welcome (greeted by a lady in red offering us a refreshened towel and a cold drink), the check-in, the in-room service, the dinning outlets to the resorts' activities and the hospitality of all the staff in general. The service was impecable! Special thanks to Angelique, breakfast's waitress, for her kindness during our whole stay and her detail to attention.

The resort is situated in the nicest and calmest part of the island, the West coast, right in front of the Baie Lazare beach(perfect for children since it's not very deep and the waters are very calm) and surrounded by beautiful tropical gardens. The facilities are all very well kept with nice decoration without disrupting the nature.

There are plenty of activities for the hotel guests organized everyday: yoga, kayaking, outings, snorkeling, diving, kick-boxing, etc. There's no way you can get bored.

Definitely a place to recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ferrajon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Ferrajon,

Thank you for such an incredible testimony of your experience at the Kempinski Seychelles Resort.

It is a true pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our Team Members, especially Angelique, has created memorable experiences that you have taken back home. As I always say, there is only one way to have a happy Guest and that is having a happy Team!

Therefore, the entire Team Members is looking forward to welcoming you back soon to our little paradise for more amazing experiences!

Sunny regards from Seychelles,

Jean-Marc Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This hotel, from arrival to departure, was top notch. The staff, food, location, vibe and suite were faultless. The beach is perfection and the warm Indian Ocean was wonderful. The staff were very professional and friendly and there's a get-together on a Thursday evening for senior staff and guests.
The grounds are lovely and there are plenty of activities if you want them. We didn't as we'd gone for a total rest and we got it.
My only gripe is the fresh drinking water issue. At other five star hotels we stay at, we are given lots of water for free but we only got a small bottle on turn-down service. Granted, you do get given free sodas and two bottles of water in the fridge on arrival but this does not last long in 80+ degrees heat. Water with dinner was £4.00 per bottle. No water on the beach either - again, a service that we normally get at other hotels.
I can strongly recommend this hotel but for the water issue.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms can be dark. Our first room had a long wall to the side of the balcony which rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lulusmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our Kempinski Seychelles Resort for your stay in Seychelles and for sharing your great experience in Tripadvisor.

It is a true pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our Team Members has created memorable experiences that you have taken back home. From the comfort of our rooms, to our culinary and our resort activities, we are pleased that you have been able to capture the essence of our resort.

On the other hand, know that we have noted your kind observations concerning a couple of aspects of your experience and on which corrective measures have been initiated to improve these areas of opportunity to better serve our guest.

The entire Team Members is looking forward to welcoming you back soon to out legendary Resort for more amazing experiences.

Sunny regards from the Seychelles,

Jean-Marc Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

My wife and I spent our vacation in Kempinski Seychelles Resort. It was an absolutely amazing experience. It was 5 star all the way. I can safely say it was the best holiday of our lives. We stayed in the sea view room, what was really an excellent choice. Great view, large room, just few steps from the beach.
The staff are simply brilliant, the service is outstanding, the food is fantastic, the rooms are beautiful and are set in wonderfully manicured gardens with ocean views. There is so much space that even when the hotel is full you wonder where all the other guests are. It is a haven of peace and tranquility where you are are totally spoilt by a truly dedicated staff. I could go on and on but I think you get the message. The spa is fantastic, and the treatment houses are magical.
In conclusion it’s lovely. The staff are charming and there is clearly a strong service ethic. It’s a lovely setting and you wont go wrong if you stay there.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blaz1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Blaz,

Thank you for these wonderful comments and the five starts rating about your experience at Kempinski Seychelles Resort. The location of our property is definitely the best place to spend your vacation in tranquility and comfort.

We are pleased to learn that you particularly enjoyed the food, the service and the activities we offer of the resort! Our SPA is certainly magnificent, relaxing, and luxurious and we are pleased that you have enjoyed your treatment.

We have shared your positive comments with all the Team Members, as it bring our spirit up to read that our services had such an impressive impact on your stay with us.

We look forward to welcome you back to the resort and discover some more impressions in your next experience.

From the island of paradise,

Jean-Marc Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Couldn't have asked for a better experience at the resort. The staff was friendly, knowledgeable, and prepared to meet your every need. During our two week stay, we were never left wanting. The food was excellent. Snorkeling and kayaking right off the beach. Plenty of lounge space on the beach. The rooms were well kept with a great bed, huge shower, and a hammock right off the patio.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Matt,

On behalf of all the Team Members of Kempinski Seychelles Resort, I would like to extend my most sincere appreciation for you choosing our resort for your honeymoon. Let me take this opportunity to reiterate our warm wishes in that occasion. May you always find in each other the love, laughter and happiness that only partners in life dare!

We are delighted that you have appreciated the comfort of the room, our fine cuisine and our resort activities that we offer. We are very happy to hear that it was a great experience for you at our property and that you found our Team Members to be very friendly, helpful and attentive as well as you had felt pampered by the outstanding service. Your kind comments had surely motivated the Team Members to continue to meet and exceed the expectations that our guest wait from us.

We hope you were able to experience the true magic of the island and had taken home with you many happy memories. We all look forward to the next pleasant opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

With heart-full appreciation,

Jean-Marc Michel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baie Lazare
11.8 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
2.4 mi away
Banyan Tree Seychelles
10.4 mi away
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa
10.4 mi away
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
0.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Seychelles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Seychelles Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Seychelles Resort

Address: Baie Lazare | P.O. Box 1356 Victoria, Baie Lazare, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Region: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Baie Lazare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Baie Lazare
Price Range: £224 - £447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Seychelles Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the famous Baie Lazare, in the exclusive south-end of Mahé Island, Kempinski Seychelles Resort offers guests round-the-clock expertise, dedication and unmatched Creole hospitality in dazzling surroundings of untouched, natural beauty. This beachfront paradise, nestled in a secluded bay at the foothills of a magnificent mountain range, offers a private haven for romantics at heart, an activity-packed family getaway or the perfect destination for corporate gatherings and events. Just 30 minutes from the Seychelles International Airport, the resort is ideally situated for day trips and excursions, yet offers much in the way of exclusivity and privacy for those looking to get off the tourist track. From small, home comforts to spacious luxury and bespoke banqueting and wedding packages, the Kempinski Seychelles Resort is an ideal location for those seeking a world-class island getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Prestigia, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kempinski Seychelles Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Seychelles Resort Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing