We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful 50th birthday at Petit Amour Villa”
Review of Petit Amour Villa

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Petit Amour Villa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Glacis
Reading
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful 50th birthday at Petit Amour Villa”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I stayed at Petit Amour villa in January with my wife who celebrated her 50th birthday whilst we were there.The villa sits high up in the hills and has stunning views of Beau Vallon beach and is peaceful and serene and that really is the key to the enjoyment of staying in this villa.Michel and Jon work hard along with their staff to create a lovely calm atmosphere where nothing is rushed so breakfast and dinner, we elected the half board option, is served on the veranda in a unhurried way that really lets you enjoy the whole ambience of the place.
The rooms are all individually decorated and we stayed in the mini suite which overlooked the infinity pool. The beds were very comfortable, the air con pitched just right and the reliable wifi appreciated.
I guess this review could probably describe many places in The Seychelles so the following extras made the real difference to us.
Firstly on arriving we were greeted by a lovely cool iced tea on the candlelit veranda this was very much appreciated after our flight from South Africa.
Secondly every time we came back from a day out we were handed iced flannels to wipe our hands.
Thirdly on going out for the day in our hire car Jon gave us a mobile phone to use to call him if we got stuck which my wife and I though was a terrific gesture-thankfully we didn't need it.
One day when we got to the bottom of the road leading to the villa the heavens opened so we decided to take shelter in a shop till the rain abated, all of a sudden like a guardian angel Jon appeared in his car, a friend who had heard us talking to the bus driver about the villa on the bus we were on had phoned him to tell us that we were at the bottom of the road getting wet. We were very impressed with this extra service.
Finally we had chosen the villa having read other peoples reviews and decided that this would be the place that we celebrated my wives birthday, again we were not disappointed. Jon and Michel made a cake and we were given a bottle of bubbly so it was a joyful happy day for my wife and I and for that I thank Jon and Michel again.
In conclusion if you love peaceful surroundings, alfresco dining, stunning views, bespoke service you will love Petit Amour. We wish Jon and Michel and their staff continued success.

Room Tip: All 4 rooms are beautifully decorated you will not be disappointed with your choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
83
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed at Petit Amour Villa during our 2 week Seychelles holidays and spent our last 5 days there. The villa is located in a very calm neighbourhood high up a hill. It has a spectacular view over the ocean and bay of Beau Vallon. The rooms are very stylish each with a different interior design. Michel and Jon are perfect hosts and made our stay unforgettable. We stayed on 2 other luxury hotels on the Seychelles but we have felt most comfortable in the Petit Amour Villa. Service is very personal, attentive and authentic. The cuisine was really delicious especially Michel's creole dinner is awesome and best we had in the Seychelles. It was hard to leave our new friends and we will definitely go back to the villa on our next Seychelles trip.

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice, master room and Aqua room are upstairs with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Our holiday to Petit Amour Villa was truly a wonderful experience, with the luxurious villa, exquisite cuisine, beautiful scenery, magical sunsets and superb service.

Sitting outside on the veranda just watching the picturesque blue sea flowing to the shores and the sunset lighting up the sky with a beautiful array of colours is one of the highlights of my stay. The views is just absolutely fabulous, coupled with the ambience, heat and a few drinks, all my stresses were forgotten.

The food was fantastic. It was mainly Creole, cooked fresh every day and the menu wasn't repeated unless requested. Generally, they created four/five tasty dishes each night and it is alfresco dining which added to the experience. Breakfast was superb too, with a mixture of fruits and hot food.

The villa is spacious, the rooms beautifully decorated and the beds are very comfortable. All rooms utilised the picturesque view. The pool is perfect to relax in and the front patio is a spacious for all guests to utilise at the same time. The pictures on the website captures the ambience of the villa. It is a luxurious homely place with many features such as free Wi-Fi, 400+ database of movies, free soft drinks and well stocked bar area for the evening entertainment.

Minor negatives are the drive up can be daunting with the rental cars available especially in the tropical rain but the road to the villa is typical around the island so if you like exploring then rent a good vehicle. We used the road to have morning walks to earn our breakfast - we still put on 10lbs in the 2 weeks. The villa doesn't have terrestrial / satellite tv, but makes up for it with the database of movies and free Wi-Fi in each room.

The service in this boutique villa is warm, friendly and GENUINE. Michel and Jon are constantly thinking of ways to improve the holiday such as providing a phone with contact numbers, coolbox of drinks for our catamaran cruise, cooking the fishes we caught when we went deep sea fishing, beach towels and they even happily threw a small dinner party for our friends and family that did not stay at the villa. Their concierge service was greatly appreciated, all the staff at the villa felt like family and I cannot thank everyone enough for making our holiday so special.

Room Tip: The bedroom with the jacuzzi is my favourite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in the Petit Amour Villa and we loved the atmosphere there. It felt as if we were staying at friends' home and the bonus were the weather, views and good company.
We liked dining at the restaurant too. Apart from the very good cuisine that was being served we liked the ambience, the candles, the quietness and the spectacular views (both at night and day). A truly romantic hideaway!
One thing that is missing though is the direct access to the sea. When staying at the Villa you need to have a car to go round to the beaches. But by doing this you can get to see the entire island.
There are no buffet breakfasts and it takes time before you get to be served, it may be a little annoying.

I'd recommend Petit Amour Villa to anybody who is fed up with big hotels and doesn't mind slow and rather small breakfasts.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We went here for an evening meal to celebrate our wedding anniversary and what a wonderful meal it was. We were given complimentary Champagne and the chef made a special cake for us at no extra charge. The whole evening was excellent, the waitresses polite and unobtrusive, food amazing and the atmosphere perfect, we could not have chosen better. Jon and Michel have created something that Seychelles has been lacking for a long time (we have been visiting for over 30 years) - somewhere that gives that little bit extra, excellent service and food and very reasonably priced. We shall be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

My Wife & I stayed half board for 1 week in Petit Amour Villa in November 2013, our second time in the Seychelles. The first time we stayed in Le Meridien, Fishermans Cove which was just about OK. This time we wanted somewhere special and not in a large multi-national chain hotel. What we found in Petit Amour was absolutely wonderful. The villa is owned/operated by Jon and Michel and you could not find two nicer or more helpful hosts. They were there to greet us on arrival with moist refreshing towels and Michel was up at 05.00 on our last morning to say goodbye as we had an early flight. We were given a local mobile on arrival with all the numbers we might need in an emergency!
We had breakfast and dinner each day and the food was excellent. The dinner menu was never repeated, the food was varied, perfectly cooked and presented with style.
The villa is beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and our room was nicely furnished with high quality bathroom fittings.
The view from the hotel is magnificent and the terrace and pool area gets sun all day and you can watch amazing sunsets while sipping your gin & tonic!
The staff were all so nice and gave the impression they wanted to be helpful and make our holiday enjoyable, rather than pretending to be helpful as part of their duties.
There are beautiful beaches located within a couple of km of the hotel, in fact there are beautiful beaches all round Mahe.
Any negatives? No, but be aware as the hotel is located quite high up on a hillside (hence the fabulous views), if you do not have a car it would be a challenging walk back unless you get a taxi.
Keep up the good work Jon & Michel, Petit Amour is an absolutely wonderful place to stay, the best we have ever been in.

Room Tip: All the rooms have the same beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed at Petit Amour for a total of three nights and enjoyed every single minute. There is no welcome quite as warm as the one Michel and Jon provide on arrival. We immediately felt at home. The beautiful view, colorful decor/art, very comfortable rooms, and delicious food are all great reasons to stay at the villa, but the thing that really sets Petit Amour apart from other boutique hotels are the owners. Michel and Jon both go well above and beyond to make sure their guests are taken care of like valued friends. A hotel chain offers a homogeneous experience in every country, but Petit Amour is special -- very special -- indeed!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glacis
0.3 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
2.1 mi away
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
AVANI Seychelles Barbarons Resort & Spa
14.0 mi away
Banyan Tree Seychelles
2.0 mi away
The H Resort Beau Vallon Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Petit Amour Villa

Property: Petit Amour Villa
Address: Sorento, Glacis, Mahe Island 1092, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Region: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Glacis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Glacis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Petit Amour Villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on top of a hill,with breathtaking panoramic views of the mountains, nature reserve, Indian Ocean and the beautiful Beau Vallon Bay, Petit Amour Villa is a spacious, privately-owned residence offering guests the rare opportunity of experiencing a secluded, luxury home in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Petit Amour Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Amour Villa Seychelles/Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing