We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tired hotel”
Review of Sunset Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunset Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Glacis
Xlendi, Malta
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very tired hotel”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Stayed for a couple days, Very friendly, food quite good.
Pool needs painting all sun loungers falling apart.
Bar area is very pleasant, but if you look underneath its all cracking and being held up by scaffolding a little worrying. As this area goes over the sea on a platform. Also be prepared to pay for expensive wine, as they where continually running out of the cheaper brands
Lobby is very nice free internet.
Rooms ok neads TLC , lamp broken paint flaking on the wall, card door was hit and miss.

Room Tip: Rooms are all with sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    100
    42
    53
    30
See reviews for
38
222
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Island of Gozo, Malta
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

hotel in need of renovation,redecoration.
Bar kept running out of wine.
food variable,one day salad had 6 prawns,next only 4.
Room fine,except electronic lock erratic on door.
Staff generally good.Bar manager Hugo excellent.
beach location great.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank brian t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Stayed here over the Christmas holiday, needless to say was NOT at all impressed! When we got to the first room there was a pond under the air -conditioner from a leak. We got into the next room and there was an ant infestation... My wife inquired as to where she could place the luggage, the answer: on the floor. She had to practically beg for a luggage rack. Answer for the ants: here's a can of bug spray. Also, found a good bit of mold in the bathroom. Next subject, the restaurant. Every night I was hassled because I didn't have trousers on for dinner. Had they mentioned the "smart dress" for dinner policy on their website I would have packed trousers... Be advised ripped jeans and a tee shirt is Ok, but shorts and a collared shirt is not... Christmas dinner was a circus to say the least. It was a substandard six course meal. There was no menu to check out prior to sitting down. Each course was bite size and my wife ate one course out of six. To there credit, after much debate, they did not charge my wife for her meal. We were not the only ones disappointed with the meal, three quarters of the other guest were also, but they were mostly angry with the poor service. It took up to three hours for the larger groups to suffer through their meal. While on the subject of service, ten percent of the staff were good, the rest, not so much. I never saw the restaurant manager leave her office. When we had issues she sent out her assistant, who was totally rude! When my wife had a conversation regarding "Christmas dinner" with her, she just got that glazed eyed "would you please just shut up" look. At one point she rolled her eyes at another complaining customer... Most of the staff acted like they were getting teeth pulled with most of our request. The beach is very nice, but there is not ANY beach service. We went to a market to get beverages and went to the bar for ice. No ice buckets and a lot of hassle when given a glass of ice... I could go on more about this place, but don't want to waste anymore of my or your time, in a nut shell, don't stay here! But feel free to visit the beach (all beaches in the Seychelles are public!)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glacis hotels

Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Stayed at this hotel as it was rated #4 on this site. Not sure how it got this rating but apparently, it should be downgraded. We stayed here for Christmas and were severely disappointed with the food, customer service and room. I have never stayed in a place where we could not have alternative food selections when we asked and never been served a Christmas dinner where the entire dining room was visibly upset and hungry when they left. There is no beach food or beverage service and when we asked for an ice bucket we were told none were given out. We were given watered down alcoholic beverages when we ordered after dinner drinks, which was the icing on the cake for us. No wi-fi in the room, so any email or correspondence was open for the lobby occupants to walk by and view. Our phone bill to call the airlines and make an earlier reservation cost us over $100 for 3 phones call of less than 15 minutes. I could go on, but not worth the effort of typing all the things that we wrong and unacceptable. Stay somewhere else and do your research. This hotel needs some serious work on their customer service. The manager that was chewed out by a dining customer on Christmas day dinner promptly turned around and rolled her eyes to the sky, as I watched her do this from the bar where she promptly ignored what she was asked to do and went along with her useless service.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank terrib726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Terrible service!
We went last year in December and had exactly the same terrible experience. They are not friendly at all. The food you order is not available.
The best thing is the beach, but bring along your own food and drink and do not waste your time dining there.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Marc T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Enjoyed a choice anniversary trip here! Very helpful staff, neat environment. The location just by the beach is very enjoyable. The price makes sense for this kind of facility . Can choose it again for future trips to Mahe

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
170 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a total of 3 nights, at either end of our side trip to Praslin and La Digue. The first 2 nights we stayed in room 2 (ocean view room) which was much bigger than I expected for a 3-star hotel and the view was great. The beach at the hotel (which is actually open to the public) was neat. A couple minutes drive from the hotel is Beau Vallon, a long stretch of beach with powder fine white sand and is most suitable for swimming.

Taking advice from another reviewer of this hotel, we exchanged 2 nights of our stay in Sunset Beach Hotel for their sister hotel in Praslin. Upon our return, we got an upgrade to a junior suite (room 23) which was as impressive as the ocean view room except it had an extra lounge area. The buffet breakfast was adequate. Service was first class, they helped us make a booking at the golf course in Praslin.

Our only complaint is the water pressure in the bathroom and particularly the shower which was very weak, at times only dripping, and we couldn't wash our hair or wash off the sand. Also, they have a very limited set dinner menu at night.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Free D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glacis
0.5 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
7.0 mi away
AVANI Seychelles Barbarons Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort & Casino - Seychelles
2.2 mi away
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
1.9 mi away
Savoy Resort & Spa
Savoy Resort & Spa
#2 of 7 in Beau Vallon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Hotel

Property: Sunset Beach Hotel
Address: Glacis, Mahe Island 22440, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Glacis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Glacis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunset Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Glacis
Hotel Sunset Beach
Sunset Beach Hotel Seychelles/Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing