We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Glacis
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
647 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 497 helpful votes
“Great relaxing stay”
Reviewed 3 April 2011

We spent 4 nights here in March 2011. We had originally booked 5 nights but upon arrival, we were offered a night at Labriz. As a Diamond Honors member, we were offered an upgrade to a deluxe oceanview room. We stayed in Room 104. It was very nice.

The room was cozy and even the bathroom had a view of the ocean. It was awesome.

Breakfast was included as Hilton Diamond members. You could order items from a menu which was great as the food always came out hot. Alternatively, there is a buffet to choose from.

There is internet access in the room but not wireless. The speed was adequate for our use.

Hilltop Restaurant - breakfast and dinner is served here. Dinner is buffet. We tried it one night when the theme was seafood. There is a different theme every night. The quality of the food was high. There were various items to choose from that were cooked to order (shrimp, scallop, various types of fish, squid, octopus). Everything was very good.

Le Cocotier Restaurant - we ate dinner here one night. The cost of our meal here was not anymore than the buffet. It was also of high quality. I had prawns with pasta and it was very good and my spouse had australian lamb which was also very good.

Bar - the same menu is served all day. We ate lunch here a couple of times. The fish and chips, club sandwich and spaghetti bolognese are all good. We also tried the Quesadilla and Pad Thai but they were not to our liking.

Room Service - the menu is the same as the bar and the prices are the same although the menu states a charge for delivery, we were not charged for delivery.

Taxis at the airport are not metered. It is a good 30 minutes from the airport to the hotel. The first taxi quoted us 50 euros however, after finding the Hilton Labriz representative, he negotiated a taxi for us for 35 euros. The hotel also offers transport for 35 euros. I would email them prior to arrival to arrange so you do not have to worry about haggling with the taxi cab drivers.

Once a week, the hotel offers free transport to the Botanical Gardens. Admission was 200 SCR for 2 people or 15 euros. However, we were not too impressed with the Botanical Gardens.

There is a manager's reception every Thursday with complimentary drinks but only 1-2 drinks are offered per person.

As a Diamond Hilton member, we were offered 20 minute massages at the spa for myself and my spouse. The spa environment is very nice and the treatments were nice.

There are no kids allowed at the resort which made it pretty peaceful and quiet everywhere you went. There is only one pool and it is small. There really is not much of a beach here, especially during high tide.

If you plan on visiting other islands, my recommendation is to arrange it prior to arriving as there is not a tour desk at the hotel. We did not visit any other islands as we were content just relaxing at the Hilton. It was really enjoyable just hanging around and doing nothing.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Seychelles.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PandaHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    715
    220
    91
    37
    22
See reviews for
62
849
24
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2011

We made the mistake of coming back to Northolme, thinking they had improved since last year. Sadly, the hotel seems strongly committed to providing sub-par service.

Booked two villas, one for me, wife and kid, the other for my sister. In advance, we had requested an early check-in at 12 noon. This was not available, which is OK, so we came back at 1400, only to be told our villas were not available at the moment, but we could sit and have lunch in the bar. No further information was given, so at 1530 we asked the bar staff when our villas would be ready, to which they replied they would be ready at 1800. OK, a hotel can make mistakes, but at least the hotel should take care to inform their guests at timely intervals.

We then went to the reception to ask why they were not ready until then. The reception staff then replied that one of the villas had been ready since check-in at 1400, and all our luggage (incl my sister's luggage meant for the other villa) had been brought there. We then received the keycards for the one villa that had been ready, one and a half hour after checking in.

The other villa for my sister would not be ready until 1800, and she would be compensated with a 20 min massage in the spa for the inconvenience. She was not interested in getting a massage, only access to her villa, as she wanted to freshen up after traveling from Praslin, relax in her villa, and use the pool, beach etc.

We went to the reception again to inform them that this was not a good start for our stay, and suggested that a dinner discount would be acceptable as compensation for the long delay. Not so for the staff, which insisted that the lunch we had been served cost in excess of €200 (the total amount came to about SCR 1000 ~ €40), and that we could expect no more from them. Needless to say, we ate dinner elsewhere, and will never again return to Northolme - which is a shame, since the hotel itself is absolutely beautiful.

Just now we got a call from the reception at Northolme (we are now in an other hotel) and they offered nothing but an apology (since we have received a free lunch (well, we paid dearly for it by not having our villas available) and hoped we would be back for a third visit.

Someone in the management must be extremely short-sighted to believe we will return. Maybe we are just unlucky, but our experience with this hotel is absolutely not good at all. The service and staff commitment is clearly non-existent, to be honest, we've stayed i B&B's which have had far superior service. On the other hand, Hilton's junior staff, such as the gate guards, ground keepers etc, which are all very friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank nimenime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
80 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2011

We were on our honeymoon to seychelles and chose this property to stay with
i must say out of the various choices we do have there and it being so difficult to choose our choice of choosing Hilton was just perfect
the whole arrangement by the management made us feel so special and welcoming
from our pick up to drop everything was simply perfect
the rooms are superb with great views of the ocean from your balcony where you van just lie back and enjoy the beauty of nature around you
the balcony faces the ocean and the rooms are surrounded by plush greenery
so when you are lying back in the balcony you actually feel you are the only ones there seeing the ocean and enjoying the greenery around
the rooms are spacious and the beds comfortable
the bathroom is very spacious with a very funky shower area and a large tub
the tub was filled with water and rose petals etc for honeymoon couples
the restaurants were great and they chef was sweet to help us vegetarians with some yummy vegetarian flair
the spa was amazing and one shouldnot miss it
and then a small swim in the pool
overall this is a property that must be considered before deciding on any other

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kkunal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2011

Fantastic resort, one of the best Hilton I have ever stayed in.
Spacious room, dvd player, flat screen TV, balcony with a wonderful view. The bathroom is huge and the infinity pool is just beautiful.
If I have to fault it, I would have to say the food wasn't great and pricy, however you can find cheaper restaurant on the island. We also had a driver for a day who took us to the beach and back. I highly recommend it.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank MartaA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2010

My husband and I went here for our honeymoon in October. Coming from the United States, it was a LONG trip, but well worth it. The Seychelles were BEAUTIFUl! I studied that reviews for the Hilton and found them to be very helpful. The resort is small (one employee told us it's the smallest Hilton in the world), but we liked the intimate feel. We didn't see very many guests until the weekend came. We were in a hillside villa for one night and then got upgraded to an ocean side villa. They were the exact same on the inside, just the view was different. The beach is small, but we didn't find it to be a problem. The snorkling at the hotel is some of the best we experienced while we were there, and I wish we would have discovered that earlier in our stay. You can walk to Beau Vallon, which we did one afternoon, but it is a public beach and we found it to be more crowded than we would have liked. The pizza place on the beach is outstanding! We ate at the Hilltop every morning for breakfast and didn't need to eat again until dinner, which saved us more money. We rented a car one day and drove around the island. It was a little difficult to get out of Victoria, but the beaches we saw on the southwest part of the island were stunning. With a 5 minute walk from the hotel, you can get to a shop and purchase water, beer, snacks, etc for much cheaper prices than the hotel. We took advantage of the welcome massage and also got a couples massage. We loved the spa! I also used the fitness center. While not huge, it was clean, had new equipment, and a great view.
Overall, we were impressed with this hotel and would recommend it for anyone looking for a relaxing/romantic vacation.

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank CP9292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2010

We stayed here for part of our honeymoon in August - there is no such thing as early check in at this hotel, even if you ask for it & unfortunately half the flights that go to Mahe from Dubai are night flights and so this is quite a common problem for them that they need to address.

The views were wonderful, the breakfast was overpriced for what it was - v. Simple buffet food.

The infinity pool was v. Small, room service made a lovely welcome arrangement of foliage on our bed & then forgot to clear it away for serveral days - so we were left with what can only be described as a little clump of twigs on the coffee table!

Room service was ok, but they forgot to clear the trays away after we'd eaten, so they were left in the room for a day or so also. A bit lacking in service for such a pricey hotel I'd say.

There are other nice hotels on Mahe & I have no complaints about their Spa, you can book that externally so you don't need to stay there to experience that.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bringer_of_Doom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire,England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2010

We selected this hotel on the basis of the virtual tour which showed the huge bedrooms and en suite bathrooms with views through palm trees to the Indian Ocean. We were not disappointed by the room or the location of the hotel, and the small number of villas gives the hotel a particularly private, select and friendly atmosphere.

We did have one surprise on arrival where we found that all the Hillside villas are (vertically) semi-detached, which hadn't been made clear on the Hilton website, or in any of the Trip Advisor reviews we'd read. We were shown an Oceanfront Villa as a detached upgrade alternative, and decided that the additional quiet and privacy were worth paying for. The views from our private verandah were outstanding. and our stay wouldn't have been as special if we'd had been able to hear noise or conversations from guests directly above or below us in a Hillside Villa.

We found the staff very friendly and attentive, and this more than outweighed any service shortcomings or misunderstandings. The spa was particularly memorable as an oasis of calm with charming staff.

We felt let down in only one significant respect. There were two eight year old children staying at the hotel for the whole duration of our stay. Their parents seemed to believe it was appropriate to allow the boys to fight or throw plastic bottles in the small infinity pool. When we raised our concerns with the General Manager, he made it clear that the Hotel was prepared to relax its "over 13's only" policy for regular Hilton customers, even if it had an inevitably negative impact on the relaxed and select ambiance of the resort.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank michael10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glacis
13.9 mi away
Banyan Tree Seychelles
1.8 mi away
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
14.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
11.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Seychelles
4.9 mi away
Constance Ephelia
Constance Ephelia
#6 of 35 in Mahe Island
3,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa

Property: Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
Address: Victoria, Glacis, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Region: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Glacis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Glacis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TravelUp, Ebookers, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort And Spa
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Hotel Glacis
Hilton Glacis
Glacis Hilton
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing