We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect service in an amazing location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Glacis
Certificate of Excellence
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect service in an amazing location”
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed at the Northolme for three nights over New Years 2011. The hotel was spotless, great service and very comfortable. The room was very large, like your own flat all with ocean views. They provided daily snacks in our room and even a bottle of local rum. The hotel only has 41 villas, so it is small and intimate. They do not allow children so it is a couples hotel and meant for relaxing. They pool was clean and had a great ocean view with non stop waiter service for anything you needed. The morning breakfast was huge, many choices and very fresh.

Room Tip: Ask for the ocean king upgrade, we were in 225 and it was far but very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RM_HiltonNortholme, General Manager at Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your recent stay with us at the Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa. I hope that you have experienced the true magic of the Seychelles and return home with many wonderful memories.

We were very pleased to read that you were very happy with your overall stay with us. You were satisfied with services provided, the ocean views, the comfort and the hotel’s cleanliness.

We place great value on your custom and your continued relationship with Hilton. I look forward to welcoming you back to our small paradise or any of our Hilton Worldwide Hotels in the near future.

With best regards,

Marc O. Schumacher
General Manager
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    715
    220
    91
    37
    22
See reviews for
62
849
24
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bryn Mawr
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Overall, I'd say the Hilton Northolme is a great place to come for an awards stay, but a little on the disappointing side for a paid vacation spot.  We will certainly stay here again when we come back to Seychelles.

The property is without a doubt one of the loveliest we've been to out of many Hilton family resorts. The views are great from just about everywhere. The property is on a hill, and is laid out such that every villa appears to have privacy. There are two beaches accesible from the property. One is a little rocky cove with two sandy patches. The other is a rather long beach on the Beau Vallon side of the hotel. The long beach is rather well protected from the waves, while the little cove appears to not weather the sea too well if there is rough water.

The location of the property is nice. It's about 2km from Beau Vallon, where there are a few restaurant options and a couple of grocery markets (a little further up the road than the beach). Though there are buses that run from just in front of the hotel, I'd recommend renting a car if you are visiting to do more than stay at a lovely property. Many of the nicer beaches for snorkeling on the island are quite a distance (30-40 minute drive), and exploring by bus would take quite some time. 

As for the actual rooms, they are all villas. The villas are great and everything you'd expect from a tropical paradise. They are air conditioned and clean. Each villa has a private deck and a large bathroom. If you don't mind stairs, the villas at the top of the hill are nice (it's a bit of a hike to do several times a day - probably about 90-100 stairs from the reception area). We stayed in a villa at the top of the hill that has a great view out over the small rocky beach of the hotel. You can also see Silhouette in the distance. It's also worth mentioning that there is an Ethernet cable hookup in every villa, so Internet access isn't a problem. 

The facilities are quite nice, and just about the right size for the size of the property.  They pool is a bit small (and a little chilly!), but you'd never really guess that if you're looking out over the infinity pool edge onto Beau  Vallon beach. The spa offers quite a few different therapies and massages, however, there are no male masseurs. Also, if you've been to some other nice Hilton family resorts, be prepared for a more intimate spa experience. This spa fits into a villa that overlooks crashing waves - very nice and calm. It is, however, far from the likes of a Spa Grande, for example, (Waldorf=Astoria Grand Wailea on Maui). Though the beaches are part of the overall "property", I still think it is worth discussing in the context of facilities.  The small rocky cove beach has many lounge chairs and a shower to help wash off the sand. As mentioned above, this small beach seems to take a beating, but that could just be a function of the trade winds at this time of year (December). Its one true plus is that is close to the bar. The long beach does not have any beach furniture, but does have a shower. 

The few eating options on the property are unfortunately a let down, especially when one considers the cost. For about €35 p.p., you can eat a buffet style dinner in a lovely space (Hilltop Restaurant). Add another €45+ for a bottle of wine. The buffet has a different theme every evening. We ate there only two evenings, as in my opinion the quality of the food is substandard (especially for this type of property). The Oceanview Bar has a nice selection of different sandwiches, salads, and main dishes, and the quality is what one would expect from a hotel bar, but not from this type of property. We ate there a few times, and it was inconsistent. One evening the food was good, the next bad. The main restaurant is nice, and the food was markedly better than at the Hilltop Restaurant. In all three dining establishments, the wine selection is limited. As for breakfast, the Hilltop space serves a nice buffet. NOTE: long pants for men are obligatory in the evening in all three locations. It's all open air dining, so be prepared for potentially uncomfortably warm dining. In all honesty, when we visit here again, we will not dine at the hotel. 

The staff at this property are very pleasant and helpful. The only thing I think we would fault the staff/restaurant management on is the coordination of service in the restaurants. The actual demeanor of the restaurant service staff is nice, but it all seems a little disorganized. The wait staff seem to float around, which allows for a lot of balls to be dropped. At the Hilltop Restaurant buffet, it is not possible to order fresh protein and receive on the spot; it is brought to the table by a waiter. However, there seems to be no communication between the cooks and the serving staff. This results in long waits and / or completely dropped orders (at breakfast for omelettes and protein for dinner). There's also an issue with silverware getting cleared with plates and not replaced.  Other than the dining issues, the staff are attentive and appear to strive to ensure you are happy.

Room Tip: If you like views, top of the hill 222, 224, or 226 are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RM_HiltonNortholme, General Manager at Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your recent stay with us at the Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa. I hope that you have experienced the true magic of the Seychelles and return home with many wonderful memories.

We were very pleased to learn that our Resort is one of the loveliest Hilton properties you have visited; the view from your villa was great, you were happy with the location and cleanliness of the Spa and you were satisfied with the overall services provided by the team.

I was really concerned to read about your dissatisfaction that your overall dining experience in our restaurants did not meet with your expectations and I’m sorry you were disappointed. Please accept my sincere apologies for all the inconvenience caused to you during your stay, spoiling an otherwise joyful vacation.

Although it is very disheartening to receive this kind of feedback, we do believe it is the most important way to measure the quality of our service, and how best to improve on those areas in which we fail to deliver on the expectations of our guests.

I hope that you would still patronize the Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa and hence giving us the opportunity to prove that this was a one off incident and have the pleasure of welcoming back to our Resort.

We remain at your disposal for any future requests.

With best regards.

Yours Sincerely

Marc O. Schumacher
General Manager
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

Loving the Indian Ocean Isalnds so much we tried this hotel which is a gem, a beautiful stunning locaton, lovely and quiet and relaxing.

Great accommodation with views to die for also great service top Hilton hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank premier82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RM_HiltonNortholme, General Manager at Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa and for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor.com.

We were very pleased to read that you were happy with the location and the quietness of our resort.

I truly hope that during your stay you were able to experience the true magic of the islands and were able to return home with many happy memories. We look forward to welcoming back in the near future.

With best regards,

Marc O. Schumacher
General Manager
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EU
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Having stayed at The Northolme about 5 years ago but only for one night, we promised to return and have not been disappointed.

The villas are beautiful, the terrace is large and quiet, amenities well equipped.
There is also a jacuzzi bathtub on top of that.

Did not have dinner in the restaurant but serving dinner in the privacy of the villa terrace is not a bad experience at all. Food was OK but nothing special.

The hotel is not large, all accomodations are villas.
The beach is very small and the pool area needs a little updating in my opinion.

Do not miss this Hilton if you are in Mahe. It should be a unique experience, but rent a car and travel around the island to discover its beauty.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank volrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RM_HiltonNortholme, General Manager at Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 December 2011
Dear Guest,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your recent stay at the Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa. I hope that you have experienced the true magic of the Seychelles and return home with many wonderful memories.

We were very pleased to read that you were happy with the villas and you had enjoyed your dining experience on your villa balcony.

With reference to your feedback about the pool, we would like to sincerely thank you for your comments and please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused.

We place great value on your custom and your continued relationship with Hilton. I look forward to welcoming you once more to Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa or any of our Hilton Worldwide Hotels in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Marc O. Schumacher
Resort Manager
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

The most wonderful hotel that I have stayed in for quite some time, probably since the Le Meridian on Bora Bora. This is an exquisite location that is is just lovely, quiet and tucked away on its own lil peninsula, where you can swim and enjoy the sea from nearly every possible angle. The rooms were very discreet and private and you hardly ever saw other guests. All amenities were top-notch and just perfect. But, you paid for this... meals were very pricey and just about everything was plus-plus... phone, internet, breakfast, dinner, water, etc. So if you're going expect to spend a good 20% on top of the room rate for the "extra's" that might be included elsewhere. But, I have to say, it was worth every penny!!

Ohh, they did have a very nice Nespresso coffee maker in the room, which was free, and a very nice touch.

One small critique, the hotel staff seemed to not know what to do with themselves. There seemed to be too many of them, often found chatting in small groups and when they did engage you as a customer, your wants/desires seemed almost a surprise to them; unlike in many other 5 star resorts, where the staff can pretty much anticipate your every and next need. Here, they had no idea what you might want or expect. For example, they kept clearing my plates from the dinner and/or breakfast buffets and not realizing EACH AND EVERY TIME that I would need new silverware - I had to ask every time every day! Like 3 or 4 times in a single meal... that's just not right.

Room Tip: higher rooms had a better view, I thought lower rooms were closer to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bradenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RM_HiltonNortholme, General Manager at Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 December 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa and for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor.com. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

We were very pleased to read that you were happy with the location of the resort, the privacy of the villas, the amenities and coffee machine in your villa.

I was really concerned to read about your comments about the hotel team and the services at the Restaurant did not meet with your expectations and I’m sorry you were disappointed. Please accept my sincere apologies for all the inconvenience caused to you. Your valuable feedback has been greatly appreciated and I have discussed with the Management concerned and the necessary action has been taken.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa or any of our Hilton Worldwide Hotels in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Marc O. Schumacher
Resort Manager
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
250 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Each villa is perched in the hillside overlooking the sea. Some villas are closer to the small beach. The villa is comfortable, attractive and inviting. The employees all seemed to enjoy their jobs. And why not - the hotel is in a lovely quiet location with nothing but the sound of the sea. I enjoyed the hotel very much.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Di D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RM_HiltonNortholme, General Manager at Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 December 2011
Dear Guest,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your recent stay at the Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa. I hope that you have experienced the true magic of the Seychelles and return home with many wonderful memories.

I was pleased to read that you were very satisfied with your villa and the services provided by the team.

We place great value on your custom and your continued relationship with Hilton. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa or any of our Hilton Worldwide Hotels in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Marc O. Schumacher
Resort Manager
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Great spacious rooms/suites right on the beach. Rooms/suites come with a balcony/patio. Hotel beach is small; in exchange the location appears secluded - a perfect place to relax and recharge the batteries. Btw, there is a public bus stop just outside the hotel property that goes to places in the area (if you do not rent a car).

Room Tip: Just great rooms/suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IntlTramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RM_HiltonNortholme, General Manager at Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 December 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa and for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor.com. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

We were happy to read that you were pleased with the location of our Resort, the villa and the view of the ocean.

We place great value on your custom and your continued relationship with Hilton. I look forward to welcoming you once more to Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa or any of our Hilton Worldwide Hotels in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Marc O. Schumacher
Resort Manager
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glacis
13.9 mi away
Banyan Tree Seychelles
1.8 mi away
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
14.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
11.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Seychelles
4.9 mi away
Constance Ephelia
Constance Ephelia
#6 of 35 in Mahe Island
3,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa

Property: Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
Address: Victoria, Glacis, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Region: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Glacis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Glacis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Holiday Gems, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort And Spa
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Hotel Glacis
Hilton Glacis
Glacis Hilton
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing