We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fabulous!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Glacis
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous!!”
Reviewed 3 April 2009

I will recommend this to any couple wanting to have a comfortable Villa
whilst exploring the Seychelles.

The staff where professional and genuinely friendly (not in your face) and for the duration of our 8 night stay we did not once experience unfriendliness, from the gardeners right through to the room service staff, all staff that we encountered where helpful and friendly – and I can really say it is not often you experience this.

The accommodation was decorated in a stylish way and every afternoon when we returned from the beach or our “daily adventure” we would find our room cleaned and a fresh carved fruit platter set out ready for us to enjoy. The only suggestion I would make is that little ice machines are placed in the villas as there is nothing better than enjoying ones favourite drink or sundowner from the mini bar with a couple of ice cubes.

The food was spectacular and compliments to all the chefs that have contributed in me gaining a couple of pounds whilst we where there:)
I can also recommend the duck liver pate (OUT OF THIS WORLD)

Having been to the Seychelles over 20 years ago I was pleased to see that it has not been built up with high rise hotels, the only thing that was a little distressing was the sea life that once existed all around Mahe although I can say the reef surrounding the Hilton Hotel is still full of sea life and it was wonderful having ones breakfast and watching all see activity from the Hill Top Restaurant.

Many thanks to everyone we will return:)

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Smileytraveler_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    733
    229
    93
    38
    23
See reviews for
66
873
24
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, Dorset
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2009

We stayed at this hotel for a week on a bed & breakfast deal. When going for dinner on the first night we were amazed at the prices being charged, 9 euros plus 10% service and 10% tax for a bowl of tomato soup. The wine list was incredible every bottle on the list was 10 times the price we would pay in a british supermarket, we expected to pay hotel prices perhaps 25-30 euros for an average bottle of Merlot but not 74 euros plus 20%. Having got a bill for 78 euros for dinner on the second night, I had two courses from the buffet and my wife one course, this without any wine or water we complained to the management and they did agree to put us on a half board basis for 25 euros each with a glass of wine and water which was fair enough. The staff were very friendly and helpful and provided cold towels and fruit around the pool and beach. Unfortunately the beach is very small and is not good for swimming, the sunbeds are not on the beach but set up a level higher. This resort would not suit elderly people or anyone with a disability as it is very hilly, many inclines or steps to walk up to reach your chalet. We have stayed in many Hiltons around the world but this one does not live up to the usual Hilton standard. We spent our second week in Mauritius at Le Touessrok Hotel, it was chalk and cheese , if the Hilton is classed as a five star hotel then Le Touessrok would be at least seven stars and without excessive charges for wine.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gliderken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2009

Go there for the rooms, the food and the views. The villas are absolutely amazing, all have sea views. The walk-in showers are fabulous. We keep drinking chilled white wine under the shower (once we even ate some wonderfully yummy mango panacotta delivered via room service) every evening before dinner. All while listening to our ipod (you can connect it to the flat screen TV audio)
The Cocotiers restaurant serves excellent gourmet food (I was weary about trying the fois gras but it was yummy). I organised the candlelight dinner on the beach for my partner's 30th birthday. I was able to email the chef direct and discuss a customised menu at length before we arrived. This way, it was a full surprise until the day itself! The dinner was great, with the right amount of intimacy but perfect service.
We dined one evening at the Hilltop buffet restaurant. That was good too with lots of fresh grilled seafood. There was Nicolas Feuillante champagne for breakfast, fresh orange juice. Altogether nice touches.
The spa is first class and the masseuse super friendly and skilled. The restaurants/spa all face the sea with superb views).
Now on the downside, there is hardly any beach at Glacis. So you cannot go for a romantic sunset walk from the hotel. The Bayan tree has a very large beach area and so has Lemuria on Praslin, but we did not stay there so we cannot comment on the other facilities. If you have a car, Beau Vallon beach is 5 mins drive away. It's a long, sugary sandy beach that is perfect for romantic strolls or swims.
There are also hardly any water sports facilities, only some canoes which no one seem to be using. But that seems to be the case for other hotels in the Seychelles. That must be because the surf is too strong everywhere. Compare this to Mauritius where large lagoons enable you to enjoy a wide rande of free water activities.
Also, I thought the reception staff lacked expertise. All of them (apart from a trainee from Seychelles) are foreign staff who are on a short term employment (I believe). They are mostly useless at making restaurant bookings or confirming them, getting you information about flight departures (our flight was delayed and they did not notify us even if the airline told us they called the hotel) or giving you any relevant information about check-in time information, ferry departures etc. And they never ever come back to you on any questions you asked.
But they are friendly... All other hospitality staff apart from the reception were first class.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Epicureanpenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2008

This is the best Hilton Hotel I know as a Hilton Diamond member. Perfect location and nice staff. But we are of the trips you can book in the hotel. The trips are operated by Masons and are far below the Hilton quilty standard. For example: The transport you on oxcarts with bleeding oxes. See the pictures. I noticed this with the hotel and received after 6 months a reaction. What the said: "theoxcart is the only means of transport in La Digue and this had been approved by the Authorities". This is not the way threat animals!! But you can walk..? And also book another Good hotel for the same price. Succes.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Martijn67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2008

Stayed here for a week at the end of our honeymoon, having read previous reviews i was expecting something special but was disapointed, we had just come from a safari in kenya and found the hotel and service lacking. on arrival we where left waiting in the welcome pavilion for 15 minutes before someone came to check us in. while i wasnt expecting a big deal to be made of the fact it was our honeymoon it was never mentioned. all our previous hotels and safari lodges made us feel special here we we where just another customer we did get two free coctails sent to our room the evening before we wchecked out coincidendly the same time as our bill was sent - unfourtanetly the coctails where milk based which neither of us drank

i had booked several treatments in the spa for my wife via e-mail before we arrived but on arrival these had not been passed onto the spa and we where just told to go to the spa and re-book - we ended up booking just two spa treatments instaed of the five i had originally booked. i had also via e-mail arranged to meet the head chef to decide on a menu for a candle lit dinner - this never materialised and i didnt chase

our key cards where constantly breaking and we had to change them five times i suggested to the receptionist that there was possibly a problem with the reader on the door but this was ignored and the card just replaced. whilst a small complaint it was frustating as our room was at the top of the hill and up 7 flights of stairs incidently overlooking the reception building and noisy air conditioning units

pool was great as mentioned in previous reviews but there was a horrible scum/scale build up along the tiles at the back wall that could have easily been cleaned. the grout lines in the shower in our room where also filty ang green again a five minute job to clean

whilst we where half board we still ended up spending a minimum of €100 a day on lunch and drinks €4 for a soft drink €5 for a bottle of water and €20 for a sandwich. when checking out the bill was over a €100 more than the one left in our room the previous night when queried we where told they had added an increse for a tax increase. there was also a mysterious €25 charge simply explained a a service charge which the receptionist had difficulty explaining. i also found it frustrating that there was an additional tax on the bill despite every drink at the bar having an additional 10% service charge and 7% tax

overall the resort and rooms where beautifull but the service and treatment we received was very disapointing and we felt slightly ripped off especially paying our drinks and service bill

i wont be rushing to stay in a hilton anytime soon

  • Liked — the rooms were well furnished
  • Disliked — staff
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank shouldersmalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2008

Check-in: for Hhonors members was very quick and efficient with a nice tour of the property

Restaurants: We ate at all three restaurants: buffet, bar and fine dining. All meals we had were very good.
Buffet – fine for breakfast but the one meal we ate was overpriced for a buffet at 43 Euros/pp. Wine list had some nice affordable alternatives.
Bar- One evening we just wanted something light (both quantity and price) so we chose to eat at the bar. Setting was very nice overlooking the water and the food was quite good. We were less than happy to find that the same wine list was not offered in the bar as in the restaurant with only French wines being offered. The least expensive bottle was around 50 euro which was ridiculous when paired with the reasonably priced entrees.
Fine Dining- We chose to eat at Le Cocotiers on our last evening as they had advertized in the lobby all week that they were featuring a lobster dinner at 75 Euros/per couple. Unfortunately when the server arrived to present the specials, the price was 75 Euros/per person. Not sure if this was a bait and switch or what, but when I pointed out that the sign said differently she didn’t seem to care. We did not order the lobster dinner. I brought this to the attention of the front desk and they didn't seem any more concerned than the server did.

Villas – Beautiful, and unlike some of the other posts, I had no problem with the shower.

Grounds – Beautiful, but very small beach, which almost disappears during high tide. Snorkeling is pretty good with some of the healthiest coral in the area. Unfortunately some of the villas have a significant amount of construction debris underneath them. This certainly ruins the appearance and our villa happened to look out onto one of the junk piles. As others have mentioned there are a significant amount of stairs to climb depending on where your villas is located.

Service – Hit or miss. Managers cocktail party for Hhonors members was cancelled with no notice – didn’t find out until we went looking for it; servers in restaurants can leave you hanging for quite some time; no confirmation of restaurant reservations, even though they stated that they would leave a voicemail; at other times requests from housekeeping or room service were amazingly quick. Got REALLY tired of the 17% add on to everything – why can’t they just build it into the prices?

General impressions – This a beautiful resort but it has some rough edges to smooth out.

  • Liked — Setting was beautiful
  • Disliked — Geared more towards those who want to relax rather than pursue activities
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank CindiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2008

We travelled to Mauritius and Seychelles and stayed at 3 resorts, starting with a four-night stay at Paradise Cove Resort, we then flew to Seychelles for a seven-night stay at Hilton Seychelles Northolme and we then flew back to Mauritius for a further two nights at Legends Resort. If you want a Word document with my comments on all 3 plus Air Mauritius and Air Seychelles please email me at chris@aptraining.com.au and I will email it back to you.

We arrived at the Hilton fairly late at night and were greeted in their reception office just past the front gate by a charming Austrian woman who gave us fresh orange juice in very unusual glasses in a nice and classy office. We immediately felt accepted and welcomed and she took us through some brief paperwork, explained the resort and took us to our room. While at the room (after we had recovered from the shock of how beautiful it was) we were given five gift vouchers including a couples massage of one hour, a dinner upgrade to their a la carte restaurant Le Cocoterie, a tea ceremony, an exotic spa bath which it turned out included a half bottle of French champagne and two resort bathrobes, and a gift from the gift shop. The total value of these was about $500 Australian.

Our room was an ocean view room of 90 square metres with 3m ceilings. It was almost double the size of the room at Paradise Cove. It was spectacular with an oversized king bed looking across the lounge room out to sea and across to the other side of the bay and so at night we could see night lights. It had a bathroom "to die for" as the shower was open on both sides and measured about 3½ metres by 2 metres with a tiled wall containing the mixer tap and oversized soft-flow shower head and the other side had a low wall with glass to the ceiling between the shower and the large deep spa bath. As a result you could look out to sea while showering. The bathroom had dual wash basins and the bathroom alone was the size of a small hotel room. There was a very large comfortable lounge area with comfortable seating and the huge deck overlooking the sea with table and chairs, two lounges and an extremely comfortable double size large lounge chair.

Dining: The main restaurant is the Hilltop Restaurant which is part of the package as we had taken the half-board package, which is free breakfast and dinner. We were told that we could upgrade to the a la carte restaurant Le Cocoterie at a cost of half of the normal a la carte menu price. As we had arrived late we had dinner in Le Cocoterie the following night and it was definitely five-star.

The Hilltop Restaurant was as good as a buffet restaurant can get. The breakfast came with a choice of omelettes made to order, bacon and eggs etc and these were very good although it took us a week to manage to get the eggs on toast (maybe this is an Australian thing). There appears to be a language and/or cultural clash of understanding especially when I asked for two eggs and bacon and two pieces of toast and I got two pieces of toast (crusts cut off as they always were), one on top of the other with one egg on top and bacon on the side. This provided our morning entertainment waiting to see how it turned out but it always tasted great. Breakfast also included an outstanding range of fruit, pastries, cereals, fish including smoked marlin (which I never tried), cheeses and processed meats. On our first morning we were surprised to find that it also included a bottle of French champagne from which we could take a glass (or probably more if we wished) but we only tried it once.

Dinner at the Hilltop Restaurant always included an excellent range of salads (but watch for the Christophine or chou chou which is choko in Australia), plus various choices of pastas, casseroles, curries, cooked vegetables, chicken, beef, lamb or veal along with a fish selection all selected by you and cooked to order. Also, on the Friday night which was seafood night (this is a very Catholic country) there were large prawns and lobster available and I asked for beef and was given three very small beautifully cooked steaks that appeared to actually be veal and very tender. There was never any difficulty with getting an alternative to what was available.

Wines were very expensive in comparison to Australian prices with the cheapest at about €27 which is about $45 Australian and while we were there they had a special on a Sauvignon Blanc from Chile at €22 or about $36. Wine by the glass was extremely expensive at eight to nine Euros or about $14 or $15 for about 125 mls. Interestingly, at the bar a cocktail cost €12 whereas wine was priced from €14 per glass.

Beaches: From our room we had a view of three of the resort beaches and, at low tide they were very small, at high tide they were under water. The main beach is accessed through the open reception area and has two good sized beaches but would only be about 100 m or so long. This main beach all but disappears at high tide but there is a man-made beach above a high retaining wall and so it stays dry. One-day the sea was a little rough and most of the beach washed away and about half of that came back the next day. While at first we were disappointed by the beaches, after about 24 hours they didn't seem to matter and the water sports were still good regardless. Also, as it is a small resort it only needs a small beach. Also, if you want a very large beach there is a huge beach within about a 15 to 20 minute slow walk which is clearly visible from the ocean view Villas and there is another great beach only a few minutes in the opposite direction next to the Sunset Beach resort.

Massage: The massage was superb. I would recommend that you book your first one as soon as possible and then re-book for one a day every day if you can possibly afford it. It was not cheap at €75 or about $125 but it was top-class and I would rank it at five-star +++! Also, this has to be the best scene you could ever get from a massage room as you look out over rocks and waves washing in and you can see out to sea (not that you can see much during a massage!).
Staff: everybody was fabulous, helpful, and friendly and gave us all the time we needed and even more. This could have been partly to do with the low occupancy at the time but I feel that the service would have been at least as good and possibly better had they been busy. The service of drinks on the beach was often a little slow but maybe that's a good idea. You also don't have to go and order them as the staff come to you.

Extras: While water is very expensive and we got stung nine Euros or $15 for an Italian brand in the restaurant without knowing the price. We then stopped ordering it with dinner but you have two free bottles in the room which were replaced every day. We also had one night when they had a management cocktail evening to discuss our stay and issues. The stay and issues were never discussed but we had so many snacks and drinks that we did not want dinner and therefore saved the one dinner we were due to pay for as we were on a seven-night five-dinner stay with the first night being too late for dinner.

Lunch: we did not pay the extra in our package as we figured a large breakfast and dinner were plenty for us. We were correct and ate the free fruit and/or some biscuits some days and we still managed to put on weight!

Overall: We found the resort stunningly beautiful from the open reception area with views out to sea, the rooms, restaurants etc. We had great food most of the time, excellent service, friendly staff and a lovely atmosphere. Somehow the size of the beaches didn't matter. This is five-star plus and hard to criticise. I would highly recommend this resort for couples who want to be pampered to the extreme.

  • Liked — Pampering and service that was (almost) perfect
  • Disliked — The beaches - but after a few hours it didn't matter!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank ChrispyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glacis
13.9 mi away
Banyan Tree Seychelles
1.8 mi away
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
14.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
11.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Seychelles
11.8 mi away
Kempinski Seychelles Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa

Property: Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
Address: Victoria, Glacis, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Region: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Glacis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Glacis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Hotel Glacis
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort And Spa
Hilton Glacis
Glacis Hilton
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing