We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Moolmanshoek Private Game Reserve
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Protea Hotel Clarens(Clarens)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveller rating
123
24
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
123
24
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorse ridingfree stateout of this worldbeautiful scenerylonger stayattention to detailrelaxing weekendprivate game reservean amazing experiencehonesty barsun roomgreat foodriding experiencefriendly hostsfew yearsspecial weekendthe main reason
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 153 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Well, I visited Moolmanshoek back in December 2011. Sadly I only stayed there for 1 night with friends and family. I can safely say its my favourite place on earth. I'm Irish and love the countryside. We're lucky in Ireland that though our weather is bad our scenery is amazing, but Moolmanshoek had it all, the scenery, the animals, the beautiful accommodation (we stayed in the executive rooms), and the fab weather. The staff are welcoming, the food is gorgeous while dining is relaxed and buffet style. One of our group was an extremely fussy eater and as we informed the manager during our booking they couldn't have been anymore accommodating. Truthfully, my only negative of this trip was that I didn't book in for longer. Personally I love being out in nature and we were lucky to see horses running around in the fields behind our accommodation which was breathtaking. I booked Moolmanshoek in order to see the Meerkats, and sadly because we had to make an early start the following morning our time with the Meerkats was limited, but that just means I will have revisit Moolmanshoek in order to visit the Meerkats properly.

Room Tip: Pick the executive room. For the sake a few extra euro (Rand) its well worth it!!!!!
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Banaltra_ali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2010

This place simply rocks. Its nestled in a magnificent valley that the family (who own and run it) changed from farmland to a nature reserve. The buildings are built of hand cut sand stone. Our room was in the "stable block" it had a wood burning fireplace and a stunning bathroom with free standing bath and big shower. Because its an old building the walls were crazy thick which made it really warm (it was very cold outside) and sound proof.

They use half their property to farm horses and they use some of them for horse-trails. I too run a horse-trail business and I know the work it takes in caring for and training trail horses. We have a herd of 25. They have 350!! Wiseman, the horseman, treats the horses just like horses naturally like to be treated. Happy well trained horses make for awesome rides. There are horses suitable for all levels and I would highly recommend exploring the nature reserve on horse back.

Another wonderful aspect to this lodge is the Meerkat Program. Sheldon takes guests to visit a colony of wild meerkats with whom he has become "friends". They are completely wild and do not depend on humans at all, but they have become accustomed to him and the guests he brings and so allow humans to come very close, within 1 metre, to them. They come out their burrows in their own time so guests need to be patient.

The family is involved in every aspect of the lodge and it shows.

Seriously. You have got to go to Moolmanshoek.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LindsayMML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantelle_vZ13, Guest Relations Manager at Moolmanshoek Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer 4 hat als einziges Zimmer einen Balkon
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantelle_vZ13, Guest Relations Manager at Moolmanshoek Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: try to get a room with underfloor heating in winter!
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantelle_vZ13, Guest Relations Manager at Moolmanshoek Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews