We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb trip”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ficksburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Franshoek Farm and Polo School
Reviewed 16 January 2014

A fantastic trip to a beautiful place to play some excellent polo. Everything from the accommodation to the standard of horses and instruction, the food and the company was first rate, and I had an excellent time. Along with the polo I enjoyed some excellent hikes up into the mountains, fishing for Bass in the lakes, and just relaxing by the Braai with a few beers and some new friends. On the polo side thanks to Rod's superb instruction I improved a great deal, and am looking forward to being able to play to a better standard this season. An unforgettable experience, I hope to see you again soon!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

Absolutely amazing rural setting up in the mountains.

Spacious rooms with lovely features and huge king size beds, windows overlooking the mountains and polo pitch. Traditional buildings.

Fantastic home cooked food and friendly atmosphere.

As soon as you arrive you feel part of the family and completely relaxed.

Polo was great fun and suited all levels from beginner to 0 goal players. Fun relaxed farm chukkas mixed with more competitive matches. Horses for all levels. Really sweet natured ponies who look after you but can step up to matches.

Out-rides up into the mountains for spectacular views over the whole valley.

Great polo coaching from beginners to more advanced players.

Everyone in the groups polo really improved.

If you are looking for relaxed polo and enjoy hiking and walking in a beautiful mountain settling- i could not recommend this holiday more ! I loved it!

I can not wait to book my next trip.

As up at high altitude - would recommend having some baseline fitness before you go out- to ensure you can maximise your polo and hikes !

Room Tip: All the rooms are individual and lovely. The stables over look the mountains. The Rondongel "ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PippaDwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Franshoek Polo School is the most wonderful holiday destination for anyone who likes polo, horses, friendly people, beautiful surroundings, hiking, total relaxation, yoga, good food and good weather. It is a unique setting- you wake up every day and are captivated by the stunning view. The accommodation is set on a hill overlooking a polo field which usually has horses grazing/ running across it with a back drop of stunning mountains. The accommodation itself is beautifully designed to suit the surroundings and is spacious and comfortable. The polo school benefits from a fantastic coach and numerous high quality ponies. The school provide tailored polo sessions to suit your needs and there is a local club for friendly tournaments. There are options to go on outrides if polo is not your thing but if you are keen to get on a horse and if horses are not for you then you can hike in some of the most fantastic mountain ranges I have ever seen. With the benefit of a national park next door you can see non predator wild animals by foot or car.

The family are very friendly and welcoming and provide a fantastic environment for you to relax and feel at home. They provide food which is delicious, healthy and a large amount of it locally sourced.

I cannot recommend this place more- words dont really do it justice and you really need to see it to believe it!

Thank you Franshoek Polo School for another great holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosieLRichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyGrace, Manager at Franshoek Farm and Polo School, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2013

Thanks for your support! All our amazing "polo family" relations make our job easy and fun. Don't leave it too long before your return. Remember, you know where the sun is shining!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

The guys at Franshoek are fantastic. We were a group of 5 staying for a fortnight in late March and we had a great time all round. The accommodation is spacious and comfy and quite a surprise when you consider it is in the middle of nowhere: equally the food is excellent and very homely. The polo experience is terrific, with a good ground on your doorstep and a wide variety of trusty and safe ponies for all abilities. We had excellent mounted lessons and stick & ball in the mornings with organised chukkers in the afternoons as well as some proper matches - competitive but safe. the coach is outstanding and spots what each individual needs to do to improve, giving them tailored personal tuition. Analysis of videos of our play along with the HPA rules DVD and some high goal matches really helped bring it home. All in all a great polo holiday in amazing scenery that has to be seen to be believed, with great hospitality. Definitely going back!

Room Tip: The two rooms at the stables are fantastic and really well located in the centre of everything that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adriana400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Franshoek is about a 4 hour drive from Johannesburg, superbly located in the middle of the mountains around Ficksburg. Although I did stay at Franshoek to play polo, there are plenty of other things hiking, biking, swimming etc. to do. Tracey and Christian are extremely welcoming and will tailor to your needs. Accommodation is a beautiful cottage overlooking the mountain range and the polo field.

There are a large number of polo ponies to choose from to play stick & ball and chukkas, allowing you to change ponies as your riding ability improves. Rod is an excellent polo coach, who will focus (sometimes mercilessly) on the areas you’ll need to improve upon, whether it’s your riding or your swing. Instruction is much more tailor made than I experienced in Argentina and my polo greatly improved.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJ V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Franshoek Farm is a truly beautiful place, set away from the rest of the world.

The rooms in the cottage are spacious and beautiful, yet cosy at the same time.

Tracey and Rod went out of their way to organise a pick up and drop from Jo'burg.

In terms of the actual polo, Rod is a fantastic coach. I really recommend him, especially if like me, you're pretty useless with a mallet.

Thanks for a memorable stay

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Tracey and Christian are wonderful hosts and helped to make my stay really enjoyable! The food was amazing and the tuition and ponies were quality whether your a beginner or a more experienced player. The environment was really relaxed and the extra activities available, were plentiful. The views are stunning, and all the people involved with franshoek are extremely friendly and helped to make my stay extremely fun! Would recommend it to anyone and will defiantly be returning.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ficksburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Oregon Cottage
Oregon Cottage
#8 of 11 in Ficksburg
3 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moolmanshoek Private Game Reserve
0.0 mi away
Springwater Cottages
Springwater Cottages
#1 of 6 in Ficksburg
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Green Acorn Guest House
The Green Acorn Guest House
#6 of 11 in Ficksburg
11 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gewel Gastehuis Ficksburg
Gewel Gastehuis Ficksburg
#7 of 11 in Ficksburg
9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bella Rosa Guest House
Bella Rosa Guest House
#3 of 11 in Ficksburg
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franshoek Farm and Polo School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franshoek Farm and Polo School

Address: Franshoek Farm | Eastern Free State, Ficksburg 9370, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Free State > Ficksburg
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Ficksburg
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Franshoek Farm And Polo School South Africa/Ficksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing