We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stop-over”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Top House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 15 Ladybrand B&B and Inns
Durban, South Africa
1 review
“Wonderful stop-over”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

After a day on the road traveling up from the Cape this is just what we needed! A friendly welcome from the owner with advice on where to get dinner, a beautiful large room with an en-suite shower with ample hot water, a comfy bed with electric blanket and crisp, clean linen, and a wonderful night's sleep. Absolute bliss! Safe parking right outside our room on the property too.

We took a brisk walk through town before dinner to stretch our legs and wished Ladybrand, like so many other SA towns, could find a workable solution to dealing with the litter strewn about so liberally. Despite this it is worth exploring; there is a wonderful sense of history here and locals are very friendly.

We had a really good dinner outside of town at Three Fountains View, overlooking Maseru. It was beautiful watching the sunset from the deck as we sipped our wine and watched the lights come on in the distance. Well worth the stop-over.

Breakfast at Top House was great too; we loved the attention to detail and appreciated the 'real' coffee. So, a BIG thumbs up to this establishment. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyjax2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    11
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
17
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Room with private entrance on a garden, terrace with table and chairs, big room, big bathroom, free parking and WiFi, cable TV with lots of internationals channels. Quiet environment. Good breakfast, owner very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2013

What a lovely stay! We were warmly welcomed by the owners and our room was clean, spacious and very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and the owners were only too pleased to help us with all our questions before driving to Lesotho! We had dinner at the Chinese restaurant nearby which the owner gave us directs to - the food there was fresh and really amazing (although the restaurant service was very slow so only go if you have some patience). Highly recommended B&B and we will definitely go back if we find ourselves near Ladybrand again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We were travelling with friends on our motorbikes doing a route around the outer perimeter of Lesotho. Ladybrand was our first stop - the Top House was our choice of accomodation going on the Trip Advisor recommendation. We were not disappointed - a beautiful house in a quiet part of town, spacious rooms, comfortable and clean, lovely outside patio to relax on after our trip. Hosts extremely welcoming, friendly and helpful, and offer useful information about the town and surrounds. Safe parking for the bikes. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful.Well kept quaint home. Well worth a visit if in this part of the world.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DecoDiver08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Destin, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Top House is a historic home in Ladybrand. I was very pleased with the spacious and well decorated room. A well stocked bookcase made my evening reading a pleasure. Breakfast was first rate and the owners were hospitable and helpful. They helped me make connections into Maseru. A real pleasure.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GEEZER_TRAVELER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyldesley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Stayed here on drive across south Africa . Very friendly reception from owner , room very large , comfortable and clean with exterior access. Landlord very informative about local attractions , easy walk into town . Breakfast very good , well cooked and lots of choice . Recommend the steak and lobster restaurant restaurant in town .... Best steak I've ever eaten !!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderers56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

This is a little gem in the sleepy town of Ladybrand. The hosts are informative and very accommodating, thanks! We cheked in early and left early too and had a lovely drive back to Johannesburg via Clarens on their suggestion. Some of the best scenery in the country!

Room Tip: Room No 1 is great and airy! The smells from the garden are infectious and one can see they really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank safarigirlsafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ladybrand hotels
0.7 mi away
Cranberry Cottage & Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Station House at Living Life
0.8 mi away
Ladybrand Guest House
Ladybrand Guest House
#9 of 15 in Ladybrand
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villa on Joubert
Villa on Joubert
#2 of 6 in Ladybrand
4 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fort Amity B&B
Fort Amity B&B
#10 of 15 in Ladybrand
8 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Oak Tree Lodge
#3 of 6 in Ladybrand
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Top House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Top House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1 Church Street, Ladybrand 9745, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Free State > Ladybrand
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Ladybrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Top House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Top House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing