We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience not to be missed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Station House at Living Life
Ranked #2 of 15 Ladybrand B&B and Inns
kuwait
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“An experience not to be missed”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Authenticity at its best. If your want to experience South Africa, and in particular the Eastern Free State in its original form, you will make a mistake to pass an opportunity to stay with Nicol and Klaradyn. They are excellent hosts, the accommodation is 5 star and the food is unmatched. The atmosphere here is unique and exudes 'real' hospitality. Well done you guys!

Room Tip: All rooms excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lerotholi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
22
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I have stayed in many guest houses over the years. Our experience as a family definitely places The Station House as number one. The accomodation is fantastic. The beds are very comfortable, the bathrooms extravagant, the complimentary refreshments in the rooms are fantastic. The bathrooms are extravagant in their space and appointment. This is truly the gem of Ladybrand. Meals were served in the Station house restaurant. Every meal is served is home made, and the generous portions are absolutely delicious. The whole retaurant is an experience in itself, authentic, creative and beautiful. We sat in the retaurant for hours, enjoying the company of the hosts Nicol and Klaradyn. Our waitress, Veronica,was aglow with fun and seemed to love serving not only us, but all of the patrons. Our teenage choldren really enjoyed it too.

Room Tip: If you are a family, ask for the family room which sleeps 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I can only join in on the previous reviews, especially the one from "Pieter M". Stayed at the Station House in Ladybrand 3rd October 2013 during a bicycle trip in the Free State. The guesthouse is lovely, the rooms decorated very nice, huge shower room and a bathtub with star-view. In the Station Cafe, on the same premises as the Guesthouse, excellent food is served by real fun staff! The owners of the Station House and Cafe, Nicol and Klaradyn definitely have a keen sense of how people feel welcome and ensure that you have a wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torsten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My husband and I stayed at Station House in Ladybrand on 21 July 2013. Wow, what a place! In the heart of South Africa, surrounded by tranquile nature, is the best kept secret of the Freestate. We often stay in Guesthouses and Station House definitely are under the best we have stayed in. It is 5 star service and comfort. Nicole and Klaradyn made our stay comfortable, yet still private. It is a country experience with added luxury. A must stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicol Klaradyn G, Owner at Station House at Living Life, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Hi Judy. Thank you very much for the positive review. We truly appreciate it and hope to see you and your family back soon. Kind regards. Nicol and Klaradyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Station House at Living Life is the true heart of South Africa. Nowhere else will you find the hospitality and true South African charisma as you will find here. You will feel right at home the moment you walk into this unique guesthouse. From a log fireplace in your room to the goose feather duvets, this is the place to go. Then the food from the restaurant is absolutely to die for. Big portions of absolute delight. Extend your trip and make a stop here.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy07_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicol Klaradyn G, Owner at Station House at Living Life, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you very much for the positive comments and good review. We truly appreciate it and hope to you again soon. Kind regards. Nicol and Klaradyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2013

This is a real charming guesthouse where the old Stationmaster's house was converted in a guesthouse. The owners retained the stone house character.

We stayed there on a cold winter's night but the rooms were well heated and with a log fire inside the room. Warm bottles are provided but we with the goose feather duvet it was not neccessary. The adjacent room has a outside bath as well as an inisde shower. \

The owners went into a lot of detail to make the stay comfortable. Apart from the usual teas and coffee in the room, we also had home made rusks and a coffee plunger with ground coffee. Breakfast is provided from the adjacent Station cafe and is to die for with home bake bread and traditional maise porridge (krummelpap). Dinner was also exceptional from at the same restaurant next to a log fire. (take your own wine as they are not licenced).

As we were leaving for Lesotho in the morning, it was no effort for the restaurant to pack us some homemade sandwiches for the road.

This is a must stay for any traveller to the Eatern Free State

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pieter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicol Klaradyn G, Owner at Station House at Living Life, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
I am sorry for only responding now but truly appreciate your positive review. Hope to see you again soon. Kind regards. Nicol and Klaradyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

The Station House at Living Life is the most friendly, homey and hearty place you'll ever visit!!!! Best guest house in Ladybrand. The staff go MORE than the extra mile - being served with a spontaneous smile. This is a MUST visit!!!

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicol Klaradyn G, Owner at Station House at Living Life, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
So sorry for only responding now. We truly appreciate your positive review and hope to see you soon again. Kind regards. Nicol and Klaradyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ladybrand hotels
0.4 mi away
Cranberry Cottage & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Ladybrand Guest House
Ladybrand Guest House
#9 of 15 in Ladybrand
4 reviews
0.9 mi away
Top House Bed & Breakfast
Top House Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 15 in Ladybrand
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Villa on Joubert
Villa on Joubert
#2 of 6 in Ladybrand
4 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fort Amity B&B
Fort Amity B&B
#10 of 15 in Ladybrand
8 reviews
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Oak Tree Lodge
#3 of 6 in Ladybrand
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Station House at Living Life? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Station House at Living Life

Property: Station House at Living Life
Address: 1 Princess Street | Free State, Ladybrand 9745, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Free State > Ladybrand
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Ladybrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Station House at Living Life offers sophisticated accommodation in a country setting for the gentry. Our crisp bohemian bourgeois styled guest rooms flow onto tranquil private gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Station House at Living Life reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing