We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cranberry Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cranberry Cottage
Ranked #1 of 13 Ladybrand B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Excellent quality and real value for money. I really like the fact that they have a restaurant as well with great food. The staff is very friendly and it really did feel like a home away from home. I would definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Businessman1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    44
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
34
40
10
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

We had a lovely time Cranberry. The rooms were top quality with everything in a working condition in every visit. Really warm and cosy guesthouse with great staff. Restaurant were superb with 4 top chefs. thank you for a memorable experience.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PWvV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

I go regularly to Lesotho on business and stay at Lesotho Sun, however it is riduculously expensive and the rooms are shocking. Found this place on the net, and wow. I wish all places I stayed at in my travels was like this. The staff are friendly, quick into Lesotho. Rooms are clean, sheets are crisp - really great. I will be back again and will also plan a trip with my family. Thank you Cranberry, you have a winner!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

The food is very well presented and prepared. Breakfast is awesome and fresh . The staff is very friendly an generous. Rooms are neat, comfortable and cozy. I will recommend Cranberry to anyone. Love this place. Will definitely come again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

I dropped in for lunch when my original destination, Living Life, was closed as it was Sunday. The staff was lovely, the beer was cold, the pizza a bit greasy but the veggies and herbs were fresh and the taste was excellent. The gardens were a great reprieve. I certainly will return for an evening meal.

Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
100 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

This is not a bad place to stay. Rooms are comfortable.....nothing to rave about. The guesthouse is slightly outside the centra of the town and location is quite good. A bonus is that it has a coffee shop, bat and restaurant. Restaurant is fine with a relatively simple range of things like steaks and pizzas etc. my only real complaint was that there is dry walling between rooms and the people next dot could be heard arguing and farting. The breakfast was about average for such an establishment.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob_DM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffreys Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
191 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

The dinner served, was the best steak I have had in SA, a very nice meal. Very friendly and caring staff both at dinner and breadfast. The room was a bit cold (heater not working properly and light entered the room early though a plexiglass skylight which was quite dirty). It took changing 3 different rooms at 9pm to get one that was functioning properly. Stay was nice once we got settled in but not enough heating for the room. Bed was ok. Staff however was good and kept trying to accomodate inspite of their problems with various rooms.

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dorvin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ladybrand
8.6 mi away
AVANI Maseru Hotel
AVANI Maseru Hotel
#7 of 9 in Maseru
3.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
9.2 mi away
Kick4Life Hotel & Conference Centre
0.7 mi away
Top House Bed & Breakfast
Top House Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 13 in Ladybrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ladybrand Guest House
Ladybrand Guest House
#9 of 13 in Ladybrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.4 mi away
Station House at Living Life
0.6 mi away
Fort Amity B&B
Fort Amity B&B
#10 of 13 in Ladybrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranberry Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranberry Cottage

Property: Cranberry Cottage
Address: 37 Beeton Street, Ladybrand 9745, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Free State > Ladybrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Ladybrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranberry Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind in warm Free-State hospitality, while stretching out in our Spacious, Luxurious Suites. Set in a lovely Colonial-style retreat, Cranberry Cottage offers 13 Luxury Rooms, 12 Deluxe Rooms and 9 Self-Catering Rooms, each with crisp linen, sparkling bathrooms, and all the modern mod-cons you may need. Cranberry Cottage features a wellness centre, gym facilities and a swimming pool, all set in lush gardens with outdoor seating. The air-conditioned rooms all come with terrace and garden views, as well as a sofa and satellite TV. They also include a fridge, microwave and tea-and-coffee making facilities. The en- suite bathrooms come with a hairdryer and free toiletries. Guests can relax by the swimming pool and enjoy the guest house's fireplace and BBQ facilities. Cranberry's Restaurant has an a la carte menu, offering an infusion of modern and traditional cuisine. Guests and the public alike, can enjoy our menu, with a wide variety to choose from....Charming to say the least! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cranberry Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing