We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cranberry Cottage & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 15 Ladybrand B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Friendly and helpful staff, very comfortable accommodation, delicious food and beautiful gardens - in fact so pleasant that we extended our stay!! Cranberry Cottage is highly recommended to all travellers

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Jeanette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chantelle75, Public Relations Manager at Cranberry Cottage & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear Jeanette,

We are so delighted that you found your stay with us pleasant, and even more, that we got to spend extra time with you!
Thank you for choosing Cranberry Cottage as your Accommodation of Choice, and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours in hospitality,

Chantelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

We found this "Oasis in the desert" on a Roadtrip from Durban to Cape Town, we booked for a night stayed two and wanted to stay three. It is this place that is our yardstick on how all guesthouses will be judged in the future.
The setting is like being transported to another place, a very good place. The accommodation is magnificent and very comfortable. Would love to be in that room with the fireplace burning brightly on a cold winters night.
The breakfast is adequate and could maybe be stepped up a gear, but only because the standards are so high, The other meals offer great variety, I did have one bad meal, which was attended to in a most professional manner that many a "fine dining" establishment could learn from.
I would, in future, travel slightly out of my way to stay here again.
You can even send your kids to an equipped play area with PS games all setup.

Room Tip: They all looked good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJW13CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chantelle75, Public Relations Manager at Cranberry Cottage & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear DJW,

Thank you for taking the time to Review us. Your time and comments are highly valued. We feel extremely proud that you will take a little of Cranberry with you to every guesthouse you may visit in future.
We are so pleased that we were your accommodation of choice, and that we were able to transport you to a great place, while staying with us. Thank you for reporting your feeling on us revisiting our breakfast offering - it is feedback like this which makes us better.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon, with the same hospitality as last.

Yours in hospitality,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Lovely atmosphere, great service and staff that are always willing to accommodate you. We felt welcomed, adequate parking and Cranberry Cottage were always willing to hear our suggestions, to better their Service.
Thank you to the team at Cranberrry Cottage.

Room Tip: Look at the choice of rooms they offer and choose what suits you best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trish P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We made an unplanned stop over at Ladybrand and after driving around to look for accommodation we decided upon Cranberry, because anybody that takes such good care of their gardens must certainly take even better care of their patrons; we were not disappointed! We felt welcome from the moment we arrived and we continued to enjoy the beauty of nature after our trip through the Golden Gate Park.

Enjoying a great steak and a good bottle of Cape wine, the night was spend in quietness; no truck noises.

We can recommend this place to anybody wanting to travel one of the most beautiful parts of South Africa.

Adv Albert & Estelle Murphy

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Albert & Estell... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This was our 4th stay at Cranberry Cottage going back probably 15 years. We have always gone back there when travelling through the Eastern Free State because our experience there was a delight. Lovely atmosphere, attractive rooms and a really well planned and presented dinner with good alternatives off the dinner of the day menu. All this in a cosy candlelit diningroom. No more- the room was comfortable and clean but the dinner was a great disappointment. No menu of the day, no candlelit atmosphere, brash lighting, TV going as though this was a pub, and a very bland menu. Maybe if you have never been there before it will be OK. However for us the magic that was Cranberry Cottage has gone and we will not go back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

First class accommodations, meals, and service. Just across the border from Maseru, Lesotho. A full service restaurant with an excellent choice of South African wines. Adequate parking, numerous nearby attractions, easy access to Lesotho, and a pleasant historic town.

Room Tip: Separate family-sized suites available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deljohnson2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I booked at Cranberry Cottage for 3 rooms, for 2nights .
Booking confirmation 14906605 dated 22 August .
On arrival at 18H50 on the 26 of August, tired after a long trip from Pretoria we were informed that they had no booking for us and even after showing my printed confirmation they said it was not on their system and they did not have any vacant rooms.
Fortunately we found alternative accommodation.
The following morning I received a phone call from Shirley saying they had received the confirmation for our booking, and they now had room for us, that the mess up was not their fault but was their website booking system.
I advised them that we had made alternative arrangements and would not stay be staying with them.
I was HORRIFIED when INSTEAD of APOLOGISING they DEBIT my CREDIT Card. When they have breached the contract THEY MAKE THE VICTIM PAY!!!!!
When I queried this they say they have a 100% cancellation policy and will not refund my money.
THIS HOW THEY APOLOGISE AND TRY TO MAKE AMENDS WHEN THEY HAVE MESSED UP!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Miranda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ladybrand
8.6 mi away
AVANI Maseru Hotel
AVANI Maseru Hotel
#8 of 10 in Maseru
131 reviews
10.5 mi away
Thaba Bosiu Cultural Village
9.2 mi away
Kick4Life Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ladybrand Guest House
Ladybrand Guest House
#5 of 15 in Ladybrand
6 reviews
0.6 mi away
Top House Bed & Breakfast
Top House Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 15 in Ladybrand
39 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa on Joubert
Villa on Joubert
#2 of 6 in Ladybrand
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranberry Cottage & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranberry Cottage & Restaurant

Address: 37 Beeton Street, Ladybrand 9745, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Free State > Ladybrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Ladybrand
Price Range: £35 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranberry Cottage & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind in warm Free-State hospitality, while stretching out in our Spacious, Luxurious Suites. Set in a lovely Colonial-style retreat, Cranberry Cottage offers 13 Luxury Rooms, 12 Deluxe Rooms and 9 Self-Catering Rooms, each with crisp linen, sparkling bathrooms, and all the modern mod-cons you may need. Cranberry Cottage features a wellness centre, gym facilities and a swimming pool, all set in lush gardens with outdoor seating. The air-conditioned rooms all come with terrace and garden views, as well as a sofa and satellite TV. They also include a fridge, microwave and tea-and-coffee making facilities. The en- suite bathrooms come with a hairdryer and free toiletries. Guests can relax by the swimming pool and enjoy the guest house's fireplace and BBQ facilities. Cranberry's Restaurant has an a la carte menu, offering an infusion of modern and traditional cuisine. Guests and the public alike, can enjoy our menu, with a wide variety to choose from....Charming to say the least! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Cranberry Cottage & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing