We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lot's of class in a charming package”
Review of Cranberry Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cranberry Cottage
Ranked #1 of 13 Ladybrand B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hershey, PA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lot's of class in a charming package”
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

I recently stated Cranbury cottage on a business trip that lasted two nights. Prior to that I've stayed in three other locations in South Africa and Swaziland on my extended business trip. The cranberry cottage is by far the best hotel that I've stayed in during my trip to South Africa and other nearby locations. Not only are the rooms and the grounds just outstanding, the service from the staff is world-class. The restaurant on the grounds is also quite good. For an American business traveler traveling in South Africa for the first time, I have endured many shortcomings in most other hotel locations in which I have stayed. That is not true with the cranberry cottage. Really the only negative I see here is the lack of secure parking for busy times at the hotel. I would definitely recommend the cranberry cottage to any business or holiday traveler to this region. I have traveled extensively in the US and other countries over the years. I was pleasantly surprised by the overall excellent experience provided by the Cranberry Cottage in this small town near the Lesotho border crossing. Well done!

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank viper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chantelle75, Public Relations Manager at Cranberry Cottage, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Viper1,

Thank you for choosing Cranberry Cottage as your accommodation of choice during your recent trip to Ladybrand. We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed staying with us, and that our staff's service to you was world class! We are extremely happy that we could contribute in a positive manner, to your trip to South-Africa, and hope to see you again, should you ever visit this part of the world again.

Yours in hospitality,
The Cranberry Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    44
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
35
40
10
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I took a 12 man film crew to Cranberry cottage and we were pleasantly surprised! Film crews are very spoilt in all their luxuries and are very difficult to please. They were all over the moon with the accommodation and service we received and Cranberry cottage. Thanks to Sherry-Lee that hosted us and made our two nights there very pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Theo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chantelle75, Public Relations Manager at Cranberry Cottage, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Theo,

Thank you for choosing Cranberry Cottage as your accommodation of choice during your recent trip to Ladybrand. We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and glad we could create an "over the moon" feeling for your crew! That, after all, is the business we are in!

We will share your feedback with Sherry-Lee, and hope to host you again soon!

Yours in Hospitality,

"Cranberry Crew"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloemfontein
1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2014

All was well done, very accommodating in earlier breakfast and later stay in the room!Thank you very much! Always feel welcome and i will definitely stay over every time i go to Ladybrand and surrounds. Rick was very hospitable and i thought that he had done his job exceptionably well.Well done guys, i will refer as far as possible

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rudi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chantelle75, Public Relations Manager at Cranberry Cottage, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Rudi,

Thank you for choosing Cranberry Cottage as your accommodation of choice during your recent trip to Ladybrand. We are so delighted to hear that you enjoy staying with us! We are extremely happy that we could accommodate your special requests, and will strive to do so as far as possible during each and every stay.

We will share your feedback with Rick, and hope to welcome you back again soon!

Yours in hospitality,

Chantelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The accommodation was excellent. The room was well appointed and tasteful. The staff were very friendly and helped me with enquiries in the area as the information centre was closed. The breakfasts were substantial and the food of a good quality

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peter John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chantelle75, Public Relations Manager at Cranberry Cottage, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Peter John,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your valued feedback! We are extremely excited that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that we met all your requirements. Thank you for choosing Cranberry Cottage as your accommodation of choice during your stay in Ladybrand, and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Yours sincerely,

Chantelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London, South Africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Friendly and helpful staff, very comfortable accommodation, delicious food and beautiful gardens - in fact so pleasant that we extended our stay!! Cranberry Cottage is highly recommended to all travellers

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chantelle75, Public Relations Manager at Cranberry Cottage, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Jeanette,

We are so delighted that you found your stay with us pleasant, and even more, that we got to spend extra time with you!
Thank you for choosing Cranberry Cottage as your Accommodation of Choice, and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours in hospitality,

Chantelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We found this "Oasis in the desert" on a Roadtrip from Durban to Cape Town, we booked for a night stayed two and wanted to stay three. It is this place that is our yardstick on how all guesthouses will be judged in the future.
The setting is like being transported to another place, a very good place. The accommodation is magnificent and very comfortable. Would love to be in that room with the fireplace burning brightly on a cold winters night.
The breakfast is adequate and could maybe be stepped up a gear, but only because the standards are so high, The other meals offer great variety, I did have one bad meal, which was attended to in a most professional manner that many a "fine dining" establishment could learn from.
I would, in future, travel slightly out of my way to stay here again.
You can even send your kids to an equipped play area with PS games all setup.

Room Tip: They all looked good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJW13CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chantelle75, Public Relations Manager at Cranberry Cottage, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear DJW,

Thank you for taking the time to Review us. Your time and comments are highly valued. We feel extremely proud that you will take a little of Cranberry with you to every guesthouse you may visit in future.
We are so pleased that we were your accommodation of choice, and that we were able to transport you to a great place, while staying with us. Thank you for reporting your feeling on us revisiting our breakfast offering - it is feedback like this which makes us better.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon, with the same hospitality as last.

Yours in hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Lovely atmosphere, great service and staff that are always willing to accommodate you. We felt welcomed, adequate parking and Cranberry Cottage were always willing to hear our suggestions, to better their Service.
Thank you to the team at Cranberrry Cottage.

Room Tip: Look at the choice of rooms they offer and choose what suits you best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ladybrand
8.6 mi away
AVANI Maseru Hotel
AVANI Maseru Hotel
#7 of 9 in Maseru
3.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
9.2 mi away
Kick4Life Hotel & Conference Centre
0.7 mi away
Top House Bed & Breakfast
Top House Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 13 in Ladybrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ladybrand Guest House
Ladybrand Guest House
#9 of 13 in Ladybrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.4 mi away
Station House at Living Life
0.6 mi away
Fort Amity B&B
Fort Amity B&B
#10 of 13 in Ladybrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranberry Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranberry Cottage

Property: Cranberry Cottage
Address: 37 Beeton Street, Ladybrand 9745, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Free State > Ladybrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Ladybrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranberry Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind in warm Free-State hospitality, while stretching out in our Spacious, Luxurious Suites. Set in a lovely Colonial-style retreat, Cranberry Cottage offers 13 Luxury Rooms, 12 Deluxe Rooms and 9 Self-Catering Rooms, each with crisp linen, sparkling bathrooms, and all the modern mod-cons you may need. Cranberry Cottage features a wellness centre, gym facilities and a swimming pool, all set in lush gardens with outdoor seating. The air-conditioned rooms all come with terrace and garden views, as well as a sofa and satellite TV. They also include a fridge, microwave and tea-and-coffee making facilities. The en- suite bathrooms come with a hairdryer and free toiletries. Guests can relax by the swimming pool and enjoy the guest house's fireplace and BBQ facilities. Cranberry's Restaurant has an a la carte menu, offering an infusion of modern and traditional cuisine. Guests and the public alike, can enjoy our menu, with a wide variety to choose from....Charming to say the least! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Cranberry Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing