We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cranberry Cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cranberry Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cranberry Cottage
Ranked #1 of 13 Ladybrand B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toledo, OH
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cranberry Cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed in Katse, a huge room that could accommodate four people. Ii was clean and warm in winter, though we struggled a bit with the heater settings. Breakfast was just fine and dinner in the restaurant was superb. I doubt that there is anything comparable in Ladybrand or nearby.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rweisfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chantelle75, Guest Relations Manager at Cranberry Cottage, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear rweisfe,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback. We are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Katse, as well as the culinary experience we have to offer.

We hope to welcome you back, should you ever visit this part of the world again.

Yours in hospitality,
The Cranberry Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    44
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
34
40
10
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Francistown
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Very pleasant and helpful staff. We had to change our booking, sent them an email and they changed it easily and no questions asked. Stayed in lavender room, absolutely beautiful. Good food, great spa. Would definitely return, but for longer! Only bummer was broken wifi, but am told is normally functioning.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Christine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chantelle75, Guest Relations Manager at Cranberry Cottage, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Christine,

Thank you for taking the time to write this Review. We sincerely value your opinion, and we are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us, and enjoyed all the facilities we have to offer.
Unfortunately you caught us at a time when we experienced issues with our wi-fi, but we are happy to inform you that this has been sorted out - so be on the look out for the "connect to cranberry's wi-fi" message, during your next visit!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Yours in hospitality,
The Cranberry Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloemfontein, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Lovely experience

We bought this weekend on a club auction as part of a fund raising. What a bargain....full romantic package at half the price

We will endeavour to this again very soon.

Cosy, comfortable and a breath of fresh air

Room Tip: Mohale Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank RogerG4415PC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chantelle75, Guest Relations Manager at Cranberry Cottage, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Roger,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your valued feedback. We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that we could offer you with a breath of fresh air!
If you enjoyed the Romantic Weekend Breakaway, you are sure to enjoy the new Romantic SPA Breakaway, we have recently added, and hope to welcome you back soon for this delightful experience!

Yours in hospitality,
The Cranberry Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed our night at Cranberry. Excellent accommodation...very good value: R475 pp got us a fully equipped, beautifully furnished self-catering unit with 2 tvs and a spa bath & breakfast, which was delicious.
We stayed on a Sunday night so the bar and restaurant were closed which made it nice and quiet. Receptionist was very helpful in recommending another place for dinner close by.
All in all a great experience.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chantelle75, Guest Relations Manager at Cranberry Cottage, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Michael,

Thank you for choosing Cranberry Cottage as your accommodation of choice during your recent trip to Ladybrand, and for taking the time to give us your valued feedback. We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed staying with us, and as happy as you are to have found us, we are that you found us!
We hope to welcome you back again soon, and also to treat you to some of our own Culinary delights!

Yours in hospitality,
The Cranberry Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

The reason for my awarding Cranberry Cottage an average rating;
Food & Hospitality - Above average
Rooms - Poor , far too noisy in prefab bird rooms, people smoking on balconies, smoke enters room if sliding door open

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 244Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chantelle75, Public Relations Manager at Cranberry Cottage, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Mark,

Thank you for choosing Cranberry Cottage as your accommodation of choice during your recent trip to Ladybrand. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the food during your stay with us!

We are very disappointed to hear that you experienced an uncomfortable stay, and would like to ensure that we allocate a more comfortable room, according to your needs, during your next visit. We have different types of rooms, and I am sure that we will be able to impress you all around, should you give us the chance again.

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Yours in hospitality,
The Cranberry Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hershey, PA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

I recently stated Cranbury cottage on a business trip that lasted two nights. Prior to that I've stayed in three other locations in South Africa and Swaziland on my extended business trip. The cranberry cottage is by far the best hotel that I've stayed in during my trip to South Africa and other nearby locations. Not only are the rooms and the grounds just outstanding, the service from the staff is world-class. The restaurant on the grounds is also quite good. For an American business traveler traveling in South Africa for the first time, I have endured many shortcomings in most other hotel locations in which I have stayed. That is not true with the cranberry cottage. Really the only negative I see here is the lack of secure parking for busy times at the hotel. I would definitely recommend the cranberry cottage to any business or holiday traveler to this region. I have traveled extensively in the US and other countries over the years. I was pleasantly surprised by the overall excellent experience provided by the Cranberry Cottage in this small town near the Lesotho border crossing. Well done!

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank viper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chantelle75, Public Relations Manager at Cranberry Cottage, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Viper1,

Thank you for choosing Cranberry Cottage as your accommodation of choice during your recent trip to Ladybrand. We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed staying with us, and that our staff's service to you was world class! We are extremely happy that we could contribute in a positive manner, to your trip to South-Africa, and hope to see you again, should you ever visit this part of the world again.

Yours in hospitality,
The Cranberry Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

I took a 12 man film crew to Cranberry cottage and we were pleasantly surprised! Film crews are very spoilt in all their luxuries and are very difficult to please. They were all over the moon with the accommodation and service we received and Cranberry cottage. Thanks to Sherry-Lee that hosted us and made our two nights there very pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Theo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chantelle75, Public Relations Manager at Cranberry Cottage, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Theo,

Thank you for choosing Cranberry Cottage as your accommodation of choice during your recent trip to Ladybrand. We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and glad we could create an "over the moon" feeling for your crew! That, after all, is the business we are in!

We will share your feedback with Sherry-Lee, and hope to host you again soon!

Yours in Hospitality,

"Cranberry Crew"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ladybrand
8.6 mi away
AVANI Maseru Hotel
AVANI Maseru Hotel
#7 of 9 in Maseru
3.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
9.2 mi away
Kick4Life Hotel & Conference Centre
0.7 mi away
Top House Bed & Breakfast
Top House Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 13 in Ladybrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ladybrand Guest House
Ladybrand Guest House
#9 of 13 in Ladybrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.4 mi away
Station House at Living Life
0.6 mi away
Fort Amity B&B
Fort Amity B&B
#10 of 13 in Ladybrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranberry Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranberry Cottage

Property: Cranberry Cottage
Address: 37 Beeton Street, Ladybrand 9745, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Free State > Ladybrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Ladybrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranberry Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind in warm Free-State hospitality, while stretching out in our Spacious, Luxurious Suites. Set in a lovely Colonial-style retreat, Cranberry Cottage offers 13 Luxury Rooms, 12 Deluxe Rooms and 9 Self-Catering Rooms, each with crisp linen, sparkling bathrooms, and all the modern mod-cons you may need. Cranberry Cottage features a wellness centre, gym facilities and a swimming pool, all set in lush gardens with outdoor seating. The air-conditioned rooms all come with terrace and garden views, as well as a sofa and satellite TV. They also include a fridge, microwave and tea-and-coffee making facilities. The en- suite bathrooms come with a hairdryer and free toiletries. Guests can relax by the swimming pool and enjoy the guest house's fireplace and BBQ facilities. Cranberry's Restaurant has an a la carte menu, offering an infusion of modern and traditional cuisine. Guests and the public alike, can enjoy our menu, with a wide variety to choose from....Charming to say the least! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cranberry Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing