We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for a nicer room”
Review of The Inn at 81

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Inn at 81
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Watertown
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

With the AAA discount, a room with a heart shaped jacuzzi was only $120. The room also came with 2 real wine glasses, not just the standard plastic cups you usually get at hotels.

Good water pressure, the jacuzzi filled up fast.

Clean and comfy stay. My only complaint would be some noisy kids running up and down the hall, but that's not necessarily the hotels fault.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrIppy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality I, Owner at The Inn at 81, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Thank you for staying with us! What is funny Is I had to put in a reducer valve in just to cut the water pressure back some, it would shoot right out of the toilet, and sink before. So I am glad you enjoyed your stay. As far as the kids, you let us know if someone is bothering you, reminding people that its a hotel and everyone is entitled to a quite , comfortable stay is all part of a days work.

Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2013

We were on a 3 week trip through the north east into Canada when it was time to stop for the night. We had picked up a coupon at the visitor center for another hotel when we passed this Quality Inn with the sign Spring Special $79.00. closer to the exit. We stopped in and checked the Trip Advisor reviews(of course) while in the parking lot. Had good reviews, went in asked to see a room. She gave us a room in the back which was like the reviews said, old but renovated with the exception of big LCD Tv's, room looked clean and inspecting it, bed felt really comfy...checked in and was told happy hour started in a few minutes. I had read this on the reviews but really...free beer and wine(great for all those Canadians but for this money?) .Lobby was very inviting so we visited with several Canadians coming across the border to shop then went to the best Italian Restaurant connected to hotel which had amazing food. We raved so much about the food the owner gave us free desert, then told the waiters to give the whole restaurant free desert. This was a fun night! The staff was very friendly. I asked why was everyone being given rooms in the back and they replied that the front rooms all had been completely updated with LCD Tv's and for $10.00 more we could upgrade. No, thats OK, I wasn't going to watch TV anyway. Bed was great and we slept very well...all was quiet..in the morning the breakfast was very good. I would highly recommend this hotel. A nice little surprise!
So good to make a good review!

Room Tip: Save the $10 and stay in the back, use the money for the great Italian restaurant, checked front an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doeringranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1traviler, Manager at The Inn at 81, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

We are happy your stay with us was satisfactory and look forward to seeing again during your future. thank you for the great review. we enjoy hearing positive feedbacks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

How can you beat these rates? For the price I was expecting much lower quality, but I was pleasantly surprised. The rooms and lobby were all up to date, clean and comforting. The location is perfect if you are looking to shop or dine (especially sine there is now a restaurant attached to the hotel!). Even though it is close to the highway and the "main strip", I found my stay to be very quiet, lacking vehicle and street sounds. The complimentary breakfast was generous, vast, and fulfilling. The hotel staff was more than pleasant and courteous. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1traviler, Manager at The Inn at 81, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that our location was convenient for your travels. we hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

The staff are very friendly, and very helpful. But, we were in the back part of the hotel that hasn't been renovated yet. Although the room was very clean, the beds were much too soft for our liking. Also, there was a light musty smell in the room. Their breakfast is very good.

Room Tip: Request a room in the renovated part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1traviler, Manager at The Inn at 81, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

we apologize for the lack of satisfaction with the beds, hopefully you will have a better stay during you next travel. thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Stayed at this hotel overnight on a shopping trip to the area. This hotel has recently been updated and has a very pleasant lobby, with complimentary beer and wine before dinner and free continental breakfast in the morning.
Our room was fairly small and basic but was very clean, with a comfortable bed. Because we were at the back of the hotel, it was very quiet as opposed to staying at the other hotels where you hear trucks on the highway all night!
We walked to local restaurants for dinner, although there is a restaurant attached to the hotel.
This hotel is a great option for the budget minded traveller who simply wants a clean pleasant room for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1traviler, Manager at The Inn at 81, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

thank you for your review, we are happy you had a good stay with us. hope to see you for a future visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013 via mobile

The staff are friendly & courteous. The breakfast is good. The rooms are pretty clean and its quiet. We stay twice a year and would recommend it. It was recommended to us as well.
If you're going cross border shopping in Watertown this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Archangel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1traviler, Manager at The Inn at 81, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

we are thankful for your great review and happy to hear you had a pleasant stay at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

my husband and I stayed 2 nights at this hotel
We were very impressed by the standards of service and value for money.
the lady on reception was very pleasant and welcoming , the room was clean and roomy complete with fridge microwave and coffee maker ,The only problem in the room was a badly hung bathroom door which was noisy on closing.
the price of room included a hot or cold breakfast , coffee and snacks were available around the clock and there was even a complementry socaial evening where snacks and alcaholic beverages were free,
My only complaint on this stay was not about the hotel but of another guest who talked for 20 mins outside our room at 06 in the morning.
I will definately stay here again!

Room Tip: the rooms at the back were completly free of traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheba L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1traviler, Manager at The Inn at 81, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

we apologize for the disturbance that occurred during your stay with us. thank you for your feedback and look forward to seeing you again. the hotel staff is glad to know you had a nice visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watertown hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 14 in Watertown
349 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Watertown Fort Drum
0.6 mi away
Ramada Watertown
Ramada Watertown
#7 of 14 in Watertown
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Watertown
Hampton Inn Watertown
#2 of 14 in Watertown
713 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Watertown/Thousand Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at 81? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at 81

Address: 1190 Arsenal St, Watertown, NY 13601-2212 (Formerly Quality Inn and Suites)
Region: United States > New York > Watertown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Watertown
Price Range: £70 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at 81 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at 81 Watertown includes more of what you want when traveling to Northern New York State! We are a completely renovated and upgraded property with all our improvements completed for 2011. Take advantage of our complimentary hot breakfast served daily, and free Wi-Fi in all guest rooms. Additionally, every guest room comes equipped with microwaves, mini-fridges and cable TV. The Inn at 81 Watertown is your best value near the Thousand Islands, Fort Drum, the Great Lakes Seaway Trail, and the entire Northern New York region. We offer the perfect accommodations whether you are in town to visit family stationed at Fort Drum, home to the Army's 10th Mountain Division, or to enjoy a weekend shopping trip from across the 1000 Islands Bridge. We are less than 1 mile from the newly expanded shopping district which includes the Salmon Run Mall, Sam's Club and Wal-Mart. A reminder to our friends from Kingston, Ontario - we are only 25 miles from the Canadian border! Adventure enthusiasts come to experience 14 sets of class III and IV rapids along the Black River. There's snowmobiling at Tug Hill Plateau and snowboarding and skiing throughout the Dry Hill and Thompson Park area. We offer plenty of parking for snowmobile travelers in the winter and are within a few minutes of multiple access points for the Black River. So whether you are Whitewater kayaking, flat water paddling, snowmobiling or skiing we've got you covered at The Inn at 81 Watertown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Inn at 81 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Watertown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing