We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than you pay for!”
Review of The Inn at 81

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Inn at 81
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Watertown
Richmond Hill, Ontario
Level Contributor
123 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“More than you pay for!”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We generally stay at the major chains on road trips, so this choice was not unusual for us. Quality Inns can usually be counted on for competitive pricing and clean, basic accommodations. We were surprised at the offer of a "happy hour" in the lobby with wine, cheese and snacks (we did not partake). Staff were very friendly.

The free breakfast has been upgraded from the former "continental" style, to offering scrambled or boiled eggs, sausage, and pancakes. Quite a deal and time saver for those anxious to get on with the day's travel. A caveat that needs to be mentioned: attached to the motel is Restaurante di Ricardo, an unpretentious Italian eatery, that is not to be missed.

Overall, a fine experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmkwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1traviler, Owner at The Inn at 81, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
WoW, Great review! We are all glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    91
    39
    14
    5
See reviews for
46
97
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Courtice, Ontario
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

great staff , Pricilla on front desk went above and beyond with friendly disposition and genuine sweetness personally delivering extra pillows to my room . It was clean and simple. They did a good job on updating this older building.Basic overall room at a great price. The location is excellent also.Will come back again !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bonnycastleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1traviler, Owner at The Inn at 81, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you very much and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amissville, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Good location just off the interstate, Pet friendly . Nothing special Average room just $15.00 extra for the Dog .

Several close by restaurants to choose from . After a 9 hr drive we ordered delivery from a local pizza place.

Free wine a beer and Nachos Tuesday Wednesday and Thursday , We were there on a Monday They offered me a glass of wine any way, thought that was nice.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fish_oinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1traviler, Manager at The Inn at 81, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
We thank you for your review and are happy you had a good stay at our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again in your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
246 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We had booked on line and used an Expedia Voucher from a previously cancelled trip. The lady who checked us in was pleasant, friendly, and made sure my Loyalty Points were registered correctly ( I had two cards which complicated things for her but she got it right).
Our room was clean with new furnishings and linen. Tons of towels. The refrigerator and microwave came in very handy over our 2 day stay.

Breakfast is served off the lobby in a spacious pleasant room and offers homemade waffles, scrambled eggs, sausages, yogurt, bagels, toast, juice, coffee and tea. I noticed the staff refreshing the eggs and sausages frequently. They keep the drinks and donuts available all day, and nachos and salsa are put out in the evening so it makes a nice spot to hang out and chat by the fireplace.
2. Our room deadbolt would not close but the staff took action when I reported it. I did find the double a bit soft and a bit soft but that was probably because I am used to a very firm queenside bed at home. I moved to the 2nd queen for our last night and I slept very well.
3. We also used the exercise room. They had several machines and a TV to watch while working out. The electronics did not function on some of the units but it didn't really hinder our workout.
3. The hotel is located just off the I-81, and is only 4 minutes to the mall and plenty of other shopping and restaurants.
4. We will stay here the next time we come to Watertown. They made us feel at home.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diverdan28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1traviler, Manager at The Inn at 81, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you so much for your pleasant feedback. We look forward to seeing you again and are very happy you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Due to bad weather, we ended up stranded in Watertown for 2 nights. I'm so happy the local gas station recommended Quality Inn and Suites. The staff was excellent, the rooms pretty good and the onsite restaurant (Ricardos) is excellent. We met the owner and he was wonderfully hospitable. He treated us like we were guests in his home. Thru our 48 hours there, we met other stranded travellers and had a really good time. The Sundowner happy hour was an added bonus. Breakfast is ample and fresh and served in total cleanliness. Thank you Quality Inn, Ricardos, Dick, Cindy for making what could have been drudgery a pleasant and fun experience.

Room Tip: Rooms were warmer on the east side of the hotel in Building 1. Tho, in summer it likely doesn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaN11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1traviler, Manager at The Inn at 81, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for a good review. We are glad you had a enjoyable stay with us. The staff hopes to see you again in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Stay in many hotels and motels for work and was shocked! Cindy checked us in and for a first in months she explained everything in great detail, was extremely courteous AND called once in the room to make sure everything was ok and to see if the room was up satisfaction! Then went to the desk later and Felicia had a smile on her face despite being busy and pointed me in the right direction for a place to eat. Thank You All for making this work trip stay at this location in the midst of winter a great one.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Irishinspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1traviler, Manager at The Inn at 81, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
You are very welcome and thank you for staying with us. We are happy to hear how pleasant your visit at our hotel was.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

We were travelling to Ottawa and had to stop over in Watertown due to freezing rain. We were greeted by a wonderful young lady. Who checked us in quickly.
Overall we found that all the staff were kind and friendly. Plus free WIFI.
This is an older hotel but clean and comfortable. It turned out to be a good stop over during the freezing rain. The bathroom could do with a little upgrade. Otherwise my stay was pleasant. Thank you.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank theJamaicanlawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1traviler, Manager at The Inn at 81, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback and would take your suggestion into consideration. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watertown hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 14 in Watertown
319 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Watertown Fort Drum
0.6 mi away
Ramada Watertown
Ramada Watertown
#7 of 14 in Watertown
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Watertown
Hampton Inn Watertown
#2 of 14 in Watertown
670 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Watertown/Thousand Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at 81? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at 81

Property: The Inn at 81
Address: 1190 Arsenal St, Watertown, NY 13601-2212 (Formerly Quality Inn and Suites)
Region: United States > New York > Watertown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Watertown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at 81 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at 81 Watertown includes more of what you want when traveling to Northern New York State! We are a completely renovated and upgraded property with all our improvements completed for 2011. Take advantage of our complimentary hot breakfast served daily, and free Wi-Fi in all guest rooms. Additionally, every guest room comes equipped with microwaves, mini-fridges and cable TV. The Inn at 81 Watertown is your best value near the Thousand Islands, Fort Drum, the Great Lakes Seaway Trail, and the entire Northern New York region. We offer the perfect accommodations whether you are in town to visit family stationed at Fort Drum, home to the Army's 10th Mountain Division, or to enjoy a weekend shopping trip from across the 1000 Islands Bridge. We are less than 1 mile from the newly expanded shopping district which includes the Salmon Run Mall, Sam's Club and Wal-Mart. A reminder to our friends from Kingston, Ontario - we are only 25 miles from the Canadian border! Adventure enthusiasts come to experience 14 sets of class III and IV rapids along the Black River. There's snowmobiling at Tug Hill Plateau and snowboarding and skiing throughout the Dry Hill and Thompson Park area. We offer plenty of parking for snowmobile travelers in the winter and are within a few minutes of multiple access points for the Black River. So whether you are Whitewater kayaking, flat water paddling, snowmobiling or skiing we've got you covered at The Inn at 81 Watertown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Inn at 81 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Watertown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing