We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Green Hotel That Forces You to Use the Air Conditioner??!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Watertown
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
405 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“Green Hotel That Forces You to Use the Air Conditioner??!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

We stayed at this supposedly "green" Holiday Inn on a Beautiful/clear sunny day with a nice breeze. We wanted to open our room window and sleep with just the outside air for the evening. When we went to open the window, we found that the window was purposely designed to only open about 1-2", not allowing enough air to come into the room to cool it down. We called down to the front desk and they told us we had to use the air conditioner since the windows were purposely rigged not to open too much. We then tried to use the air conditioner for the evening and found it to be a cheap model where the fan went on/off all night, not allowing us to get too much sleep. When we checked out the next morning we were told that is a Holiday Inn property policy not to allow the window to open very much.

Are you kidding me - a grean hotel that doesn't allow you to open the windows and not use the air conditioning?! We felt like caged animals and not allowed to feel at home since we open the window there all of the time. I will NEVER STAY AT A HOLIDAY INN AGAIN due to this stupid policy!! Felt like - we are not allowing our stupid guests to open the window due to liability issues - again, are you kidding me - am an adult professional, not some stupid kid. Stay away from this and ALL Holiday Inns - they are back in the 50's policy-wise, not green anything....

Room Tip: Don't Stay here !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STEBAY711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, ihgcare at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands, responded to this review, 30 October 2011
Dear STEBAY711,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced. Many IHG properties are franchised, independently owned and operated. In this case, the hotel management and ownership determine their own policy regarding the opening of windows, this is not a policy effecting all Holiday Inns. IHG is not involved in the development of these individual hotel policies. Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG.

Sincerely,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    130
    22
    10
    5
See reviews for
126
122
19
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
92 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

New hotel just opened early Oct 2011. Nice property in very good location, sits right on the access to 81 N & S. Property has a small indoor pool and hot tub. 4 stories, on-site restaurant, business center, close to Salmon Run Mall and most of the newer restaurants in town.

Our room was typical Garden Inn - living room, separate bedroom, bath. Since it's new, there are no real negatives. Great sleep number beds. The staff is friendly, they cannot always answer your questions immediately but will get the answer within a short time. Restaurant serves breakfast buffet (however you cannot serve yourself the hot items) plus you can order omelets, french toast, other requests from the grill. Breakfast is $10.95 if not part of your room 'plan'. There is plenty to eat, if you order from the grill, it's prepared quickly and served very hot by one of the many servers. All are friendly having plenty of time to stop and visit with you. Did not eat there for lunch or dinner so cannot comment on those meals.

I would stay there again. All in all it was a positive experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
234 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

We were so surprised & made to feel so welcomed. Special goodie bags & towels folded in the shape of little hearts! Can you believe that from a Holiday Inn Express?! These were wonderful people & they ALL went the extra step to provide a great experience for their guest.
Thank you to the Watertown Holiday Inn Express! Wish we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: Top floor, away from the elevator. No smoking was such a plus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holley-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

Would recommend Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown- New York Easy check in, very comfy beds and great pillows,Free breakfast was nice. Very clean and great location for shopping in Watertown NY

Room Tip: 1st floor room near the indoor pool can be noisy in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

This is a very beautiful place to stay. Staff is very friendly. The room was spaceous, clean and quiet. They were also decorated very nicely, not like a normal hotel room! We did request a room on the front side to stay away from the noise on I-81. Only problem was the extreme crowding in the breakfast area. Would DEFINITELY stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TABARTHOLOMEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

Very friendly & helpful front desk staff. Well situated and relatively clean but checked in to jaccuzi suite #330 on Saturday to find the shower curtain full of hairs. Paid almost $200 a night for a room that faced interstate 81 and all of the vehicle noise associated with it plus weekend housekeeping staff were VERY NOISY IN HALLWAY on Sunday morning but obviously not the same staff on Monday as we didn't even know they were there!
Remote control for TV didn't work and nowhere to sit for free breakfast! Room air conditioner noisy and fan would not stay on to drown out noises assaulting us from both out and in the hotel

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Starick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

We have stayed at a few Holiday Inns around the world/country... & Watertown 1000 Islands is like a flagship for this hotel group. Friendly staff, clean & spacious rooms. We appreciate the extra effort... Better than expected. Also well located right on Route 81.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HalBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watertown hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Watertown/Thousand Islands
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Watertown
Hampton Inn Watertown
#2 of 14 in Watertown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 14 in Watertown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Watertown Thousand Islands
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Watertown Fort Drum
0.3 mi away
The Inn at 81
The Inn at 81
#8 of 14 in Watertown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands
Address: 1290 Arsenal Street, Suite 1, Watertown, NY 13601-2294
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Watertown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Watertown
#4 Business Hotel in Watertown
#4 Romantic Hotel in Watertown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Watertown, New York is where great experiences begin at the gateway to the 1000 Islands. We are in the heart of the Watertown, NY shopping district and located near exit 45 just off of I-81. The area's finest attractions, including Boldt Castle, Sackets Harbor and the St. Lawrence River, many local businesses & Fort Drum are just minutes away. Our plaza includes Ruby Tuesdays, Starbucks, Buffalo Wild Wings, Ponderosa, Chipotle, Five Guys, Moe's, Cold Stone Creamery, Planet Fitness, Dollar General and a liquor store. Stay Smart with free wireless & wired high speed internet access, free local phone calls, High Def TV & a guest business center. Begin your day with our complimentary Express Start Breakfast that includes hot items daily including pancakes and as always our signature cinnamon rolls. If you're on the run, pre-order a breakfast-to-go bag. Our Smart Roast 100% Arabica coffee is available 24 hours in our Great Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-1000 Islands
Holiday Inn Express Watertown
Holiday Inn Watertown
Watertown Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing