We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Suites Bedfordview
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Germiston
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Area felt secure. Eastgate mall across the street. Rooms are clean and everything is changed on a daily basis. Looks a lot to a motel, wi fi was very expensive to what we are used to. But it seems that free internet is an issue in joburg. For what you are paying is quite good. Would come back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlita08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 109 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2013

nice business and family hotel although not the newest of the mercures.
easy to reach and good food area in the adjescent shopping center.
airport is easy and fast to reach. beware of nightlong drinking and shouting neighbours...

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank netfix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

The hotel is close to the Eastgate shopping mall and within a short driving distance from the OR Tambo International airport. The Suites are comfortable and well equiped though one do get the feeling that it mainly focus on the business traveller. Shaded under cover parking is available and the property is well secured with main gate security. Front desk staff is professional though they can be more friendly. Mercure Bedfordview is recommended for the business traveller.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerhardhud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Nice hotel, well located near main roads and Eastgate shopping center. Only 15-20 minutes drive from main airport. Mini-suites are convenient and well maintained, although fixtures somewhat dated and in need of upgrade. Staff very friendly. Good value.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McTraveller1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Travelled here with family and a group of university students; For US/Western travelers, this is more like an extended stay hotel than a traditional hotel -- similar to furnished apartments; Location is great -- across the street from a mall and short distance to OR Tambo; Rooms were clean, cool, and spacious (2 bedroom suite); Their shuttle service is simply an arrangement with a local taxi company, but they were on time and price was not bad (200 R one way); Security was good and felt safe for both students and my family; Booked through their website and got great prices; Only area of concern was service -- they take forever to answer the phones in the evenings (quicker to walk to the desk), no housekeeping (extra towels, etc) after 5 or 6, and forget food/drink availabilityafter 10:30 or 11; Daytime service was better, though a smile now and then would be nice! We skipped the expensive breakfast and ate at the mall; Would stay here again, simply for value, security, and location.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

I recently stayed at the Mercure for 2 nights with my family. We noticed the AC, while working, was not cooling the room. Upon further inspection it was blowing cool air out the front as it should but also blowing hot air out of the bottom. After having issues reaching the front desk via telephone for over an hour I finally got through and reported the problem and was told someone would come look at it. After an hour I called again and was told the same thing. After another hour I went down to the front desk myself and finally had the manager and a maintenance person come back to the room with me.

I am not sure where the maintenance staff learns about AC's but he said this was normal. The manager seemed to understand the problem and why it shouldn't be blowing warm air in the room but it was like arguing with a wall when discussing the problem with the maintenance staff. They finally offered to change our room however by that time (thanks to their delays in showing up) I had a child already asleep and I would have to deal with the heat until the next day.

The next morning we got a new room but were offered no assistance in moving the luggage. Upon inspection of the bathroom in the new room we found one of those "Clean and sanitized" banners around the toilet but there was a big and very visible pee stain directly on the toilet seat. I am not sure how someone could have missed it and put on the sign suggesting it was clean.

The pool was also the size of a bathtub.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank feesh13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sekai20
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Germiston
0.8 mi away
Garden Court Eastgate
Garden Court Eastgate
#20 of 67 in Johannesburg
238 reviews
2.5 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#12 of 67 in Johannesburg
350 reviews
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Hotel Eastgate
Courtyard Hotel Eastgate
#35 of 67 in Johannesburg
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Road Lodge Germiston Lake
Road Lodge Germiston Lake
#3 of 7 in Germiston
15 reviews
1.2 mi away
St Andrews Hotel & Spa
St Andrews Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bedfordview
98 reviews
9.1 mi away
Towers Lodge
Towers Lodge
#7 of 7 in Germiston
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Suites Bedfordview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Suites Bedfordview

Address: 33 Bradford Road | PO Box 75825, Gardenview, Germiston 2007, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Germiston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Germiston
Price Range: £42 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Suites Bedfordview 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fair Trade in Tourism South Africa welcomed the Mercure Hotel Bedfordview as the first Fair Trade certified city-based business hotel in the world. The hotel stands out for exemplary labour standards, environmental policies and commitment to water awareness, energy management and waste recycling and for its comprehensive HIV AIDS program. The hotel is located in an exclusive residential suburb directly opposite Eastgate Shopping and Entertainment Centre, 8 km from OR Tambo International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Suites Bedfordview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Suites Bedfordview Hotel Bedfordview
Mercure Hotel Bedfordview
Mercure Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing