We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Idea of the Time!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Suites Bedfordview

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mercure Suites Bedfordview
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Germiston
Baltimore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“No Idea of the Time!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2009

The rooms did not have clocks!! We had no idea what time it was. We asked for a wake up call for 5am. We got a call at 2am. We had no idea... got everybody ready still seemed dark out so called the lobby and found out it was around 3am. Angrily went back to sleep!

However the hotel is conveniently located across from the mall,near grocery store and the highway. Very close to the airport.
Room service also did a very thorough job cleaning.

Highly recommend Lattelicious for Breakfast at the Mall! Great food and Lattes.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yahya11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    100
    67
    22
    18
See reviews for
53
51
28
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2009

Stayed as part of our rugby trip in South Africa to see the British Lions. The Mercure has a great location, with the mall, restaurants and bars fairly close by. The staff here were all extremely helpful, with one lady at reception managing to book us a table at a famous and packed rugby restaurant\bar in Pretoria (where she lives) for the day of the match - the following day ! The staff really could not do enough for you. Security here is certainly paramount and we always felt secure. The rooms themselves are not spectacular, they are functional and comfortable and when taken into account with the cost, location and staff are certainly worth it. I would certainly stay again .

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winsford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2009

We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite which had a washing machine, fridge and 32" LCD TV
We found this hotel to be exteremly safe, we could walk to the eastgate shopping centre whist being watched from the hotels security lodge.
The room was a little dated but this was more than made up for by the very helpful staff
Overall it offered great value for money

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WinsfordPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2009

In a word DO NOT GO TO THIS HOTEL! What a terrible experience; booked as an overnight stay to break up our journey from London via Dubai to Durban, it seemed in a good location close to airport and opposite mall for food. Manager was rude and refused to accept our booking on grounds that producing our internet confirmed pre paid receipt did not prove we'd paid for the room! What? Well, he said, where is the bank receipt showing the debit? WHAT? turns out of course that our booking had been recorded by the hotel in the wrong month. Rooms BEYOND dingy and dirty, says AC but that's only in the lounge bit. this hotel is like a dirty run down pink motel, tiny filthy pool i wouldn't wash clothes in. Never again - it may be cheap but it is SO not worth it people! Families, you have been warned. No one in their right mind stays in JoBurg anyway on holiday but if you are overnighting stay at the Intercon at the airport. However steaks at Spur in the Eastgate Mall opposite were superb!

  • Liked — location close to airport
  • Disliked — filthy with rude staff
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WarsawBritDip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Germiston hotels

Dorset
Level Contributor
104 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2008

We go to JHB every year to visit family. We stay at the Mercure because of the position, very near to our family. We find the staff efficient and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Our only "grumble" is that over the years the suites have not been "done up" and are now looking tired. We do beleive the intention has been to do up the suites etc. but so far has not. The grounds of the property and pool area are great, and well looked after We do not use the dining room, prefer to have breakfast in the suite. Having a Fridge, microwave etc helps. On two occasions had take-aways from the local delivery company. The menus are in the suites and there is a good variety to choose from. with Eastgate shopping mall literally across the road, and our favourite "take-away" The Bread Basket, and the Bedford Mall just a few minutes drive away, one could not ask for more.

  • Liked — Convenience to shopping Mall
  • Disliked — Rooms showing wear
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Dorsethill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
81 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2008

We stayed in the Mercure for a 7 day conference. This is our second visit. We will be happy to return for a third.

There are many positives: good management and a friendly, competent staff; convenient to airport, freeways, and two malls; useful kitchenettes in 2BR suites; three decent conference rooms. The breakfast is consistently good and, although the hotel doesn't offer lunch or dinner (only a bar), there are ample eateries across the multi-lane road at Eastgate Mall (Bedfordview Mall is only a few blocks away). In addition, there are grocery stores and delis suitable for stocking the in-room kitchenette (fridge, electric burner top, microwave, kitchen ware). The suites are spartan, but clean. Security is prominent.

On the cautionary side, areas of the hotel can be noisy due to road racket or loud guests because the old-style single-pane tilt-open windows are porous to noise. Those windows are important because the in-wall HVAC units are puny and incapable of managing either unusual heat or cold. The AC function is too weak to cool the square footage of the suites on a warm, sunny day; the heating must be augmented by space heaters in cold weather. TV reception is often poor and of very limited selection - just a few channels; upgrading to a decent cable package would be worthwhile. There is pay-for-use WiFi, and limited business services, though no "business center." As mentioned in another review, the pool is essentially a large hot tub sans heater.

For a small conference at a manageable cost, this Mercure is a good choice. It is also a suitable base for doing business in Johannesburg. It is less desirable as a getaway spot or romantic hideaway, much less a resort destination unless there's good reason to go urban despite Kruger and Pilansberg parks nearby. But as a commercial base, it's quite fine.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank anemonefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
461 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 704 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2007

I have stayed in this place for about 5 nights on business. It's adequate, nothing to rave home about, the 'too small for the bed" sheets that another reviewer was complaining about are still there, but I stayed in two different units and both were super clean and comfortable enough. Ask for a unit facing inwards or further from the intersection, it's super noisy if you don't.

The interior is a little dated in the lounge and kitchen but bedrooms are fine. Staff at reception were very helpful and friendly, and wireless in the foyer was great although on a pricey side. Staff elsewhere were indifferent. The best thing about this hotel is its proximity to the airport, also to Eastgate shopping centre, if you want to chill in your room with splendid goodies and bottle of South African wine, do visit the Break Basket gourmet shop in gate 5 of the Eastgate shopping centre, it's simply superb gourmet food from Sth Africa and around the world.

  • Liked — proximity to airport and Eastgate shopping centre
  • Disliked — dated, indifferent service, noisy unless you are further away from the road
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank l-globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Germiston
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Hotel Eastgate
Courtyard Hotel Eastgate
#35 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
12.3 mi away
Mercure Johannesburg Midrand
Mercure Johannesburg Midrand
#36 of 70 in Johannesburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
4.8 mi away
Road Lodge Germiston Lake
Road Lodge Germiston Lake
#5 of 8 in Germiston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
St. Andrews Signature Hotel & Spa
9.7 mi away
Mercure Johannesburg Randburg
9.1 mi away
Towers Lodge
Towers Lodge
#7 of 8 in Germiston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Suites Bedfordview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Suites Bedfordview

Property: Mercure Suites Bedfordview
Address: 33 Bradford Road | PO Box 75825, Gardenview, Germiston 2007, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Germiston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Germiston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Suites Bedfordview 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fair Trade in Tourism South Africa welcomed the Mercure Hotel Bedfordview as the first Fair Trade certified city-based business hotel in the world. The hotel stands out for exemplary labour standards, environmental policies and commitment to water awareness, energy management and waste recycling and for its comprehensive HIV AIDS program. The hotel is located in an exclusive residential suburb directly opposite Eastgate Shopping and Entertainment Centre, 8 km from OR Tambo International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Mercure Suites Bedfordview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Suites Bedfordview Hotel Bedfordview
Mercure Hotel Bedfordview
Mercure Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing