We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK for an overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Road Lodge Johannesburg International Airport
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Germiston
Polokwane, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“OK for an overnight stay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

This was the cheapest hotel that was close to the airport, which was the only reason we chose it. I've stayed at Road Lodges before, and knew what to expect, but this was the worst one I've stayed at. The check in process took forever, as there was only one person working at reception, and there were four people in front of me. Guests who had just checked in, also kept coming back to the reception, as their key cards were not working. This happened to us as well. We got a smoking room, which was not what we requested when making the reservation. Apparently there were no more non-smoking rooms available. Throughout the night we kept hearing doors open and close, which was distracting.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ms_Sadien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    8
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
1
10
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gaborone, Botswana
Level Contributor
72 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

The hotel was ok for the price (maybe not the best value but not to bad), the airport shuttles were efficient (again, maybe a little pricey at R52 each way), and the staff friendly and efficient (the checkin took 2 mins - everything ready prepared). This was completely outweighed by the fact that every single noise inside and outside the hotel seemed to carry into the room - e.g. a sneeze from at least 3 or 4 rooms away down the corridor - depriving me of a good night's sleep, which in the end, is what you want from a hotel. Wish i could be more positive given everything else.

Room Tip: another hotel with thicker walls!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam_in_Africa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Germiston hotels

dubai
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2010

I booked Road Lodged from 08 Apr - 12 Apr 2010 but stayed 1 day less and checked out on 11 Apr itself. The stay was confortable. Room was just enough for one person like me, not small not big though bed could accomodate 2 persons as well. As in Road Lodges, there are no tea/coffee makers inside rooms but thats fine as one could always reach to have drinks near reception. The staff are very helping nature. They treat guests as friendly as possible. They are always helpful in excessing local directory, food, information help etc.
Breakfast is good to better at that price - R50. One gets what one wants from juice, cornflakes, hot drinks, breads, muffins, eggs, etc. You can have a heavy breakfast for a probable long business day ahead. Metered taxis are almost always available in front parking. For lunches/dinners, there is a separate good restaurant just a stone throw away, exactly 50 meters off reception. Else you can order anything from any restaurant through Mr. Delivery.
For local sight seeing as tourist, there are a host of small leaflets available. I wanted to go somewhere on Saturday. I picked one such leaflet and decided to visit Sterkfontein caves. Upon enquiry at reception, staff was so nice to connect and call packaged tour operator...and lo they arrived within 10 minutes to pick me up. I had a great tour on that Saturday. I loved staying there. And I decided to stay in Road Lodge in future business trips as from here almost all areas of Johannesburg are equidistance either on North-east or SouthEast side. Happy tripping...

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anildel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2009

We stayed at the Road Lodge Jo'burg airport on the 1st and 2nd of Oct. The hotel room and the staff were very good and helpful. We have no complains against that.

But out camera and camcorder got stolen from the room when were away. We were told that Jo'burg is very unsafe but we did not know it was this unsafe. This I'm guessing is true for most Jo'burg hotels. So if you are going to step out - make sure you keep everything you would like to see when you get back in the safe/ lock it. We make a mistake and now lost all our trip pictures and videos.

- Purvi

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AP2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
106 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2008

think Motel 6 or whatever super economy hotel in your country.

It might have been OK if there was not this pervasive smell of air freshener, likely labelled as 'pimp oil' or possibly 'eau de phew'

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank saint77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Germiston
1.1 mi away
Road Lodge Isando
Road Lodge Isando
#4 of 8 in Germiston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
1.7 mi away
AirportInn & Suites Isando
AirportInn & Suites Isando
#45 of 68 in Johannesburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
6.0 mi away
Road Lodge Germiston Lake
Road Lodge Germiston Lake
#6 of 8 in Germiston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road
8.6 mi away
Towers Lodge
Towers Lodge
#8 of 8 in Germiston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
1.3 mi away
Town Lodge Airport Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Road Lodge Johannesburg International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Road Lodge Johannesburg International Airport

Property: Road Lodge Johannesburg International Airport
Address: Kruin Street, off Herman Road | Harmelia Ext 2, Germiston 1600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Germiston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Germiston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Road Lodge Johannesburg International Airport 1*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in close proximity to the R24 Airport freeway in a pretty garden. The hotel is easily accessible to all the main feeder motorways for the northern, eastern and western suburbs. For a nominal fee a shuttle bus service is available for the short 10 minute trip to and from O.R.Tambo International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Road Lodge Johannesburg International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Road Lodge Johannesburg International Airport Hotel Germiston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing