We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cottage in Drakensberg; Nice for 50+, but Not for younger People” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandford Park Country Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandford Park Country Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bergville
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cottage in Drakensberg; Nice for 50+, but Not for younger People”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2011

Drakensberg is a beautful Environment for Young and old. Mountains and Hills, so you can expect that hotels are Not luxurous. Like Sandford country Hotel! Parkingplace is free, then you See the Main Cottage, with a Reception on the Left Side. Receptionist was ok, but seemed to have other Things to do then checking in New visitors. All had to do that we could Not decide quickly enough if we would eat there or somewhere Else. Prices of Food and Drinks are okay in this cottage and serveStaff is Nice. We decided to eat the first Night out. Second Night ate here: Nice! Breakfast is also Nice. Birds sometimes come Inside the House, but Did Not matter. There are facilities such As a pooltable or games, for which you have to Pay. In the condition it was i wondered Why? Pool outside was cold and Not clean.
Tv, w-LAN not in our Room. Therefor we had a spare room where Kids could Sleep. Bathroom ok. But Soap and Shampoo Bad. And i don't like to have a warm and Cold crane in the sink. I would suggest this hotel to 50plus People, because it's Not noisy and i guess in Summer they have Nice braai-evenings, because the Garden has the facilities. If Not i would suggest so.
For People under 50: there are nicer places in this Area, where the facilities are more Updated.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcandjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    39
    23
    9
    5
See reviews for
16
45
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of Jules Verne tour in a room in the back area. Rooms were grubby and bed linen tired. The electrics and plumbing appear to have been the work of amateurs. We asked to be moved and were given another room where the windows did not fit and were held together by masking tape. The toilet cistern was near the ceiling with a handle (without a chain) which a smaller person could not reach. The carpets, curtains and upholstery in the main hotel were grubby. The restaurant had very dim lighting as there were no lightbulbs in two of the three ceiling lights.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MollieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bergville hotels

london
Level Contributor
285 reviews
207 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2009

We spent two nights here while on a Jules Verne tour. We found our room to be grubby and in need of redecorating. No doubt some of the rooms are better but our room left much to be desired. It was in a low rise stable block. The carpet was worn and grubby, there was no t.v. and the phone didn't work. When we arrived the room was full of midges and other flying insects. This was the worst hotel we stayed in during our trip.

The hotel generally was good with lovely gardens and pool area and the dining area in the main block was full of character.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biggles51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
108 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2009

Visited this hotel as part of Kuoni Best of Africa tour.

Hotel looks good in brochures and websites but the room we were in definately was not.

On arrival we were told that the room phones were not working and the room safe could not be relied on could not be used in case they didn't open.

No picture in room but screw nail sticikng out where one was once,
Light coloured carpet which was multistained,
TV on bracket high on wall but no remote,
Bed linen and towels stained, there is in my opinion no excuse for this,
Staff were generally abrupt.

More worrying was that there were no fire emergency instructions in the room anywhere.

On the plus side the food and the bar were good.

I believe it was room 14 in the seperate two storey block.

Only hotel on the Kuoni tour we would not recommend.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MolCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
228 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2009

This hotel is included on Kuoni's 'Best of Africa Tour'. This was the fifth hotel on our tour and was another gem. The oldest part of the hotel dates back to 1852 and it was also used as a barracks during the Boer War. The public rooms were in this part of the hotel which is full of character. We especially liked the bar/pub. The walls were covered in all sorts of memorabilia and the barman will provide you with a pen so you can leave a reminder of your visit on the walls. Most of the inscriptions were innocuous!! We were celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary so I wrote a brief note as a reminder of this momentous occasion!

Our room was lovely, very comfortable and well appointed with a small patio with stunning views. We had a terrific thunderstorm during the evening and we sat there watching the spectacular lightening. There was a bottle of sparkling wine and a plate of fruit in our room on arrival - a gesture from the hotel for our special day. A very nice thought.

The dining room had atmosphere. Our 'anniversary dinner' was memorable - for all the wrong reasons. Some of the confusion lay in the fact that the waiting staff had trouble with the English language,and the menu did not correspond with what the chef was cooking! The high point was when the waitresses tried to find a menu that DID correspond with what the chef was cooking!! However we were enjoying a rather good pinotage and found the whole episode hugely entertaining and it added a great deal of 'local colour' - and the food we did get was good. Breakfast was part buffet/part table service and was also very good.

It was a pity that we only stayed here for one night. The gardens and swimming pool looked lovely and it would have been nice to have had a rest day here in the middle of a very packed tour.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smithy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2008

this is a truly beautiful hotel . we had a room in a fairly new extension. it opened out onto a small private patio that had stunning views of the drakensberg mountains. the hotel has an english style garden plus a swimming pool. the meals are buffet style and were excellent. we only stayed for one night but everyone in our tour group wished that we could have stayed longer, i would happily return.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerbirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bergville
20.8 mi away
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bergville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
24.0 mi away
Drakensberg Sun Resort
Drakensberg Sun Resort
#2 of 5 in Winterton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
23.0 mi away
The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
4.1 mi away
Kwaggashoek Game Ranch
Kwaggashoek Game Ranch
#5 of 11 in Bergville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
19.1 mi away
Drakensberg Mountain Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandford Park Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandford Park Country Hotel

Property: Sandford Park Country Hotel
Address: R616 Kleinwaterval Farm, Bergville 3350, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Bergville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bergville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandford Park Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Break away from the hustle and bustle of city life to a serene jewel in the Berg. Set in a picturesque English country garden with a dam and park-like surroundings, what could be more peaceful than just sitting and watching the ever-changing view of the mountains, maybe bird watching, fishing or cooling off in the crystal clear pool. Guests have a choice of 26 traditional rooms furnished in charming cottage-style which look out onto picturesque gardens. They have thatched roofs to ensure that the rooms are warm in winter and cool in summer. A honeymoon suite and rooms with fireplaces are also available.There are also 24 executive rooms to choose from. Each room is finished with modern fittings, have bathrooms with separate bath and shower and private patios with stunning views of the Berg.The interiors of Sandford’s main building are filled with old furniture and memorabilia. In The residents exclusive pub (renowned as the best and cosiest in the Berg), soak in the timeless atmosphere. Dinner is enjoyed in candlelit ambiance, attentive service and memorable cuisine prepared with care so as to seduce both the eye and taste buds. An extensive choice of South Africa’s best wines is at hand. A host of recreational facilities are on offer, such as swimming, volleyball, badminton, pool table, darts, table tennis and walks on the property. There are over one hundred and eighty species of birds to spot as well as canoeing and Florida Bass in the lake.Sandford Park Country Hotel’s convenient location is one of its many unique features. Situated conveniently off the N3, a mere 2 ½ hours from Durban and 3 ½ hours from Johannesburg, this timeless Country-style hotel is ideal for anyone searching for a getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sandford Park Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandford Park Country Hotel South Africa/Bergville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing