We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful setting.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sandford Park Country Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bergville
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

This hotel enjoys magnificent views of the Drakensberg from selected rooms an big park like gardens. We were fortunate to enjoy a large room with good views. The hot water was dangerously hot. Food was adequate. Overall an enjoyable night spent there.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lieselle56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
There are newer reviews for Sandford Park Country Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2013

Had a lovely two night stay in the hotel. The staff was very helpful and friendly and professional. Overall a nice, warm and cosy atmosphere. Rooms very neat and clean and well kept.

Overall the food was good, breakfast buffet up to standard and food nicely prepared and presented. Dinner buffet needs some urgent upgrade, but seems they working on it, looking forward to visiting them soon!

Room Tip: Hotel rooms
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clauressa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We only booked one night at Sandford Park, which is a pity.

Upon arrival, all staff seemed genuinely pleased to see us, and took it upon themselves to ensure that we knew where to check in and ensured we were comfortable. Although we were only there for one night, we had all 3 meals at the hotel. All meals were freshly prepared, and the ingredients were freshly picked from their gardens. We commented about the taste of things like lettuce, tomatoes and the bread was awesome!

We met up with the management team to inspect the magnificent premises. We found the team to be friendly, professional and passionate about the establishment, and keen to lend an ear to any feedback.

Given the opportunity, we would not hesitate to recommend Sandford Park Country Hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: The executive rooms, are on top of a ridge, and the view is stunning
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

The staff and manager were lovely, we were booed in some where else but couldn't get there cos of bad roads, we stayed in the executive rooms which are at the top of the complex they were very comfortable with lovely balconies over looking the drakensbergs, the food in the restaurant was limited to a few items as they only have a small kitchen but it was very well cooked and good value.
There is a nice bar on site as well.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sonyaclairelewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Anyone know the difference between five course supper and BUFET? The owner of this place doesn't!!!

Despite what the website states we were 'treated' to a rather mediocre buffet, and only after some fuss were offered a more or less acceptable meal by on-duty manager Sihle (one of the few highlights in this joint).

The rooms are of adequate size, but poorly ventilated, and most of the appliances don't work properly. Our room was rather hot, and the broken fan was of no help either. Three stars and no air-con? What on earth are the stars for?

Waiting staff in the 'so-called' restaurant rather useless and unfriendly. This is a shame, since this part of the hotel has a lot of heritage. It seems the new owner managed to get his hands on a lot of cheap red oil paint, and indulged his need to redecorate, a skill only out-done by his seemingly non-existent hospitality industry knowledge.

Do yourself a favor, DON'T STAY THERE

Room Tip: Some other hotel, maybe
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ironmountainrobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce M, Manager at Sandford Park Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2013

Thank you very much for your comments, which we value and do try to use constructively. Firstly may we say that we are disappointed that your visit did not meet with your expectations as we are constantly striving to deliver a memorable guest experience, particularly as we are now under new ownership and much has been done recently to restore Sandford to its original classic state. A major part of our emphasis has been on guest experience and hospitality and our staff play a vital role in this regard. We are therefore really pleased that Zinkhle, one of our stars, delivered on your expectation in terms of guest service. She really is an asset to our team. You are quite right that our website incorrectly stated that a five course meal would be offered, please accept our apologies for this. It was outdated copy which should have been removed and which has subsequently been taken off the website. It’s unfortunate that the buffet did not meet with your expectations as we generally receive very good compliments on the buffet which is normally described by guests as good, wholesome, value for money food. We have taken note of the maintenance issues that you refer to and have ensured that the room has been checked. With regards to the red paint, unfortunately this is a matter of personal preference and taste. We would like to take the opportunity to invite you back to Sandford as our guest and provide us with an opportunity to share our lovely property with you as you should have experienced it. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

I spent a night here as a solo visitor on the way up to Joburg. The place is conveniently situated. Entirely run by ladies (the gardeners and the barman are men) which is nice. I stayed at the top of the site in a room with verandah and good view of the Dberg. Warm with lashings of hot water for a bath. Food was fine and service fast: bar a bit disappointing. What is nice is that there are three walks: along the river, around the lake (the best one with lots of birds) and up the hill into farmland. I would recommend it for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rorymac9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

After spending the last 4 months traveling around the country and having to deal with substandard hotels and B&B's. This little place in Bergville was a breath of fresh air. We were welcomed and put in great rooms. They have a new Executive set of rooms. Great views and well kitted out.
The breakfast was great, but the dinner was over priced for what you got.
Overall a great experience.

Room Tip: Spend the extra and get an Executive room.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoffrey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bergville
21.3 mi away
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bergville
249 reviews
22.8 mi away
Champagne Castle Hotel
Champagne Castle Hotel
#1 of 5 in Winterton
893 reviews
19.3 mi away
The Nest Hotel
The Nest Hotel
#3 of 5 in Winterton
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Inkungu Lodge
Inkungu Lodge
#7 of 12 in Drakensberg Region
55 reviews
24.0 mi away
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
20.1 mi away
Drakensberg Sun Resort
Drakensberg Sun Resort
#2 of 5 in Winterton
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandford Park Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandford Park Country Hotel

Address: R616 Kleinwaterval Farm, Bergville 3350, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Bergville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bergville
Price Range: £75 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandford Park Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Break away from the hustle and bustle of city life to a serene jewel in the Berg. Set in a picturesque English country garden with a dam and park-like surroundings, what could be more peaceful than just sitting and watching the ever-changing view of the mountains, maybe bird watching, fishing or cooling off in the crystal clear pool. Guests have a choice of 26 traditional rooms furnished in charming cottage-style which look out onto picturesque gardens. They have thatched roofs to ensure that the rooms are warm in winter and cool in summer. A honeymoon suite and rooms with fireplaces are also available.There are also 24 executive rooms to choose from. Each room is finished with modern fittings, have bathrooms with separate bath and shower and private patios with stunning views of the Berg.The interiors of Sandford’s main building are filled with old furniture and memorabilia. In The residents exclusive pub (renowned as the best and cosiest in the Berg), soak in the timeless atmosphere. Dinner is enjoyed in candlelit ambiance, attentive service and memorable cuisine prepared with care so as to seduce both the eye and taste buds. An extensive choice of South Africa’s best wines is at hand. A host of recreational facilities are on offer, such as swimming, volleyball, badminton, pool table, darts, table tennis and walks on the property. There are over one hundred and eighty species of birds to spot as well as canoeing and Florida Bass in the lake.Sandford Park Country Hotel’s convenient location is one of its many unique features. Situated conveniently off the N3, a mere 2 ½ hours from Durban and 3 ½ hours from Johannesburg, this timeless Country-style hotel is ideal for anyone searching for a getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sandford Park Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandford Park Country Hotel South Africa/Bergville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing