We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend - can't wait to go back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sandford Park Country Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bergville
Reviewed 21 July 2013

A group of 22+ went to Sandford Park Lodge this weekend and had a blast! The staff were so accommodating and hospitable. The pub was the perfect venue for a cold winters evening and the food was amazing! Can't wait to go back! Great value!

Room Tip: Specify your needs and keep in touch with the staff!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lishani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2013

What makes you want to return to same hotel again and again? My opinion is the way you are welcomed and the attitude of the management and staff.

All the members of management and staff are commended on their excellent attitude and service.

The willingness of the staff to help even when arriving late for breakfast or lunch must be noted.

The supply of hot water on a freezing morning or evening was great.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nesu_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I hardly refer a place or destination. To make an effort to post on trip advisor stands testament of how impressed I am. The new executive suites are great. 3 heaters in the room certainly helps the visitors wjo are not able to endure the cold in winter. Scenic walks and a relaxing destination. The owners of the establishment are hands on with the staff and gives the place a "home away from home" experience. Thanks to all at sandford park. Will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pr1n3sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

Excellent lodge and great value for a country hotel warm and friendly staff. A very convenient location close to the drakensberg. The hotel has a lot of history over 160 yrs old. Hiking and other Lesiure activities are available for the
active guests. We enjoyed a short work around the dam. For a longer 3 hr hike there is the farm walk

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deena N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

This hotel enjoys magnificent views of the Drakensberg from selected rooms an big park like gardens. We were fortunate to enjoy a large room with good views. The hot water was dangerously hot. Food was adequate. Overall an enjoyable night spent there.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lieselle56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Had a lovely two night stay in the hotel. The staff was very helpful and friendly and professional. Overall a nice, warm and cosy atmosphere. Rooms very neat and clean and well kept.

Overall the food was good, breakfast buffet up to standard and food nicely prepared and presented. Dinner buffet needs some urgent upgrade, but seems they working on it, looking forward to visiting them soon!

Room Tip: Hotel rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clauressa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We only booked one night at Sandford Park, which is a pity.

Upon arrival, all staff seemed genuinely pleased to see us, and took it upon themselves to ensure that we knew where to check in and ensured we were comfortable. Although we were only there for one night, we had all 3 meals at the hotel. All meals were freshly prepared, and the ingredients were freshly picked from their gardens. We commented about the taste of things like lettuce, tomatoes and the bread was awesome!

We met up with the management team to inspect the magnificent premises. We found the team to be friendly, professional and passionate about the establishment, and keen to lend an ear to any feedback.

Given the opportunity, we would not hesitate to recommend Sandford Park Country Hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: The executive rooms, are on top of a ridge, and the view is stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bergville
21.3 mi away
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bergville
258 reviews
22.8 mi away
Champagne Castle Hotel
Champagne Castle Hotel
#1 of 5 in Winterton
942 reviews
21.9 mi away
Inkungu Lodge
Inkungu Lodge
#7 of 12 in Drakensberg Region
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
The Nest Hotel
The Nest Hotel
#3 of 5 in Winterton
591 reviews
20.1 mi away
Drakensberg Sun Resort
Drakensberg Sun Resort
#2 of 5 in Winterton
968 reviews
24 mi away
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandford Park Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandford Park Country Hotel

Address: R616 Kleinwaterval Farm, Bergville 3350, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Bergville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bergville
Price Range: £79 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandford Park Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Break away from the hustle and bustle of city life to a serene jewel in the Berg. Set in a picturesque English country garden with a dam and park-like surroundings, what could be more peaceful than just sitting and watching the ever-changing view of the mountains, maybe bird watching, fishing or cooling off in the crystal clear pool. Guests have a choice of 26 traditional rooms furnished in charming cottage-style which look out onto picturesque gardens. They have thatched roofs to ensure that the rooms are warm in winter and cool in summer. A honeymoon suite and rooms with fireplaces are also available.There are also 24 executive rooms to choose from. Each room is finished with modern fittings, have bathrooms with separate bath and shower and private patios with stunning views of the Berg.The interiors of Sandford’s main building are filled with old furniture and memorabilia. In The residents exclusive pub (renowned as the best and cosiest in the Berg), soak in the timeless atmosphere. Dinner is enjoyed in candlelit ambiance, attentive service and memorable cuisine prepared with care so as to seduce both the eye and taste buds. An extensive choice of South Africa’s best wines is at hand. A host of recreational facilities are on offer, such as swimming, volleyball, badminton, pool table, darts, table tennis and walks on the property. There are over one hundred and eighty species of birds to spot as well as canoeing and Florida Bass in the lake.Sandford Park Country Hotel’s convenient location is one of its many unique features. Situated conveniently off the N3, a mere 2 ½ hours from Durban and 3 ½ hours from Johannesburg, this timeless Country-style hotel is ideal for anyone searching for a getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sandford Park Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandford Park Country Hotel South Africa/Bergville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing