We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Management Conference”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sandford Park Country Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bergville
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My company recently had a conference at Sandford Park Country Hotel. We were extremely pleased that the conference was a great success.
FIrstly our budget was quite tight. Sandford Park Management staff were able to negotiate an excellent plan to fit my budget. This was very helpful.
We had initially drawn up a conference brief detailing our conference requirements. Our expectations were high. The hotel management team worked closely with me to ensure compliance and delivery. The hotel management team also made several calls to discuss the finer details. They virtually followed the conference brief 99.9%. This was great.
The conference venue was very suitable for our 2.5day conference. Tables were well arranged. Refreshments and mints were sufficient. The presentation screen was perfect. The sound system provided was suitable and effective. Staff were on stand-by to assist with any additional requests.
Food was good during the conference. A menu was designed to suit the confernce attendees. Special dietery requirements were also taken care of.
Accomodation was good and clean. Attendees were pleased with this as it was certainly an improvement over the previous year where another venue was used for our conference. This was a relief!
Due to budget constraints, evening team building activities were self created and executed with the help of hotel staff. Again the team building brief was closely followed by the hotel staff. They went out of their way to assist. The venue was set up and decorated as requested by myself. I was most pleased with the end result.
I was most impressed with the humility and respect shown by management and staff at the hotel. All of them were briefed on our conference. This was evident in their commitment towards ensuring a great conference. Even their house-keeping and garden staff were friendly and willing to assist.
Front office staff were professional and eager to please.
All in all, our conference was a great success. Attendees had all positive comments regarding the venue, food, location of venue.suitability for conferencing etc etc.
I am most pleased that this beautiful venue was our 2014 choice for our conference.

Room Tip: Exec suit is best. View from the balcony is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy_Traveller242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

Used to stay in this hotel once a month when I worked in the area (over 8 years). Having been away from South Africa for nearly 14 years booked for my husband and I to overnight here, as I was wanting to let him experience this lovely hotel. We were not dissapointed. The hotel is under new management since I was last there, and overall all the changes made were good. The new manager welcomed us warmly and made sure that we were happy. The staff were attentive and courteous. Food in the diningroom is still very good and there is a good choice on the four course menu (changes each night). You can enjoy a drink in the cosy pub and the hotel is set in a beautiful, restfull garden, pool, dam (for a nice walk around or some fishing), and all the usual Berg amenities for indoor fun. Our room was in the new block set above the older section and was very nice with a lovely balcony - views othe the Northern Drakensberg from here are stunning. Breakfast was comprehensive and delicious. If you want a good break I can strongly recommend this venue.

Room Tip: There are rooms with thatched roofs in the older section, as well as "normal" roofs in a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAROCAET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Before we talk about the accommodation, let's start with the dinner! The quality of the food and the cooking is really outstanding. No need to even bother looking for restaurants, especially for dinner!

The accommodation is exceptionally well maintained and exceptionally clean. It is located in a slightly isolated position that offers lovely views of the horizon. Just one day spent here was enough to relieve all stress. The yard itself is vast, has a lovely dam and a river literally runs through it!

Driving tip: use the R616 to get there, not the R74 which is in a really bad state at the moment, with roadworks looking like they were progressing very well but suddenly got suspended.

I would recommend a walk around the dam. Games room with table tennis, pool and table soccer was very nice!

In all I felt that I had received good value for money and got back to the city after just 2 days here feeling very, very relaxed.

The dams in the Drakensberg area, especially Sterkfontein Dam, are a lovely sight to behold, it's like you're out at sea.

Finally, Bergville town itself is very small and not geared to cater for tourists; bring everything you will need with you because you might not be able to buy any accessories you might require.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank osigenu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed at the hotel for one night and found it comfortable enough for my needs. The view of the drakensburg mountains in the morning is amazing.

While the hotel rooms themselves have an older feel to them, and the addition of air conditioning would be a plus, having a fan was helpful. The meals were the highlight of the hotel. Both dinner and breakfast were truly amazing. Staff generally were very helpful as well.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank GlobL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed early January for two nights on the great value special couple 2 night break for R1599 including breakfast and 25% off dinner. We found the place incredibly pretty and relaxing. The staff, the manager and owner were welcoming, friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent quality with a varied buffet and the option of a cooked breakfast should you wish. Portion sizes were very generous. The first night there was a set menu available for dinner (5 courses!) which represented incredible value for money and again, the food was great. I believe a set menu option is offered if there are more than 20 people staying. The second night a regular dinner menu was available and once again, the food was fabulous. Our bedroom was well appointed, very comfortable and clean, and of a good size. We had a balcony so could enjoy sitting outside looking at the views. One of the best aspects of this hotel, is the beautiful grounds. You can walk around the lake, around the gardens and go down to the river. It has a little bar which is funky and full of character and the cost of drinks in the bar represent good value. My only tip is that if you do not want to be woken up at about 8.30am by housekeeping (as unfortunately we were), then perhaps mention this in advance. Our minor issue with this was however quickly rectified and the next day it was fine. Overall there is a nice welcoming vibe to the Sandford and we would thoroughly recommend this incredibly pretty and relaxing place.

Room Tip: There is a selection of accommodation available, from standard and executive rooms to cottages and r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sweex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Received the following confirmations per e-mail prior to arrival.

Room No. 12 - Arrived booked into room no. 11
Double Bed - Twin Bed

Visitors not properly informed regarding parking areas - on arrival open curtains to appreciate view only to look into a blue double cab LDV of visitor in Room no. 12.

Complimentary wine as per booking - only received after 3rd request.

Safe in the rooms - not working.

Order Calamari - received hake.

Requested waitress the chef special - answer - Homemade Ice cream.

Will definitely not recommend anybody to

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gerda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Had a lovely peaceful reasonable weekend.
Great rooms, lovely pool, & cosy atmosphere. Saturday Braai was awesome especially as the Sharks won ;) Breakfast spread was really great. Many thanks for my delicious Birthday Cake.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maryzn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bergville
21.3 mi away
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bergville
256 reviews
22.8 mi away
Champagne Castle Hotel
Champagne Castle Hotel
#1 of 5 in Winterton
931 reviews
21.9 mi away
Inkungu Lodge
Inkungu Lodge
#7 of 12 in Drakensberg Region
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
The Nest Hotel
The Nest Hotel
#3 of 5 in Winterton
589 reviews
20.1 mi away
Drakensberg Sun Resort
Drakensberg Sun Resort
#2 of 5 in Winterton
957 reviews
24.0 mi away
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandford Park Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandford Park Country Hotel

Address: R616 Kleinwaterval Farm, Bergville 3350, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Bergville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bergville
Price Range: £86 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandford Park Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Break away from the hustle and bustle of city life to a serene jewel in the Berg. Set in a picturesque English country garden with a dam and park-like surroundings, what could be more peaceful than just sitting and watching the ever-changing view of the mountains, maybe bird watching, fishing or cooling off in the crystal clear pool. Guests have a choice of 26 traditional rooms furnished in charming cottage-style which look out onto picturesque gardens. They have thatched roofs to ensure that the rooms are warm in winter and cool in summer. A honeymoon suite and rooms with fireplaces are also available.There are also 24 executive rooms to choose from. Each room is finished with modern fittings, have bathrooms with separate bath and shower and private patios with stunning views of the Berg.The interiors of Sandford’s main building are filled with old furniture and memorabilia. In The residents exclusive pub (renowned as the best and cosiest in the Berg), soak in the timeless atmosphere. Dinner is enjoyed in candlelit ambiance, attentive service and memorable cuisine prepared with care so as to seduce both the eye and taste buds. An extensive choice of South Africa’s best wines is at hand. A host of recreational facilities are on offer, such as swimming, volleyball, badminton, pool table, darts, table tennis and walks on the property. There are over one hundred and eighty species of birds to spot as well as canoeing and Florida Bass in the lake.Sandford Park Country Hotel’s convenient location is one of its many unique features. Situated conveniently off the N3, a mere 2 ½ hours from Durban and 3 ½ hours from Johannesburg, this timeless Country-style hotel is ideal for anyone searching for a getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Sandford Park Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandford Park Country Hotel South Africa/Bergville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing