We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So beautiful!”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dalmore Farm Guest House
Ranked #1 of 13 Bergville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“So beautiful!”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This place is so nice! We stayed here for two nights to visit the Drakensberg area and though the weather was not in our favor we had a great time.

The farm is located some 6km off the road between Winterton and Bergville (those are the closest villages) and located beneath a small stream. The farmhouse us surrounded by smaller (but still rather large) guest buildings one of which we occupied. A separate buliding is used for breakfast and dinner.

The houses for the guests are spacious and very cosy. They have a private terrace providing nice views over the landscape, a comfortable living area, a fully equipped kitchen and a large bathroom. The houses perfectly combine the rustic charme of the rural setting and the latest vintage chique. We absolutely loved the decor! The only downside for us was that there is no door between bathroom and living room.

Owners and staff a very helpful and friendly and excellent meals are provided. The place further comprises a swimming pool and there are some animals around (dogs, cats, donkeys and goose) which add to the "farm-feeling".

We will come back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    15
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
38
45
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

An awesome getaway, peaceful, and relaxing. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the beds are extremely comfortable. We had booked the dinner for the first night and it was comfort food at its best. The hosts were away for the weekend but there were no hassles and we very well accommodated. We had two one year olds with us and they seemed to enjoy the animals and the open spaces. I highly recommend this getaway and will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heerenveen, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Together with my girlfriend we've traveled from Joburg to Capetown and stopped for 3 nights near Spioenkop National Park @bergville. Dalmore offeres several cottages.

We had a 3 day great stay in a nice spacious room (self catering). The shower was outside, a new experience :) but nice. The farm offers two dining rooms where the landlady Pipa prepares the breakfast and diner. Good quality food! The owners Pipa, Andrew were very friendly and helpful giving us advice on places to stay at the Wild Coast area. I won't forget the dogs which were very VERY friendly and playful. Some feedback: we had some bugs, so maybe install a clambou?

The farm is located in the fields and has a nice serene vibe. Perfect to relax and read a book. The surroundings offer enough: The Drakensbergen (40 minutes because of road works) where we took a hike (12 km) was almost surrealistic. At Spioenkop NR we did a horseback ride. We rode by a rhino who was bathing in the mud (@20 meters from our location), further we saw giraffes, zebras, wildbeests etc.

For us it was a great stay. We definitely recommend it. Cheers Andrew and Pipa!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Dalmore is everything you would expect of a farm stay and much more. The decor is very tasteful and contemporary, the sleep quality fantastic, the shower excellent and the food delicious. Pippa is a friendly and helpful host and very accommodating. We took the entire place for a family reunion weekend and it was just perfect.
We went to Spioen Kop Lodge for lunch and this was in contrast, dreary and old fashioned.

Room Tip: I saw all of the beautiful rooms and mine was the best - an enormous duplex former barn with a bedr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champagnole, France
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

The Dalmore Guest Farm offer wonderful cottage in the middle of the farmland but a short drive from a very nice nature reserve and from the famous Drakensberg range. We stayed in a self-catering cottage all made of stone and very well equipped. This is the perfect place to stay to relax far from the city with plenty of activities around.
The host, Pippa & Andrew are very nice and will make you feel at home.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

This little gem deserves more than a one night stay! Sadly I only booked for a one night stopover on the way from Durban to Johannesburg, but I am definitely going to be back.
From the turn into the driveway with the filtered sunlight coming through the trees and just catching the nearby donkey and foal in beautiful rim lighting this place just charmed me. I was put into the honeymoon suite and immediately regretted that my husband was not present to enjoy the whole experience. The spaciousness of the "room" was really like an apartment with mezzanine bedroom, full sized fridge and kitchen, massive shower area plus claw bath and an enormous patio area with an uninterrupted view plus lambs literally springing around just outside. Both dinner and breakfast were delicious home cooked meals by Pippa who hosted both meals in a separate dining room/building. Whilst I used my little free time to go horse-riding in the nearby Spienkop Nature Reserve, which was fabulous, next time I will definitely do more exploring of the farm itself. As much as I would like to keep this a selfish secret, I totally recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We stayed at Dalmore during the Joberg2c mountain bike challenge. What a delight! Beautifully decorated rooms. Great hospitality and home made food. Ideal for children to explore the farm. This is a must when travelling through the Drakensberg area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bergville
23.4 mi away
Champagne Castle Hotel
Champagne Castle Hotel
#1 of 5 in Winterton
863 reviews
27.7 mi away
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bergville
237 reviews
18.3 mi away
The Nest Hotel
The Nest Hotel
#3 of 5 in Winterton
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.3 mi away
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
6.7 mi away
Sandford Park Country Hotel
25.8 mi away
Drakensberg Mountain Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Dalmore Farm Guest House

Property: Dalmore Farm Guest House
Address: Dalmore Farm, Bergville, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Bergville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Bergville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Dalmore Farm Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalmore Farm Guest House South Africa/Bergville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing