We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Little Switzerland Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Bergville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“What a place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

The best resort in the berg by far! This place has something for everyone. The service is always great (my family & I have spent 5 Christmas holiday's there) & the food delicious. We have always enjoyed ourselves. They put on the most spectacular New Year's Eve party every year with fireworks & live entertainment & even yummier food!

Room Tip: Executive suites or luxury rooms are the best by far as they have beautiful views of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rowena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    54
    18
    9
    4
See reviews for
66
39
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

I took my family from Australia to this hotel for 2 nights. The service was oustanding and the food and setting both excellent. My nephew left his iPhone in the room and we only discovered this when the hotel phoned us after we had left - I thought this was outstanding.
My only gripe is that the facilities could do with some updating- but that's down to personal preference.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet_C_11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

We stayed at the hotel for 5 days went on the most beautiful walking trails and relax with a full body massage in the late afternoon. Apart from the beautiful scenery the trail was so mind relaxing we came back home refreshed and ready for the rest of the year.

Room Tip: The view of the mountains towards "lone tree hill" is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlene533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grahamstown, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

We had a lovely family getaway at little switzerland lots to do in the area and the chalets were in superb setting. Restaurant staff especially philemon were really welcoming. Well equipped units and the gym and spa were a super addition to relax and unwind. Kids enjoyed the tennis and puttputt and the tame zebras.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

Location can't be beaten but that is all this hotel is selling. Room rate not justified by poor standard of room facilities. Booked deluxe room which has a great view but bad bathroom and worn out furniture. We were refused a heater initially although we had an infant in the room - were told the under-floor heating should be adequate which it certainly wasn't. Will avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dsm33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2011

Location offers great views, good hikes and is easy to get to. The staff were friendly and very helpful. However I am very gald we took the self-catering option becuase the food in the restuarant was beyond awful - it was vile.

We were so shocked by how bad the food was on our first visit to the resturant that we assumed that we had just got the chef's day off - so tried a couple of days later for supper. The food was even worse - we returned to our chalet and had a bowl of cereal instead.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OKelly1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2010

We found ourselves stranded in South Africa due to the Ash Cloud (grounding all flights back to Europe) and came across Little Switzerland on our quest for somewhere to sleep for that night - we ended up staying for the whole week. There's lots to do, some great local walks and the views are stunning. Staff are really friendly and the food terrific. Would highly recommend. We would be very happy to get "stuck" here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Riff98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bergville
6.5 mi away
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bergville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
39.3 mi away
Champagne Castle Hotel
Champagne Castle Hotel
#1 of 5 in Winterton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
37.2 mi away
Drakensberg Sun Resort
Drakensberg Sun Resort
#2 of 5 in Winterton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.2 mi away
The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel
6.7 mi away
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
20.5 mi away
Sandford Park Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Switzerland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Switzerland Hotel

Property: Little Switzerland Hotel
Address: R74 | near Oliviershoek Pass, Bergville 3350, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Bergville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Bergville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Little Switzerland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Switzerland Hotel South Africa/Bergville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing