We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place for Pets and Family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Drakensberg Mountain Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2013

It is very hard to find a high quality establishment that allows pets. Our Giant Schnauzer had the time of his life. The hikes, scenery, pool, dinning and service were all fantastic. We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Faye H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. It is a lovely place where you just can park your car and relax... It has a lot of nice routes for hiking from the hotel. We went with our small dog and she also enjoyed to much. Definitely, a place to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Emilio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The location is stunning here and the walks were fantastic. I think our timing was unlucky as both the owner and the chef were away. The lady left in charge was well meaning, but knew literally nothing about the area or the walks so couldn't help us with any of our questions. The place was deserted by staff most of the time and when our room was cleaned they forgot to put towels in and we couldn't find anyone in the whole building to give us some towels for hours (not great after a 5 hour walk!). We still enjoyed our stay and the food was fine. Loved the indoor gardens and full size snooker table and the rooms were nice - but the corrugated iron roof is incredibly noisy and this coupled with a bed that creaked loudly every time we moved made for 2 less than restful nights sleep.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank joareeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Drakensberg Mountain Retreat is much more than we've expected.
It is situated in the middle of nowhere and that gave us a very relaxed feeling of 'being away from it all'
From every point in this retreat there are stunning views of the Drakensbergen.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

An absolutely Amazing setting, comfortable rooms and relax feel to the lodge, with some nice hideouts to relax, take in the view and read. the food was delicious and the staff very friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Lizl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My friend and I spent 4 nights at the Drakensberg Mountain Retreat and were absolutely Amazed at the Service provided by the very capable and pleasant staff!
On our arrival, we were informed that our room had been Upgraded, from the cheapest room, to the most expensive room, at no extra cost, because the lodge was not fully booked up. The service was outstanding and all the staff members were pleasant and polite. Sean and Tracy, who manage the lodge, made us feel totally at home and relaxed from the moment we stepped through the door! We were made to feel welcome and were treated with friendliness and respect at all times. The lodge was really a 'home away from home', where we could literally kick off our shoes and lie down on one of the couches and read a book or even doze off! The meals provided, were delicious and the tables in the dining room were properly set with clean table cloths, for each meal. Candlelit dinners with pleasant music in the background, made for a pleasant ending to each day. The views were breathtaking and the wild horses strolling across the property during mealtimes, just added to our enjoyment.
Thank You, Drakensberg Mountain Retreat for a Memorable and Most Pleasant stay... We will Definitely be Back!!!
-Pat Maurick and Mercia Kok-

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MaurickP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at DMR.Experienced great hospitality by Sean and crew!
Staff was very helpful and food was amazing!He also guided/advised us about places nearby for sightseeing.

The Sunset and other views are breathtaking from hotel,and weather was lovely.

They catered for supper for kids early evening followed by lovely candle light dinner for parents which we enjoyed the most.

Another lovable thing was fireplaces at every place/room.

Dirt Road a a bit demotivating for smaller cars but views are worthy,and more signs should be included.

Overall a great experience!

Room Tip: Choose the mountain view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashtasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bergville
1.9 mi away
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bergville
267 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
15.6 mi away
Kwaggashoek Game Ranch
Kwaggashoek Game Ranch
#5 of 12 in Bergville
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Little Switzerland Hotel
Little Switzerland Hotel
#3 of 14 in Bergville
156 reviews
3.2 mi away
Berghouse and Cottages
Berghouse and Cottages
#2 of 14 in Bergville
125 reviews
2.7 mi away
Alpine Heath Resort
Alpine Heath Resort
#1 of 1 in Jagersrust
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drakensberg Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drakensberg Mountain Retreat

Address: Scheepersrus Farm | Bergville District Okhahlamba, Bergville 3350, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Bergville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Bergville
Price Range: £65 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Drakensberg Mountain Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drakenberg Mountain Retreat is a stunning destination in the northern Drakensberg with breathtaking views. Accommodation at the Lodge is fully catered for breakfast and Dinner. Lunch can be ordered and can be enjoyed on the patio or a picnic basket for your walk in the mountains. The rooms range in quality and size so chat to the management if you want something specific. There are 2 luxurious rooms for romantic couples wanting a totally private retreat. Our pet friendly rooms have enclosed gardens and our large family rooms are wonderful for relaxing with the kids. There are no fixed entertainment activities for the kids. There are marked hiking trails for the fit and not so fit. Enjoy the streams, rivers and just be captured by the quiet of nature. Bring some board games for kids and some of their books from home. Useful on rainy days. The Lodge is set high on a ridge overlooking the northern Drakensberg, the Maluti mountains and most of the central Drakensberg. A wonderful base from which to experience what this part of the Drakensberg has in store for you. The BARNHOUSE is our Self Catering option on the same premises. It offers accommodation for groups and conferences. Enjoy the "homely" atmosphere and caring hosts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Drakensberg Mountain Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drakensberg Mountain Retreat South Africa/Bergville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing