We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a modern upmarket DB&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Drakensberg Mountain Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Bloemfontein
1 review
“Not a modern upmarket DB&B”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Most definitely not a modern upmarket DB&B, and definitely not worth the price charged. Let your meals look like advertised and don't offer lasagne & 2 salads & bread for candle-light dinner. We left without staying over and went to Little Switzerland for awesome stay and excellent meals at same price

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank GvanHeerden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    71
    16
    6
    4
See reviews for
58
111
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Decided to have a family weekend away. there were 10 of us in total.

Place was spacious and well stocked in terms of utensils/stoves/fridges etc.

Great place for a bachelor party or big group of friends getting together.

Ladies did find that the rooms not being fully serviced daily was a slight issue - only the bins are emptied and dishes washed - bathrooms not washed or bedrooms not tidied - but place was generally a neat condition.

drive to get there was excruciating - about 11km of untarred road in very poor condition - took 1.5 hours to get through. Probably the 1 factor that would deter me from returning. Furthermore there was an additional 19km of really poor road when getting there from Johannesburg that you have to get through very slowly unless you have a bakkie/4X4 and in some cases even those 4x4s had to still slow down for certain parts.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Desigan_Naik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMRetreat, Public Relations Manager at Drakensberg Mountain Retreat, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Please note that this review was of the BARNHOUSE accommodation which is our Self Catering option for Conferences and Groups. The views are amazing at the barn house but the accommodation is simple and affordable but full equipped, clean, spacious and has an incredible view. The LODGE is not a quieter, fully catered option for couples or small families looking for a some peace and quiet and beautiful hikes / walks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Beautiful setting with fantastic views. Helpful hosts and good food. The rooms could do with some updating and refreshing, but generally good value. The only downside is the condition of some of the gravel roads and the distance to the moan road to get anywhere. Ideal for a few days walking and chill out time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank suesteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Food was great, a real retreat away from everything. Very homely and the new managers are very friendly. The place does need a bit of maintenance here and there but overall was a great stay and would go back again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Benjohn1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed two nights and had a wonderful experience. Stand in Manager and staff were all very helpful and made us most welcome. Some great walks around and well marked, or you can just sit outside look at the fantastic views all day and/or read a book. Access is via a 16km dirt road. We had no 4x4 but if you take it easy (say 20 km/hr) with a normal saloon car it is fine and not a big deal.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2014

It was a please to come in your place I love it so much . I will defiantly call again
I never see such a lovely place in my life and even the environment it welcoming . I didn't wanted to leave the place that Saturday morning I wish I cold stay longer





  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nathi & Lungi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herzlia, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Host and Hostess was very friendly and helpful.
Buildings were falling apart and need some upgrade as well as the furniture.
Views from the hotel were excellent.
The food quality was poor and definitely not worth the money.


  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank m1234Herzlia_Isael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bergville
1.9 mi away
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bergville
245 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
19.5 mi away
Sandford Park Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Cathedral Peak Hotel
Cathedral Peak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Giants Castle Game Reserve
622 reviews
2.7 mi away
Alpine Heath Resort
Alpine Heath Resort
#1 of 1 in Jagersrust
478 reviews
3.2 mi away
Berghouse and Cottages
Berghouse and Cottages
#2 of 13 in Bergville
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drakensberg Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drakensberg Mountain Retreat

Property: Drakensberg Mountain Retreat
Address: Scheepersrus Farm | Bergville District Okhahlamba, Bergville 3350, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Bergville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Bergville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Drakensberg Mountain Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drakenberg Mountain Retreat is a stunning destination in the northern Drakensberg with breathtaking views. Accommodation at the Lodge is fully catered for breakfast and Dinner. Lunch can be ordered and can be enjoyed on the patio or a picnic basket for your walk in the mountains. The rooms range in quality and size so chat to the management if you want something specific. There are 2 luxurious rooms for romantic couples wanting a totally private retreat. Our pet friendly rooms have enclosed gardens and our large family rooms are wonderful for relaxing with the kids. There are no fixed entertainment activities for the kids. There are marked hiking trails for the fit and not so fit. Enjoy the streams, rivers and just be captured by the quiet of nature. Bring some board games for kids and some of their books from home. Useful on rainy days. The Lodge is set high on a ridge overlooking the northern Drakensberg, the Maluti mountains and most of the central Drakensberg. A wonderful base from which to experience what this part of the Drakensberg has in store for you. The BARNHOUSE is our Self Catering option on the same premises. It offers accommodation for groups and conferences. Enjoy the "homely" atmosphere and caring hosts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Drakensberg Mountain Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drakensberg Mountain Retreat South Africa/Bergville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing