We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Drakensberg Mountain Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
“Amazing Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We had the most relaxing, amazing time.The rooms were clean,the staff friendly,the food fantastic and the atmosphere and scenery brilliant. Thank you Gerry & Elna for making it possible! Regards Dilia

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Thankful419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    65
    15
    6
    4
See reviews for
53
100
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

You slow right down in this retreat, it has vast views which would be best seen in spring or summer when the local people are not burning fields which obscure the promised views, the food was good, the road to get there is a 12 kilometer gravel road...a bit of a surprise, best undertaken in a 4 x 4 vehicle or very very slowly in a normal vehicle. The wild horses were wonderful to see. No other wildlife. The Managers & staff were friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mrs Juanita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Drakensberg Mountain Retreat is truely in a unique location with lovely panoramic views of the Drakensberg which you won't find easily anywhere else. The food is good home cooked style food and the service is very good with friendly attendants. The star of our stay was the beautiful old Steinway & Sons grand piano which we enjoyed thoroughly playing. The downsides were that you have to make peace with the fact that getting to such a lovely view requires driving on a bit of a rough-ish road, but it is possible to drive there by car taking it slow. The other downside was that we expected a little more luxury rooms and bathrooms for the price we paid. But overall we enjoyed our stay very much!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Eunice_vLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benoni
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Drakensberg retreat truly is a hidden gem, far away from the hustle and bustle of the city. The hiking trails have spectacular views and the staff are very helpful. Gerrie & Elna thank you for all your help!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nicholas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

The Retreat is a wonderful one-off. It is isolated, on the very edge of a plateau with extraordinary views of the whole of the central and northern Drakensburg. The grounds are vast offering extensive walks. The building is big, with extensive facilities such as swimmng pool, billiards room. Catering is very good indeed. The only downside is its isolation down a track after 11km of very rough unmetalled rural roadway. Better as a beautiful retreat than as a touring base to pop in and out of.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Inkpen15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

I was very happy during my stay at Mountain Retreat with my dog. The owners are absolutely friendly and helpful. There are awesome hiking trails around and it is a beautiful atmosphere around with all the wild horses and other animals. A recommended place for everybody who is looking for nature and time for him/herself. The cook is excellent as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Antje B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Breathtaking views that can't be captured in a photograph. Excellent, friendly service. Delicious food, prepared the South African way. Lovely hiking trails for all levels of experience. Absolute value for money! Would go back in a heartbeat:)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 101TravelGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bergville
1.9 mi away
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bergville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
19.5 mi away
Sandford Park Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Cathedral Peak Hotel
Cathedral Peak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Giants Castle Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
2.7 mi away
Alpine Heath Resort
Alpine Heath Resort
#1 of 1 in Jagersrust
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
19.5 mi away
Kwaggashoek Game Ranch
Kwaggashoek Game Ranch
#5 of 11 in Bergville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drakensberg Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drakensberg Mountain Retreat

Property: Drakensberg Mountain Retreat
Address: Scheepersrus Farm | Bergville District Okhahlamba, Bergville 3350, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Bergville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Bergville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Drakensberg Mountain Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drakenberg Mountain Retreat is a stunning destination in the northern Drakensberg with breathtaking views. Accommodation at the Lodge is fully catered for breakfast and Dinner. Lunch can be ordered and can be enjoyed on the patio or a picnic basket for your walk in the mountains. The rooms range in quality and size so chat to the management if you want something specific. There are 2 luxurious rooms for romantic couples wanting a totally private retreat. Our pet friendly rooms have enclosed gardens and our large family rooms are wonderful for relaxing with the kids. There are no fixed entertainment activities for the kids. There are marked hiking trails for the fit and not so fit. Enjoy the streams, rivers and just be captured by the quiet of nature. Bring some board games for kids and some of their books from home. Useful on rainy days. The Lodge is set high on a ridge overlooking the northern Drakensberg, the Maluti mountains and most of the central Drakensberg. A wonderful base from which to experience what this part of the Drakensberg has in store for you. The BARNHOUSE is our Self Catering option on the same premises. It offers accommodation for groups and conferences. Enjoy the "homely" atmosphere and caring hosts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Drakensberg Mountain Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drakensberg Mountain Retreat South Africa/Bergville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing