We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stopover”
Review of Bingelela Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bingelela Lodge
Ranked #4 of 14 Bergville B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Stayed for 2 nights and had a really enjoyable stay. The food was excellent, the staff very friendly and helpful and a very well-stocked bar. The accommodation was basic but one does not spend all day in the room. I found the stairs a bit difficult to start with but soon got the hang of them. We found Joss and Paula and Jessica very pleasant and helpful if we needed to ask anything. We also enjoyed having the lovely dogs around and were very tempted to take Vino home with us but resisted the temptation!! We would definitely visit again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gill_nigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bingelela Lodge b, Manager at Bingelela Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you!

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and our unique rustic rondavels.

It's a pity you didn't use the bath! We'll have to organize you a bottle of wine next time, light the fire and allow you to relax and indulge a little!

We look forward to your next visit :)

Thank you once again form Joss, Paula and the team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

Very pleasant. Accommodation, different. A rondarvel with a difference! The sitting room has a Jacuzzi in it!!! Didn't have time to try it out!!! The bedroom is up some scary stairs. Not recommended for the aged. It certainly is the local pub. Family orientated wonderful. Food was very good. We were there for one night and the owners were amazing.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank skvarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bingelela Lodge b, Manager at Bingelela Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Hi Rose,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Bingelela and hope that we'll see you again soon!

Warm regards,

Bingelela Management and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely stay at Bingelela. The rooms are exquisite, with a warm and comforting feeling. I highly recommend it above any other B&B in the berg!!. With some of the best food I have tasted . The Steaks are excellent , especially the Bingelela Steak and the Gorgonzola Steak . A must visit in the Berg.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Josua5015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and although we liked the cottage, there was less hospitality by the owners and the staff. The place was very quiet at the time we stayed and there and the staff showed little attention for their guests, which was a pity.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joost1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bingelela Lodge b, receptionist at Bingelela Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Good day,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about Bingelela.
We do take any suggestions very seriously because we know there is always room for improvement.
We greatly appreciate you kind word towards our restaurant and will pass it on to the relevant kitchen staff, as for the rest of the staff that was a disappointment while you were visiting, Improvements will be made
Kind regards
Carmen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We wanted a relaxing weekend away as a family, and that's what we got! We opted for the self catering accommodation and they put us in a 4 sleeper and gave us the B&B rate so we enjoyed a tasty breakfast each morning. Our 2 year old just loved the 4 "child friendly" dogs that roam around the facilities and just wanted to ride one of the many kids push bikes they provide and play on the jungle gym every morning.
If its hospitalty that you are looking for and you just want to unwind from the city life, I strongly suggest Bingelela.
Less than an hour to Royal Natal National Park. Take the Woodstock Mountain Drive for a more scenic trip around Woodstock dam.
Just over half an hour to Spioenkop Nature Reserve.
Plenty of other places of interest in and around the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bingelela Lodge b, Receptionist at Bingelela Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Thank you Nell family, it was such a privilege hosting for you, we enjoyed your visit and getting to know the family.We are very glad to hear that even our younger guest's have a great time at Bingelela and hope to see you soon again.
We will make sure to pass on your gratitude to all staff at Bingelela
Happy future travelling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Thank you Jessica, Carmen & Staff for an excellent venue for a birthday celebration. Accommodation clean & comfy, staff friendly, bar well stocked, and food ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS. Really great dining experience! All of our requirements were met and we had an absolutely amazing stay with you. Would recommend you to everybody! Thank You!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bingelela Lodge b, Receptionist at Bingelela Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Thank you for your kind words and appreciation for all staff that has played a roll in making your stay and birthday celebration memorable . It was a great pleasure hosting your family and friends and do hope to have you all back here at Bingelela in the near future. Safe traveling to all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

A group of us stayed at Bingelela for a long weekend. It is a great place to spend an afternoon – great food, well stocked bar and very friendly staff. However the accommodation is very basic and not comfortable for a long stay. Apart the restaurant on site, there is not much to do on the premises apart from talking a stroll around the cottages – no great views, or even picnic spots or communal braai areas or anything. I definitely recommend the restaurant, but give the accommodation a miss if you plan on a romantic weekend away.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bingelela Lodge b, Receptionist at Bingelela Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Thank you very much for your review,we do take your opinion and advise of our
accommodation very serious and we are always looking at ways to improve.
Thank you for the opportunity to host such a fine family and do hope to have a visit again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bergville
21.9 mi away
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bergville
268 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sandford Park Country Hotel
18.4 mi away
Alpine Heath Resort
Alpine Heath Resort
#1 of 1 in Jagersrust
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Drakensberg Mountain Retreat
14.7 mi away
Kwaggashoek Game Ranch
Kwaggashoek Game Ranch
#5 of 12 in Bergville
55 reviews
20.4 mi away
Dragon Peaks Mountain Resort
Dragon Peaks Mountain Resort
#1 of 6 in Cathkin Park
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bingelela Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bingelela Lodge

Address: on the R74, Bergville 3350, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Bergville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Bergville
Price Range: £58 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restaurant - On Premises.No need to drive.We Offer tantalizing recipes,Whether it's something traditional or something new and exciting that you're after, the varied and creative menu offers something suitable to every palette.Every choice is a favorite and all dishes are prepared from the freshest,best quality produce from local suppliers.In addition to the regular menu's that boast a scrumptious selection of starters,mains and desserts including delights for three continents around the Med with adventurous combinations of ingredients and seasonings,there's the daily specialty menu that caters to every mood,wallet and appetite.Pizzeria our wood fired oven delivers only the finest gourmet pizzas.Our Menu ensures you'll find a new divine pizza to try every time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bingelela Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bingelela Lodge South Africa/Bergville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing