We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Self Catering chalets and Restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mont Aux Sources Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Bergville
Swellendam, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Self Catering chalets and Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Just spent a week at Mont Aux sources self catering chalets,. 10 people in the party. We would like to thank the Management and staff for going the extra mile to make out stay enjoyable. The dinners were excellent and although the chalets are awaiting revamp were very comfortable and very clean. We will definitely be revisiting in the near future. Southern Righters Walking Club. Western Cape.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Southernrighters12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hote1Management, Manager at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review following your stay at Mont Aux Sources. We are glad that you and your party of ten enjoyed the week-long stay. We also assure you that we are currently in the process of refurbishing certain facilities and we will look into the issue you have raised. Thank you once more and we look forward to you and your entourage visiting again soon.

Regards
Staff and Management
Mont Aux Sources
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    62
    53
    28
    25
See reviews for
70
78
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Spent 3 nights at the hotel over the Easter weekend. I have been going to both the hotel and self catering chalets over the last 15 years and the new manager , Greg, went out of his way to make my family very comfortable. He was always on hand to ensure that our needs were catered for. Greg thank you for hands on effort to make our stay enjoyable. You were the first manager at the hotel whom we visibally saw around the hotel. Keep up the good work and we will be back.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank 902michelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hote1Management, Manager at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Mr Paul

Thank you kindly for such a wonderful review. We value each and every guest and when they are return visitors, well, that places them on a league of their own! We value your compliments and kind words which will most definitely forwarded to Greg and his team. We cannot wait for your next visit.

Warmest Regards
Staff and Management
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We spent a long weekend at the hotel. Beautiful setting and a nicely decorated room. However, we were very disappointed with the following:
- the dog chewed my boyfriends shoes to which the manager took no responsibility based on the fact that they do not own the dog
- the shower had a terrible design flaw and leaked everywhere
- the sheets were stained

In addition, they gave us an information pack which included information on a walk from the hotel. We were told to go through a gate and when we got there it was locked. We managed to climb over but there was no trail. The hotel is also listed as a partner with the Drakensberg Mountain bike trails (with All Out Adventures), however, no one at the hotel knows anything about the trails and you cannot actually buy a pass there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BB_SA86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hote1Management, Manager at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Please accept our apologies for any disappointments you may have encountered on your recent stay in the Drakensberg. All out adventures is an outside supplier that advertises in our hotel, they take bookings directly and not through the hotel front desk, however we will ensure the information is more readily available to guests in the future.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention, we will investigate the leak and other issues and make sure these are resolved immediately.

Warm Regards

Staff and Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bergville hotels

Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We were at the Mont Aux Sources Hotel for the Easter weekend. We had such a great time.
I would like to thank Greg, the manager for making time in speaking not only to us but also with the other guest. Also for the Karaoke, we had a great time. The room are lovely and modern. The dinner was very nice and we had more than enough to eat. I would however suggest more variety in the breakfast. We will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Deluxe Rooms are new and modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marleen2104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hote1Management, Manager at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Marleen

Thank you kindly for such a wonderful review following your stay at Mont Aux Sources. We are glad that you had such a great time. Thank you further for your kind words and compliments which will be forwarded to Greg and his team. We will definitely look into your suggestion about the breakfast. We do hope we will see you again.

Warmest Regards
Staff and Management
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

The location of this hotel is great, rolling grassy hills and cascading streams in the shade of the mountains that constitute the Amphitheatre of the Drakensberg. Unfortunately that's where it begins and ends. It doesn't take long to discover that this hotel has no charm, no romance and no architectural value at all, there are too many areas that need fixing up. The service that is offered is impersonal. There are too many steps (without alternative ramps), making it unsuitable for pushchairs or wheelchairs, or for the elderly. The food is ordinary, and not particularly healthy - one has to help oneself to a pretty uninspiring self-service bar. The garden, filled with alien trees and plants, has a plethora of unswept brick and concrete pathways. The tennis court and baseball court are almost derelict, but the swimming pool is in good condition. We were also disappointed to find that there is only the River Walk that is available directly from the hotel grounds - other nearby walks start at the National Park, where you have to pay R30 to park.....

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vita713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hote1Management, Manager at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Guest

We thank you for your honest review following your stay at the Mont Aux Sources Hotel... We do Apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay.


Warm Regards
Staff and Management
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dollar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

We hadn't given this hotel much thought as it was just an overnight stay between Clarens and Umhlanga. We had stayed here before and remember old bathrooms. Well, they are gone and have been replaced by wonderful walk in shower rooms. The bedroom is really attractive with big beds plus a sitting area with flat screen tv. All very pleasant. Friendly staff and well kept gardens, not to mention the stunning view.
The only disappointment is the dining room which has no outlook at all to the mountains and has no character. I had fish and chips and my husband had lamb curry. Both OK. The service was patchy but pleasant enough.The bar area was nicer and the staff good.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Homebody97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hote1Management, Manager at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of our Mont Aux Sources Hotel. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay and we thank you for your compliments. As you bared witness, we are constantly upgrading and improving our facilities for our guests and we are excited that you noticed the upgrades.
We hope to see you again soon.

Warmest Regards
Staff and Management
Mont Aux Sources
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballito, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Had the misfortune of staying here for a function a while back. The chalet was falling apart and dirty. Stains on the floors, front door not locking properly etc. We asked for a babysitter for the night(due to the function), and when she arrived she could barely speak English. We left for the function in good faith only to find she never changed our baby's dirty nappy when we arrived back at the chalet.
It's such a pity because it really is such a lovely setting. Would love to go back the that area of the Berg but I will have serious reservations about making use of Mont Aux Sources Hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schastri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hote1Management, Manager at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Sir

We are sorry to hear that you had an issue with some of the older chalets that are not part of the hotel but rather form part of the Mont Aux Sources share block, unfortunately some of these chalets need upgrading and we are currently in negotiations with the share block to upgrade these chalets.

We do apologize for the babysitter not having changed your baby’s nappy, this was an oversight and we are sure to train our babysitters. We are so glad that you let us know of these issues as it enables us to move forward and rectify any issues that our valued customers have. Next time we would love to host you in one of our hotel rooms...

Warmest Regards
The Mont Aux Sources Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bergville
3.1 mi away
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
20.8 mi away
Sandford Park Country Hotel
23.3 mi away
Cathedral Peak Hotel
Cathedral Peak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Giants Castle Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Drakensberg Mountain Retreat
4.3 mi away
Alpine Heath Resort
Alpine Heath Resort
#1 of 1 in Jagersrust
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
21.7 mi away
Little Switzerland Hotel
Little Switzerland Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bergville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mont Aux Sources Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mont Aux Sources Hotel

Property: Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Address: D119, The Cavern Road | Northern Drakensberg, Bergville 3350, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Bergville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Bergville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mont Aux Sources Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foothills of the majestic Drakensberg Mountains, this landmark property is easily accessible from Johannesburg and Durban. The Mont-Aux-Sources Hotel & Resort borders the renowned Royal Natal National Park and offers magnificent views of the world-famous Amphitheatre. The Drakensberg is home to many world heritage sites and is the second most photographed destination in Southern Africa.Experience the stunning natural beauty, while enjoying the numerous activities, onsite and nearby. Afterwards, enjoy a hearty meal in the restaurant and relax in the comfortable lounge with its inviting log fireplace. The beautifully landscaped grounds add to the tranquil ambience of this popular country retreat. As one of the region’s finest country hotels, it welcomes guests from all over the world, and is known for its warmth and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Mont Aux Sources Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mont Aux Sources Hotel South Africa/Bergville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing